Welcome to See How We Sew!

Welcome to our new blog, See How We Sew.

We are a “collective” of four experienced craftswomen—Christie Batterman, Laura Nownes, Jennifer Rounds, and Darra Williamson—who share a passion for quilting and other fiber arts.

Among us, we’ve made hundreds of quilts; won awards for our work on the  local, regional and national level; written  and edited numerous best-selling quilting  books, as well as articles about quilting  and quilters, sewing, and home décor for  a wide range of publications; taught quilting all over the US, abroad, and on cruise ships; judged quilt shows; played key roles at a busy quilt shop; designed patterns and continue to own our own pattern companies…even run the editorial department for a major quilt-book publisher. But most of all, we love to sew, and we’re looking forward to exploring new ideas with you!

We hope you’ll join us regularly for great lessons, techniques, and tips; nifty projects and patterns; reviews of the latest books and products; virtual tours of wonderful quilt shops; news about upcoming classes, shows, and museum exhibits that might be in your area; great giveaways; interviews with noted quilting and sewing “personalities,” and oh-so-much more. We’ll even surprise you with a special guest blogger from time to time.

As we start, our goal is to bring you something new, exciting and useful twice a week: on Tuesday and Friday. Once we get rolling, our posts will become more frequent. Since blogs are all about sharing—we welcome your suggestions and comments. Don’t be shy about telling us what you think and what you’d like to see.

So, if you are as passionate about fiber arts as we are, want to keep up with the best and the latest, and think time at your sewing machine is time “best spent,”  join us here at See How We Sew. It’s what we do!

23 thoughts on “Welcome to See How We Sew!

  1. Hi Laura, I enjoyed the class you taught at Independence Hall Quilters last week. I`m still working on the Simple Tricks project and love it. Phyllis Holmes

    Like

    1. Hi Phyllis – Yes, I too had a wonderful time…. what a wonderful group of creative women. Be sure to send photos of the finished quilt. I know it will be lovely.

      Like

  2. Just stumbled upon your April 1 photo of “still life with pansies”…beautiful!! Do you offer a pattern/instructions for the flowers in any of your posts?

    Thanks,
    Deborah

    Like

    1. Hello Deborah,

      Thanks for your note. No, I don’t have instructions posted on the blog. I teach the flower-building steps in workshops for guilds and quilt shops. I can refer you to my book A Dozen Roses where I have a dimensional applique project with single-petaled roses that traces the steps I use to build flowers. Typically, I use the templates from that project to make all my flowers–the pansy (with appropriate color choices) takes 3 petals, 2 leaves and 1 flower center. I sewed tiny pleats into the petal shapes, as I recall, then I used a photo of a pansy as a guide to recreate the flower. That’s pretty much it. I’ll be teaching Flower-Powered Quilts next year at the Empty Spools Seminar. Come!

      Jennifer

      Like

  3. You all have angel’s hands. You are an inspiration for all of us who like to sew. I like to do cross stitch but i have always admire quilting. Godd luck!!!!
    María

    Like

    1. Thank you Maria Jesus, you are very kind. I once was a cross stitcher, but gave it up for the much-easier-to-see craft of quilt making!

      Like

  4. Laura- What pattern do you use for your husband’s ties? Is the cotton fabric not a problem?
    My son is on a mission in Mexico and I want to make him some ties out of the fabric that he picked for quilts when he was younger. He would get a real kick out of those.
    I’ve always been intimidated by the thought of making ties ; )

    Annie

    Like

  5. What a great new blog! This will be so much fun to follow, I’ve already bookmarked it. I can’t wait to see what you four most-talented quilters will share with us!

    warm regards,
    Annie

    Like

  6. Thank you all for your welcoming comments. I’ll be back on Tuesday with the first post. I hope you will visit often as we have lots of exciting things to share.
    -Laura

    Like

  7. I have taken classes from Laura and Christie and feel like I have been given lots to go forward with in my quilting attempts. Looking forward to the blog!!!

    Like

  8. Hi all,

    Congrats on a great launch of what I know will be a great blog! Looking forward to reading what you’ve got to say.

    Like

  9. Your names are familiar to me. Over the years I have been interested in all parts of quilting. I have a 440 QE Bernina which I love. I have not had time lately to practice free-motion, but I hope to take advantage of the BS foot on the Bernina. I hope you ladies will not concentrate on long-arm quilting. I think it is wonderful and very useful if you are making a living with it. I just want to learn to be a better quilter (in my old age) and look forward to watching and learning. I consider myself to be an intermediate quilter. I was very pleased to watch the Big Tumble segment on The Quilt Show. The dreaded “Y” seam! This pattern fascinates me. Thank you! C. Davis

    Like

  10. Hello, Y’all! Welcome to blogland! We are soooooo happy you have moved here, too! Your photos are gorgeous! Can’t wait to see more!! come visit me soon! quilty hugs, Polly

    Like

Leave a Reply

