Finding Inspiration

Sometimes I feel like a woman possessed. Really, how did all this fabric make its way into my house?

The new Dr. Seuss fabric collection arrived in the stores, and immediately I thought “this would make a perfect tie for my husband.” He has always worn crazy ties and must have 50 or more. He works with kids…need I say more?

A student in class has a pattern for an adorable oversized totebag and–without thinking twice–I’ve purchased some of the new, vinyl coated cotton fabrics.

I don’t need one more totebag, but isn’t this one cute? Besides it will keep all my supplies dry during the cold, rainy months.

A special event always gets my creative juices flowing. A baby shower for my daughter’s best friend inspired me to make a few of those very popular nursing aprons (aka “hooter hiders”). You can find free patterns and ideas for these online.

My daughter has fallen in love with this super-simple baby quilt, made from a single charm pack.  If I can steal the finished quilt away from her, I plan to teach it in a class called Charm School for Beginners. I can share instructions later if you’d like.

Baby quilt made from one charm pack.

Where do you find your inspiration? Is it a new line of fabric, a pattern, or an upcoming event? Let’s start this blogging journey of ours off right. I have an extra charm pack of the fabrics used in the quilt shown at right (forty-one 5″ squares of the “Bounty” fabric collection by Moda). Let me know if you’re inspired by the fabric and how you might use it. Post a comment here and, if you’re a Facebooker, “Like” us on Facebook – “See How We Sew” by the end of Friday, April 8th, and I’ll randomly select a winner and send the pack to you asap.

12 thoughts on “Finding Inspiration

  1. Hi Laura, great blog! I am inspired by Tuesday morning quilt group. Everyone is so creative and helpful. So much so that I am gonna pack up my machine and join you ladies. And I hope you can help me with zipper applications on some pillow covers. See you Tuesday! Warm regards, Kerry

    Like

  2. I don’t even know what it means to “blog”, but may not be too old to learn.
    I like the idea of being in touch with you amazing quilters. (Two of you
    are my favorite of all teachers.) I really like the cheery fabric in the charm
    pack quilt, and will sign up for your class, beginner or not.

    Like

  3. Thank you dear readers! I fear I might become a blogging nerd as I check the website several times a day for new comments!

    I’ll announce the winner in my next post.

    Happy sewing

    -Laura

    Like

  4. I’m one of those people whose head is constantly swiveling as I get inspiration everywhere I look, when I hike in the morning, from beautiful new fabrics, from weeds in my garden, from ads in magazine, from words in songs and even one time I saw an entire quilt in my dream. I even made the quilt. It drives me crazy sometimes, but I am never bored.

    Like

  5. What a lovely blog! I’ve already signed up for notifications via email.

    I get inspired mainly by fabric. I buy it and some of it’s companion fabric, then wonder what to do with it. lol

    Like

  6. What a great post, Laura! I love your photo of the tote hanging on the tree. How do I find my inspiration? From wonderful quilters like you! :-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

