Tree Trunks to Bouganvilla – The Quilts are Finished and the Giveaway is a “Challenge”

If you’ve been a faithful reader (we thank you all), you’ll remember my September 27th post, which focused on color inspiration derived from two very different photos from Mother Nature, an intriguing tree trunk and gorgeous bouganvilla flowers.  Using these sources as our color palettes, my friend Sally and I challenged each other to make a quilt using the Urban Chic pattern from Artichoke Collection.  It was great fun and we’re both rather pleased with our quilts (both were machine quilted by our very talented friend Elaine Beattie).

Here’s the tree trunk photo:

Christie's tree trunk

Here’s the quilt:

Christie's quilt inspired from the tree trunk.

Here’s the bouganvilla photo:

Sally's bouganvilla plants

Here’s the quilt:

Sally's quilt inspired from the bouganvillas.

Check out the backing fabric on Sally’s quilt – it’s from the Wrenly Collection by Valori Wells for Free Spirit. How cute is that?

Cute backing from Free Spirit - Wrenly.

So, are you ready to take the challenge? Let me know what fabrics you would use as inspiration for this pattern – Mother Nature, theme fabrics, a specific color palette, a holiday (I’ve seen it done beautifully in Christmas fabrics). The ten winners selected will each receive a downloadable version of the Urban Chic pattern. The “challenge” entries must be submitted no later than Saturday, November 12th.  The winners will be announced in our group post Tuesday, Nov. 22nd.

And finally, the winner of the fall batik fabric bundle giveaway from my October 25th post is Gayle Grier. Congratulations to Gayle and thank you to everyone who entered.

Happy November!

This entry was posted in Fabric, Inspiration, Patterns, Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tree Trunks to Bouganvilla – The Quilts are Finished and the Giveaway is a “Challenge”

  1. Janice says:

    I loved the colors in the tree inspiration quilt. There are so many beautiful leaves right now, I would try to use some of those beautiful reds , oranges and yellows.

  2. Gayle Grier says:

    Christie, thanks again for the Fall Batiks giveaway! I’m so excited and look forward to receiving. Gayle

  3. Sandy says:

    I think I’d use a variety of bright tropical fabrics inside the boxes of this quilt.

  4. Allison Johns says:

    I had the pleasure of spending some time with Christie and Sally while they chose some of the fabrics for these quilts. It was interesting to watch how each interpreted their photo and then selected fabrics to re-create what they saw in their quilts. I think both quilts are stunning and absolutely reflect the nature scenes that inspired them. Well done!

  5. Sally says:

    I had my doubts about your picture & fabrics when we first started this challenge Christie, but once again your talent exploded in this beautiful quilt. You’re ranking in the talented quilters just went up the ladder! Your patterns are my favorite, especially this one. Thanks for the opportunity to work with you on this fun challenge!
    Sally
    A note to those reading- if you haven’t checked out Christie’s Artichoke Collection patterns do so! Fun & easy for all level of quilters! Or if you’re going to be in Reno in the near future, Going Batty quilt shop has her trunk show on display. Can you tell I’m her biggest fan!!!

  6. Lisa Cristwell says:

    I would love to quilt it with fabrics that remind me of the ocean. I really love all shades of blues, greens and even corals. The boxes could all be windows into the ocean!

  7. Brenda Kroez says:

    I have several colour palettes from Design Seeds, saved in Pinterest, that I want to use for a quilt. It looks like a great, versatile pattern for that kind of thing. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

