Sunny-Side Up—Vacation Therapy for a Color Addict

I’m a creature of sunlight, so that’s probably why my head’s so easily turned by bright colors. It doesn’t matter if it’s fabric, flowers, or food, it’s the colors that lure me. So it’s no wonder that my souvenirs of a recent visit to my Florida hometown are all about oceanic aquas, swampy greens, and citrusy oranges, pinks, yellows.

Liquid sunshine from Florida.

I’m channeling a serious case of coloritis—alas, not a graceful word for such a joyous affliction. What’s my cure? A dose of color therapy, which I think will result in my making not one, but two quilts with Christie’s block of the month series. At least that’s what I’m anticipating . . . but there’s that year of finishing UFOs still hanging over me. I’ve already started one BOM with a Kate Spain jellyroll so what’s another one?  It’s only March after all.  I can throw another on the pile, can’t I?

Unlike most of my projects, where I jump in and hope for the best, I thought I’d do things systematically and build a color story based on my Florida holiday. Maybe I’ll even pull out my trusty Joen Wolfrom 3-In-1 color tool, which I now know how to use thanks to Laura’s excellent tutorial. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

1.  A  Room with a View, so to speak.

Vacations are tough aren't they? The tropical Atlantic Ocean shows its beautiful aqua waters.

2.  A citrus medley with white and pink grapefruit, blood and navel oranges, and as a special treat, the ephemeral Honeybell–a tangelo variety that appears/disappears from Florida’s produce markets in mere weeks from January to February. Incomparable juicy D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S-N-E-S-S!

Check the middle row for the Honeybell segments with their true orange color and glistening juices.

3.  A drool-worthy slice of “Sunshine” cake from Teapots & Treasures in North Palm Beach, Florida. Despite pitiful begging, the guardian of the recipe would not divulge its secrets. Here’s what I do know:  Fresh coconut-dressed seven-minute-boiled frosting, orange extract for cake flavoring, and finely grated orange peel. (All similar recipe contributions from family vaults gratefully accepted via seehowwesew@gmail.com.)

A deliciously moist and deeply flavored citrus cake--not too sweet either!

4.  A new fave artist found at Artigras in Abacoa, Florida, Rick Lewis. Yes, the Sunshine State has glorious beaches, but it’s hinterland is a steamy swamp whose haunting beauty and wildlife Rick captures beautifully.

Blue Cypress Lake by Rick Lewis

That’s what I’ve got for color reference, now what stash plunder will capture those colors?

Ooooh! I like this . . . I guess I’m committed now to making two versions of Christie’s Block of the Month!

This entry was posted in Blocks, Dates & Places, Projects, Tools and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunny-Side Up—Vacation Therapy for a Color Addict

  1. Pingback: Chairs, Prayers, and Blossoming Creativity: Our Favorite Completed Projects of 2012 |

  2. The colors are fantastic and that cake must taste as good as it looks. The blocks are beautiful.

    • Jennifer says:

      Thanks for stopping by Sharie! I could do with a piece of Sunshine Cake and a glass of ice tea right about now–how about you?

      Jennifer

  3. Carol Barringer says:

    Yum! Those fabrics look good enough to eat! and your food photography good enough to quilt!
    There’s a newspaper column called “Culinary SOS” that seems able to squeeze recipe info from restaurant chefs — it’s through the LA Times: http://www.latimes/food/sos — it might be worth a try.

    • Jennifer says:

      Thanks Carol, I appreciate your compliments. My sister found a recipe for Sunshine Cake that I’m going to try first before I ask for reinforcements. Experimenting should be fun.

      Jennifer

  4. Sandy says:

    I love your sunshiny Florida colors! Growing up in St. Pete and spending lots of time at the beach left me with sand in my shoes and a love of tropical colors. They ended up on the walls of my house and, of course, in my quilts! At this time of year I can’t help but gorge myself with Florida citrus and also the wonderful strawberries from Plant City and Riverview! Oh, gosh, I’m getting homesick!

    • Jennifer says:

      Hello Sandy, a fellow Floridian! Yes, yes, yes Florida colors are wonderful in all applications. I’ve got lots of sunshine in California, but it’s different from the saturated brightness of Florida. Hope you get back for a visit soon. Thanks for stopping by . . . Jennifer

  5. sewbutterfly says:

    beautiful colors from my part of the world!

Leave a Reply

