March Block of the Month – Plus a Wee Bit of Green

A wee bit of green to bring you luck!

With St. Patrick’s day coming up (and green has always been my favorite color), I thought I’d start with a wee bit of green inspiration. When I was a child, I can remember that if you didn’t wear green on St. Patrick’s Day you would get pinched. How barbaric! Am I the only one who remembers this?

On to our March block of the month! Are you keeping up? Because I’ve been so enthused with the project I started a third quilt. The “new kid on the block” is made from my favorite gray and citron palette (initially inspired by a tree trunk).  I’m still collecting those fabrics, and it seems to me that the designers are doing a fine job of supporting my addiction. Click here to download the instruction sheet for the March block. Here’s the “new” sample of Block 3:

And here’s a second sample of the March block, made mostly of fabrics from Kathy Davis’ Happiness line:

Keep sewing those blocks. And happy St. Patrick’s Day to all of our Irish friends!

12 thoughts on “March Block of the Month – Plus a Wee Bit of Green

  1. Block of the month for February has “pattern library” in the text. You can click on those words to go to “setting directions”.

    Like

    1. Hi Linda,

      The quilt setting diagram is available to see in the pattern library. All the blocks are 8″ x 10″ rectangles made from a combination of the different monthly block patterns. The quilt has simple sashing between the blocks and a border.

      I hope this helps.

      Christie

      Like

      1. Maybe I was up quilting too late last night . . . I can’t find anything but the individual blocks. What am I doing wrong? I found the fabric requirements and the three block patterns, but not the setting diagram.

        Like

      2. Hi Linda,
        I apologize for the confusion – you weren’t doing anything wrong! If you go to my February 14th post and click on the setting diagram link it will take you to the setting diagram. We’ll get the pattern library updated so you won’t have to go through the back door!
        Christie

        Like

  2. I love the colors in the new block. We have very similar tastes. It is almost like we could be related.
    I need to get going on mine and catch up!

    Like

  3. Just love the fabrics you’ve selected. I’ve got to start soon….. I want to catch up with everyone!…Can’t wait to see everyone’s choices!… Maybe a get together at the end for those living in the Bay Area!

    Like

  4. I’m just loving the block of the month…The Artichoke Collection patterns have been my favorites
    these last few years. Christie you are so special to set up this activity for us. Thank you and I can’t wait to see the complete quilt. I have started three very different fabric selections and am anxious to have three quilt tops at one time.
    Margaret F.

    Like

  5. I’m working on two quilts – one in fall colors and the other with Kaffe fabrics in pinks, aqua, purple, and orange. I’m going to try very had to have them done for this year’s Christmas presents. I may start another in purples. By doing one block a month, it’s not too overwhelming, and I still have time to work on other projects. Great idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

