Comfort Your Loved Ones with Quilts . . . It’s What We Do

Quilts have always meant so much more to me than simply fabric and batting. There is often an abundance of heartfelt emotions that go into the making of these beautiful pieces of art. I have made many healing quilts over the years and have always believed that the quilt becomes a messenger silently comforting the recipient while delivering the feelings we hold in our hearts.

Mother’s Day was perfect for presenting my niece, a first time mommy-to-be who recently lost her own mom, my sister-in-law Lari, with a big “quilty” hug.

Jennifer, Christie, Darra, and I each made a band of color, carefully selecting fabrics and designs with my niece in mind. Jennifer originally designed this pattern and, along with other quilting friends, presented it to another member of their quilting circle. The pattern was featured in the February 2012 issue of The Quilt Life 

Together we give our support.

With my input, my talented quilter, Marla Monson, added her magic touch. Beautiful and intricate lines capture a special moment in time . . . a hummingbird quietly perched atop a barren tree as we laid my sister-in-law to rest.

My niece said the quilt made her so happy she just wanted to surround herself in its beauty . . . and so she did.

Happy Birthday, Lari. I love you and miss you.

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Patterns, Quilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Comfort Your Loved Ones with Quilts . . . It’s What We Do

  1. Pingback: Anatomy of a Wedding Quilt Part II |

  2. Sally says:

    Ditto to what Elaine expressed. Thanks for sharing the story & pictures. The picture of the quilt wrapped around her said it all.

  3. Pauline L Lally says:

    I’m so glad I read this today. I’m at the time of my life where I’m struggling to find something meaningful to leave behind. When I tell people that I don’t want to quilt for business only for love, they look at me kind of strange. Between 6 brothers and sisters, numerous nieces and nephews, grandchildren and one daughter, numerous aunts, uncles and co-workers, I have plenty of quilts to make before I even think of doing this for money. This is my very expensive hobby.

  4. Laura, what a wonderful, thoughtful gesture for Michelle. I wish she lived closer so we could quilt together. I miss my sister so much. Thank you for taking care of Michelle.

  5. Sue says:

    I enjoy giving quilts to special friends and family. It’s my way of telling them I love and care about them and want them to have a piece of me. A blanket is a way to keep warm but a quilt is a way to feel loved! After all these quilts, I still get excited about picking out fabric and patterns that I think the recipient will appreciate and enjoy. Matching colors and patterns to a person’s personality is half the fun of making the quilt.

  6. Pingback: Tugging at the Heart Strings | Quilt Views & News

  7. elaine says:

    what a great quilt design for a group project. you didn’t mention how important the finishing of the quilt is for the history of the quilt: the label on the back. something we all get rushed and forget to do. thank you for reminding us that the quilt is more than fabric; it is a part of the creator with love to the receiver.

Leave a Reply

