Two-for-One Basket Blocks…Easy, Easy, Easy (+ a Book Giveaway)

Last time I posted, I previewed one of the quilts in Cuddle Me Quick: 11 Baby Quilt Designs, my brand-new book, co-authored once again with my friend, Christine Porter. Chris and I are very excited about our “new baby” and look forward to meeting in Houston next week to promote the book at Fall Market. (More on that later.)

Hot off the press!

In this post, rather than just a photo, I’d like to share the quick-piecing technique that I  used to make the little baskets in A-Tisket, A-Tasket, another quilt from Cuddle Me Quick. This fun-and-easy method lets you make two sweet little Basket blocks at once, saving you time both cutting and sewing. (FYI: Want to make the entire quilt? Complete yardage amounts, cutting, assembly, and quilting suggestions appear in the book, along with the technique described below)

A-Tisket, A Tasket, 38 5/8″ x 44 1/4″, designed and made by Darra Williamson, machine appliqued and quilted by Chris Porter.

You’ll love this technique. It’s soooooo easy! The following instructions yield two 4″ x 4″ finished blocks, the perfect size for using those charm squares you’ve been saving.

1. Cut one square each, 5″ x 5″, from three different fabrics. Determine which square will be the basket bottom, the handle, and the background.

Step 1: Cut three 5″ squares.

2. Following the manufacturer’s instructions for the fusible, prepare the handle square for fusing. Use the handle pattern in the Pattern Library to make a handle template. (Be sure your printer is set to print the pattern at 100%; no scaling.) Cut the handle from the prepared handle square.

Step 2. Prepare the handle for fusing.

3. Fold the background square from corner to corner in both directions; unfold and fingerpress. Using the foldlines as a guide, center the handle on the background square. Fuse the handle and finish the edges as desired. (I used a straight stitch here for demo purposes; Chris used a machine blanket stitch in contrasting thread for the blocks in the quilt.)

Step 3. Fuse the handle; secure with stitching.

4. Draw a diagonal line, corner to corner, on the wrong side of the appliqued background square. Draw a line 1/4″ from the original line on both sides. Place the marked square right sides together with the basket-bottom square. Sew on the two outermost lines.

Step 4. Sew on the two outermost marked lines.

5. Cut the unit apart on the center diagonal line.

Step 5: Cut the triangles apart on the center line.

6. Press the units open and voila! Two identical Basket blocks. Trim the blocks to 4 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ if necessary.

Chris used a decorative machine blanket stitch to finish the basket handles in A-Tisket, A-Tasket.

To further celebrate our new book, I’m offering an autographed copy as a giveaway to one of our See How We Sew readers! Leave a comment by midnight (PST), November 8, telling me why you’d like to own this book, and you’ll be entered into the random drawing to win. I’ll announce the winner in my 11/20 post.

Meantime, we’ve got a winner for the Lark Crafts book, Creative Quilting with Beads, from my September 18 post. And that winner is…fleurette! Please email your snail-mail address via seehowwesew@gmail.com, and I’ll get your book on its way.

Finally, if you plan to be at Market: Chris and I will be doing a 30-minute Schoolhouse on Friday, October 26, at 1:20 pm in Room 352D; we’ll have a doorprizes for a few lucky attendees. We’ll also be doing demos and signing books at the Martingale & Company booth (#264), Saturday, October 27, 10:30 am – 11:30 am. Do stop by and say hello!

‘Til next time, happy stitching!

This entry was posted in Blocks, Books & Products, Giveaways, Patterns, Quilts, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Two-for-One Basket Blocks…Easy, Easy, Easy (+ a Book Giveaway)

  1. Pingback: QM Staff Inventory: I Love Funky | Quilty Pleasures Blog

  2. nise says:

    love your basket block can’t wait to make one

  3. Dawn Mason says:

    I’m going to give these baskets a go. Thank you for the tip & the giveaway too

  4. JEM-fl says:

    Love that basket block! Also would like to learn your letter blocks. I make quilts
    for foster kids waiting for houses. Thanks.

  5. PT in SC says:

    I love the little baskets and the rick rack border, I’m going to give this a try. Thank you for sharing. I would love the book.

  6. Ardith Davidson says:

    My son & his wife are trying to have a baby. I want to be a prepared Grandma with a beautiful quilt for my first grandchild.

  7. May Gaspay says:

    What a fun way to use scraps. I always wanted to try doing the basket but it seemed too “fussy”..this is sooo not fussy.I would like to learn the alphabet quilt too. The book will come in handy.
    May

  8. Beverly says:

    I love this block and would love to win the book!

  9. Sorchagirl says:

    I’m always on the lookout for baby quilts and the projects your featured in this post look delightful–bright colors, great shapes and cleaver basket technique. Thank for the chance to win a copy. Good luck at market!!

  10. Heather says:

    I saw all of these at the Quilting in the Garden show and loved them. I want to make baby quilts for my friends but can’t make them too intricate–these are all very cute, quick, and fun. Plus all the different themes you’ve chosen allow for customization for each baby.

  11. Suzanne says:

    Hello- I’m a “newbie”! I just found this website and I love it! I am so excited to join this blog and I look forward to all your quilting advice. Thank you!

  12. Christine says:

    That is such an awesome and time saving technique! I need to make acharity quilt—This would be perfect and charming! Thank you for sharing.

  13. GG says:

    I’d like to win a signed copy of your new book. It looks terrific. I am going to be a grandmother in March 2013! I’m so excited!

  14. GG says:

    I’d like to win a copy of your book b/c I am going to be a grandmother in March! I’m so excited!

  15. JoAnn L says:

    I need to create THREE baby quilts!!! One is in progress. The other two have not been started yet. I need inspiration and ideas!!!

  16. Sue Leenders says:

    Love the little baskets!

  17. Kathy M Boice says:

    I need this book! I have one Great Grandson and two on the way! Also lots of Grand nephews and friends with babies.

  18. Connie says:

    I love making baby quilts! This would be a great addition to my library….thanks! Connie in California

  19. Sue says:

    My most favorite kind of quilt to make is “baby” or “kids”. Love bright cheerful colors AND I am going to be a Grandma for the first time! :)

  20. Carol Barringer says:

    Grandkids! Can there be a better reason to want this book? Love the clever Basket technique.

  21. Pam says:

    How clever! I love when people come up with innovative ways to piece quilts. I’d love to learn more.

  22. Sallie says:

    I would love to win this book because I make baby quilts for our church quilt ministry. We donate quilts to foreign orphanages and the local pregnancy help center. Thanks for the great giveaway! Also, thanks for the basket tutorial!

  23. I love the basket technique, really clever idea and makes it so much easier to make multiple basket blocks. I found out last month, that I will have our first grandchild next year, so I am looking forward to making a new quilt for the new baby.

    Debbie

  24. Beth B says:

    A basket quilt is on my quilting bucket (or perhaps it should be basket) list. Looks like a great book and I love to make baby quilts.

  25. i love making baby quilt’s and would put this to good use thanks

  26. Deborah says:

    I would love to win this book – there are so many babies on the way in our family!

  27. Charae Hemphill-Dabb says:

    I would love to make these baby quilts! They make me smile!

  28. Bonnie says:

    I would love a copy of this book so that I can use your basket technique and share that with friends. The basket technique is so clever and fast!

  29. elaine says:

    YIKES! that basket block looks TOO EASY! thanks for sharing.

  30. Teri says:

    I would love to have this book because I have five children. So far I have two grandchildren, but I’m hoping there will be lots more, and I plan to make each one a baby quilt.

  31. Lois says:

    There are several new babies that have been born in my circle of friends and these quilts would be perfect gifts for these little ones.

  32. Martie says:

    I have grandchildren thus, I need this book!

  33. Terry says:

    I’d love to win this book because it would be perfect for making those special little quilts for special little people! Thanks for the chance!

  34. My granddaughter is learning her alphabet and I would love your book to make the alphabet quilt…and many others.

  35. Barbara says:

    Hi Darra,
    Congratulations to you and Christine for the new book. I loved your take on Sunbonnet Sue and would love to try some of the babyquilts from the new book. Thank you for sharing this innovative basket pattern.

  36. Heather says:

    So Cute! I wish I had the truck quilt when my oldest was little. But, I bet I’m bound to have a grandson someday. I should stock up on these adorable ideas so I can be ready for the big event!

  37. Four dogs and one quilter says:

    Would love to win a copy for my library: My son and his wife are expecting twins in March. Thanks for the chance to win.

  38. Peggy O'Connor says:

    Congratulations on your “new baby” Dara & Christine! I wish you much success! And thanks for the easy basket block pattern. I thinking once the babies are older they can find the matching baskets in their quilt. So fun!!! I would love to win your new book because baby quilts are my specialty…small and easy! Thanks for the chance to win. PS Enjoy your time in Houston!!!

  39. elle says:

    I have 3 grandchildren, one a new baby and friends whoalways seem to have birth announcements! Ideas for small quilts are always welcome. This is a fabulous way to make basket blocks!

  40. Ooohhh . . . I’m learning to quilt and LOVE my grandbabies! But . . . the most important thing to say is CONGRATULATIONS on your new book!!! :)

  41. Easy, quick techniques, sweet baby quilts, what more could we ask! Would love this book because I hope for more grandbabies!

  42. Christina in Cleveland says:

    OH what a FUN book! Three newborns at work and my Juki on a crib size Grace frame longs to work on these! :) I’d love to surprise the new moms with a fun quilt.

  43. Evelyn O'Brien says:

    Good morning……….I would Love to win a copy! With new additions to our family this would be the perfect book to get fresh ideas for baby quilts!

  44. Jane says:

    Hi – I would LOVE this book because I love, love, love happy quilts.

Leave a Reply

