Giving Thanks for Quilts, Quilters, and So Much More (Hurry! Giveaway, too!)

Don’t you just LOVE this time of year?

Autumn: my favorite season!

More autumn splendor, courtesy of Chris Porter

I know that this is a very busy week for our readers here in the States as we prepare for that quintessential American autumn holiday: Thanksgiving!

“We Give Thanks” (30″ x 30″) by Charlotte Warr Andersen. Available as a pattern from JWD Publishing. Details at the end of this post.

With that in mind, I’ll simply tell you how grateful we are for your continuing support of See How We Sew. We’re just six months past our 100,000th view, and we’re already inching up on another very impressive milestone…all thanks to you.

Submit your comment by 10 pm (PST) Thanksgiving night and be eligible to win!

As a way of saying thanks–and to help you get ready for the late November/December whirlwind to come–this week we’re giving away a copy of a book filled with lovely holiday projects, Pretty in Patchwork: Holidays by John V. Adams (aka Quilt Dad). Published by our friends at Lark Crafts, this book includes 30+ seasonal (Halloween, autumn, Thanksgiving, and Christmas) projects, ranging from smaller goodies–pillows, gift bags and tags, ornaments, tablerunners and placemats, stuffed toys, and more–to wallhangings, baby and lap quilts, and even a few bed-sized quilts. Here’s just a sampling of the fun and easy projects tucked in its pages.

Read Between the Lines Pillow, made by Kelly Lautenbach, for Pretty in Patchwork: Holidays. Ho! Ho! Ho!

Gift Card Givers, made by Mo Bedell, for Pretty in Patchwork: Holidays. These make great tree ornaments, too!

Modern Heirloom Quilt, 70″ x 80″, made by John Q. Adams, for Pretty in Patchwork: Holidays. Fun and easy!

To be eligible for the random drawing, just submit a brief comment telling us what you are most thankful for in your quilting life. In order to get the book in the winner’s hands ASAP (so the stitching can begin!), please post your comment by 10 pm PST, Thursday evening, 11/22 (yep! that’s Turkey Day) and I’ll announce the winner in my post this Friday.

Reminds me: we’ve got a winner for the autographed copy of my new book, Cuddle Me Quick, co-authored with my dear friend, Christine Porter, and that winner is Beth B. Beth, please email your snail-mail address to seehowwesew@gmail.com, and I’ll get your book out to you right away.

Before I sign off, here’s the link for the lovely Thanksgiving pattern shown above. This colorful wall quilt, designed by Charlotte Warr Andersen, includes a full-scale drawing with color-keyed layout hints, descriptive fabric requirements, and clearly-written instructions.

That’s it for now. Have a safe and joyous holiday, and–if you have a moment–slip in a moment of stitching or two! See you Friday.

This entry was posted in Books & Products, Giveaways, Patterns, Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Giving Thanks for Quilts, Quilters, and So Much More (Hurry! Giveaway, too!)

  1. VickiT says:

    I am most thankful that I have an amazing husband who supports me and never complains about the times I saw “I need/want this or that” and then we go shopping to get those things. He even helps me carry fabrics and has many times encouraged me to buy more that what I went into the store to pickup. I know that I’m very lucky.

  2. Marilyn Chapman says:

    Ten years ago in December our precious 20 mo. old grandson died when a virus hit his
    heart. A dear friend said, You need a diversion, Come and learn to quilt with me at a block of the month. The grandson’s other grandma wanted to come also. The friend was right, quilting opened up whole new world. Quilting friends are like no others. The feel of fabric and the
    colors and patterns really do help heal the soul.

  3. i am thankful for a good sewing machine

  4. Melissa Gerber says:

    I am most thankful for my quilting mini group (TGIQ quilters). We take field trips together, and attend quilt shows. They are always willing to share advice, fabric or just a sympathetic ear. I don’t know where I would be without them! Happy Thanksgiving.

  5. Sandy says:

    Quilting changed my life! I am so thankful for all it has given me. It introduced me to wonderful people. It has taken me to new places. It has provided an unending source of inspiration and pleasure, challenges and fun. I don’t have any idea what my life would be like if I hadn’t found the quilting world in 1987!

  6. Candy says:

    I am thankful for rotary cutters and all the beautiful fabrics to cut!

  7. Kris Jacobson says:

    I am most grateful for the friends I have made through quilting. They push me to be more creative and have supported me in bad times. No matter how bad life can get I always have quilting and the people involved in it to lift me up.

  8. I am thankful for all the beautiful fabrics that I fell in love with this year.

  9. Martie says:

    I am very, very thankful for my colorful
    quilting friends that are always there ready to support me and laugh with me as we talk and sew together! Quilting friends are the best!

  10. Lora says:

    I am most grateful to the dear friends I would never have met were we not in a quilting class together. Beyond that, rotary cutters, cutting mats, and rulers – probably would never have become a quilter without them.

  11. Sue Staum says:

    I am thankful for my new sewing machine that has a threader and allows me to spin a new bobbin without rethreading the machine!

  12. Lyn says:

    I am thankful to belong to a great quilt guild! Have a happy and safe Thanksgiving holiday!

  13. jmniffer says:

    I am thankful for online fabric shopping as there aren’t any quilt shops nearby. Thanks for the chance to win this fun looking book.

  14. Rachel Worley says:

    For my husband Jimmy, he supports my quilting habit. I’m new to quilting and he encourages me and takes an interest in what I’m working on.
    Thanks

  15. Terry says:

    I’m thankful that my family and friends enjoy all the quilting gifts I’ve made for them and for them encouraging me to create more.

  16. zette says:

    i am thankful that my kids wanted quilts so that i would be pushed into learning how to quilt.

  17. Laura Tawney says:

    I’m so very thankful for the support of my husband in my quilting life! Whenever he goes on trips he brings back fabric to add to my stash, when we are shopping in stores he is so patient and carries my bolts of fabrics, and never hurries me to finish my shopping. He also was the one that talked me into knocking out the wall between two bedrooms to make a bigger quilt studio when I was ok with going between the two rooms. He is a keeper:)
    LauraT

  18. Marsha says:

    I am thankful for my eyes to see the gorgeous fabrics I quilt with, and my hands that allow me to piece them together.

  19. Kathy says:

    I am so thankful for my two quilt guilds. Makes for a fun group of friends

  20. Kathryn says:

    I’m thankful that my favorite quilt shop remains in business. So many have closed, it’s a joy to have a well-stocked quilt store within a short distance of my home.

  21. Mar says:

    Thankful for my sitching sisters, fellow quilters who inspire me.

  22. Carol Barringer says:

    I am thankful whenever I am able to sew and quilt. With sometimes iffy health, there are times — often weeks, occasionally months — when I am just not able to do it. And when I can, life is soooo much better! When I can’t, the hope and determination to get back to my projects along with lots of magazine reading and web surfing (and too much fabric buying!) help move forward. So I am grateful when I can sew, and grateful for the incentive when I can’t.

  23. Four dogs and one quilter says:

    I am thankful for all the great quilting/sewing blogs and the wonderful women, and men, who take the time to share their creations with all of us.

  24. Donna W says:

    I am most thankful for my quilting friends! It is so wonderful to have people in my life that share the same passions as I do. They always stick by me in both good times and bad times

  25. Jenn L. says:

    I am most thankful for the friendships I’ve made and the artistic form of quilting I’ve been exposed to. The friendships and the quilting have enriched my life beyond words.

  26. Lynn says:

    I am thankful I was inspired to take my first quilting class so I would know what I was doing when a friend and I were in charge of a raffle quilt for our church. That was in 1981 and have taken many classes and made many quilts since then but that first one started me on the path to becoming a quilter.

  27. Karen says:

    I’m thankful for all the friends I’ve made through quilting and for my Friday quilt group. They are a group of lovely ladies who inspire me in so many ways. Oh, and then there is the fabric…

  28. Kathie says:

    I am so so grateful that my doctors insisted that I retire and do something I love. I have been quilting ever since. Fabric makes me so happy :-)!

  29. Debbie says:

    I am most thankful for my quilting sisters (you all know who you are, you Fabulous Thursday Night Quilters!). They have become dear, dear friends.

  30. Heather says:

    I’m also very thankful for my quilty friends. It makes me so very happy to be among like minded people to share ideas and inspiration.

  31. Lois says:

    I am thankful for retirement that allows more time for quilting

  32. Shirley Schmeyer says:

    I am thankful for a group of Tuesday quilters that make and donate quilts to folks less fortunate than we are. It is a rewarding experience and I have met many ladies (and a man) that are just wonderful. Quilting has opened another interesting and exciting door for me. Happy Thanksgiving.

  33. Holly Rundberg says:

    I am thankful for my 3 wonderful grandchildren. I have just finished a quilt for the youngest, my grandson who will be 1 year old this December.

  34. I am thankful for a husband who expresses praise for all my sewing projects although he doesn’t really get it. I appreciated that he doesn’t mind late meals or the sound of the sewing machine at 2:00 am because he knows I am happy sewing.

  35. Deborah says:

    I am so very thankful for my dear friends in my quilting bee – we meet every Wednesday; they are a constant source of support and inspiration.
    Thank you for this giveaway!
    Deborah

  36. Birgith says:

    Hej
    I am thankfull for all the good time quilt are give me – and the nice thing
    And it is also bring good freinds

  37. Sally says:

    My quilting life has given me the opportunity to have stimulating discussions, networks with charity, new ways of learning, a link to the past, and special gifts for family and friends. For this and many more wonderful blessings, I am truly thankful .

  38. Pam says:

    I am thankful for all of the Internet blogs that keep me stimulated. Of course.there are my quilter friends and my yoyo making 98 year old mother.
    Love the HOHOHO pillow.

  39. I am so thankful for the friendships I’ve made in real life through blogging with quilt friends.

  40. Peggy O'Connor says:

    I am thankful for the wonderful people in my quilt guild who inspire and encourage me. Happy Thanksgiving to you all!!!

  41. Marty Askins says:

    I am most thankful for all the quilting blogs, friends and shops. Quilting helps ease my pain that I live with every day. All the tutorials that everyone posts has helped me to learn how to quilt and I really do appreciate all of you. I hope everyone has a HAPPY THANKSGIVING. Thank you for the chance to win.

  42. Barbara says:

    I am most thankful for my local quiltshop and the friends I have made there. In addition, a big thank you to you and your blog sisters for a delightful blog,
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  43. Mary says:

    I am most thankful for my mother for inspiring my passion for quilting, sewing, and creating.

  44. Jamie says:

    I am most thankful for my quilt guild friends. I enjoy the chance to get together, to learn new stuff, and just have fun.

  45. Friends to sew, learn and share life’s stories together.

  46. France's Quigley says:

    I am most thankful for the beautiful colors in fabrics. I look back at my very first quilts and can’t imagine anyone liking them. Now colors are vibrant and so much fun to work with. Now the problem is that they are so beautiful I don’t want to cut them up.

Leave a Reply

