The Cat’s Out of the Bag! I’m the 2013 BOM Teacher for Craftsy–Enter for a FREE Class

L: Craftsy logo-LearnItMakeItI’m so happy to be home for the holidays and catching up with family and friends. This past month has been a whirlwind of traveling and teaching. It was so much fun but I have to agree with Dorothy on this one . . . there’s no place like home.

In my last post, I hinted at some exciting news that I was not able to share at the time. Since then, I have traveled to Denver to the studios of Sympoz where I filmed 11 lessons for the 2013 Block of the Month series with Craftsy. If you are not familiar with this popular website, you must take a minute to check out the many workshops and class offerings available. Not only are there quilting classes, but also classes in cake decorating, knitting & crocheting, woodworking, spinning, paper crafts, and jewelry making. There is something for everyone.

I thought I was good to go but each night my hotel room looked like this as I had some last-minute tasks before filming the next morning. I should have taken a photo of the floor. Yikes, it was covered with threads!

We learn to work in whatever space is available.

We learn to work in whatever space is available.

My Block of the Month series will go live on January 1st and the good news is that it is FREE! You just need to visit the site and set up a username and password and then click on the logo for this class. You will be able to access it at your leisure, as many times as you like and for as long as it is available, which apparently will be for many, many years.  There is no expiration date. A new lesson will be available the first day of each month. I really hope you will join me in this exciting new venture.

I had a very short turn-around time from when I was asked to teach to the actual filming dates. There was so much to do–from selecting fabrics, choosing patterns, and writing instructions. I selected a variety of blocks that would teach many of my favorite techniques, including curved piecing, y-seam construction, partial seams, 45-degree and 60-degree triangles and diamonds, appliqué, and drafting. I feel there is an exciting line-up of patterns included in the sampler quilt.

I can’t reveal the actual quilt project yet but here is a sneak peek at the lovely fabrics they sent me to play with. I just love polka dots, so working on this project was so much fun.

I love these dots by Robert Kaufman fabrics.

I love these dots by Robert Kaufman fabrics.

When I arrived at the studios, I was deeply touched that a workspace was all set up with many of my favorite things. They made me feel so comfortable and right at home.

Such a cute workspace. Wish my own was this neat and tidy!

Such a cute workspace. Wish my own was this neat and tidy!

Many thanks to some of the nicest people ever to work with: Alissa, Nicole and Jarrod and my lovely makeup artist Danica (not shown). I had the best time and can’t wait for the release of this new series.

Alissa (producer), yours truly, Nicole (film editor) and Jarrod (camera).

Alissa (producer), yours truly, Nicole (film editor) and Jarrod (camera).

Giveaway-Green:RedCraftsy is generously offering a Free class (up to a $49.99 value) to one of our readers. Simply hop on over to the website and browse through the abundance of class offerings. Then post a comment by end of day December 20th telling me which class you would like to take. I will announce the winner in my Jan 1 post.

I hope you will plan to join me in January. It’s a perfect time to begin a new project. I will give you lots of tips and hints to help with the success of your quilt. You can go onto the Craftsy website now and get set-up; then you will be ready to go.

Almost forgot – The four lucky winners of copies of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks from today’s top designers are: Linda Dixon, Cindy Wendt, Miss Moozie (love this name!) and Helen Petrik.

Happy Holidays everyone. Be well and safe. Hope to see you next year in the Craftsy classroom.

L1-Signature

This entry was posted in Blocks, Fabric, Giveaways and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to The Cat’s Out of the Bag! I’m the 2013 BOM Teacher for Craftsy–Enter for a FREE Class

  1. Rosemary says:

    I am looking forward to your new Craftsy class and would love to win the Handbag Class as I have struggled with buying lousy handbags for years that never seem to suit me, so I’ve decided to try to make my own. Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  2. Sue Halter says:

    I’d love to win Design It, Quilt It with Cindy Needham. I will be signing up for your Craftsy BOM in January. Really looking forward to your class.

  3. erin says:

    Hi,

    I did Amy’s block of the month this year. I have tried to register for your 2013 BOM but could not find it on Craftsy.com I searched block of the month but only the 2012 BOM came up. Please help…cannot wait to start another quilt. I love your fabrics!! If I win I would like the stack and stash class.

    Thanks and looking forward to seeing you all year long:)
    Erin

  4. ellietow says:

    Congrats on the BOM class – it should be fun.
    I would take the beginner serger class – I’ve had a serger for several years now, but only use it for the basic stuff.

  5. Evelyn O'Brien says:

    I would like to take the class with Pepper Cory!

  6. Jennifer says:

    I’m super excited about your Caftsy BOM. Can’t wait to start! Is there any more info you can give us on fabric requirements? I would like to order now so I can start on time. The craftsy class I would like to take is Quick strip paper piecing by Peggy Martin. Thanks

  7. rustyavenger says:

    Sorry if this is a duplicate comment. My first entry seemed to fail part way.

    I’d love to win Painted Pictorial Quilts! Looks like fun! Good luck with your class.

  8. Deb S. says:

    Is there any way to get fabric requirements for your class so I’m ready for the Jan.1st class? How much background is needed? If I get chosen to win a free class I would like Leah Day’s quilting class.

  9. Debbie M says:

    Those dots! Thanks for sharing that yummy photo. Not so easy to pick one class, but I narrowed it down. I would choose the Knit Sock Workshop with Donna Druchunas. Congrats on joining the Craftsy teaching staff, Laura.

  10. Aud says:

    Contragulations! I’m looking forward to your class in January.
    I would like to take the Stupendous Stitching class—time to learn the capability of my Bernina!

  11. Carolyn Fulmer says:

    I have loved all the Craftsy classes I have taken but, I would love to win Leah Day’s free motion quilting class!

  12. Kay says:

    Congrats on being the Craftsy BOM teacher for next year! There are so many classes that interest me, it’s hard to choose. I think Color Play for Quilters is at the top of my current wish list.

  13. jackie vernon says:

    Besides joining in on your great class I would love to take the Machine Embroidery Class. I have a beautiful Singer Embroidery machine which I hardly every use in my quilting, what a waste, and I know I am missing out on so much fun by not knowing how to use this great tool to its best advantage. Thanks for this great opportunity, and Happy Holidays To All. Jackie PS I have taken other Crafty’s Classes and I love them. Hope everyone will give them a try.

  14. Kristin M says:

    I think I would take Leah Day’s quilting class. I look forward to watching for more info about your BOM. Congrats!

  15. Diane Heller says:

    I want to take: Quilting Big Quilts on a small machine with Ann Pederson. I have enjoyed the class I just took and will be back for more!

  16. Christina in Cleveland says:

    Thanks for the opportunity and love your Bernina. :) The class I would like to try is Thread Art. Sounds fun. thanks always, Christina in Cleveland

  17. Becky says:

    Congratulations, Laura! How exciting for you! Can’t wait to sign up!

  18. Rori Jensen says:

    Hello, Craftsy is such a great site and a innovative idea…quilt classes anytime, 24/7. I would sign-up for Big Techniques from Small Scraps.

  19. Jane says:

    Hi Laura!! I am so happy you will be teaching this BOM class!! AND FREE!! You are a great teacher – skilled and concerned for your students. I am a regular on Craftsy and a fan of your books and DVD. I would love to win Sarah Fielke’s class. Thanks for the chance.

  20. Lisa Fulmer says:

    Congrats! Thanks for the opp to win – I’m very interested in this class: http://www.craftsy.com/class/Epoxy-Clay-Artistry/85

  21. Sue Brabham says:

    This sounds like a fun project, looking forward to BOM. Love craftsy. The class I would love to take is beyond basic machine quilting with Ann Petersen.

  22. Trish says:

    I have been wanting to take a class a Craftsy but haven’t yet found the time – so if I win, it will force me to make the Stitch and Slash class. Thanks for teaching a BOM and thanks to Craftsy people for their work on this!

  23. Jeanine Williams says:

    I would like to do the Free Motion Sampler class with Leah Day.

  24. Sue Brabham says:

    What a nice thing you are doing. I am looking forward to the block of the month class. I really like craftsy. The class that I would be interested in taking is beyond basic machine quilting.

  25. Judy Matlock says:

    What a joy it is to do free motion quilting, but I have loads to learn. Am sewing on a Handi Quilter Sweet 16 and loving it. If I would be so fortunate to win a free class, I would choose the Free Motions Quilting and Sampler class. Thank you so much for your wonderful offer. Judy A.

  26. Lisa says:

    Congratulations Laura! This is the first time I’ve been to the Craftsy website and would love to try one of the online classes. I’d like to take the Quilting Quickly class as I have some precuts I’d like to do something with!

  27. Judy says:

    I would like to take the class Quilting Big Projects on a Small Machine, and about ten other one they offer. Thanks for introducing me to Craftsy. But The Quilt Show classes are much cheaper as you get so many for a year’s membership for the price of one on Craftsy.

  28. Jamie Todhunter says:

    I look forward to checking out our block of the month class. I would like to try Color Play for Quilters.

  29. Congratulations, Laura! That’s great news! You’re the perfect person for a fun block of the month class – can’t wait to watch it!
    Alethea

  30. Lyn says:

    I’d love to take Free Motion Quilting a Sampler!

  31. Susan says:

    I love Craftsy and will be signing up for your BOM class! I would love to take Kaye England’s Civil War Block class. It looks very interesting! Good luck with your class!

  32. jackie says:

    I can’t hardly wait till Jan 1st! If I were to take another class on Craftsy it would be “quilting negative spaces” with Angela Walters.

  33. Deb Anderson says:

    Congratulation on being selected for 2013′s BOM teacher !. I cannot wait for this class to begin. I really enjoyed your TQS class. I would love to win Kaye England Civil War or Kimberly Einmo jelly roll class. I have taken classes at Craftsy and I am member there. I really enjoy it the lessons.
    Once again Congratulations and Happy Holidays.
    Deb

  34. Deb Anderson says:

    Laura , Congratuations on being the BOM teacher for Craftsy !. OMG so many classes there I would love to take ( and I have taken a couple ) . My wish list is for Kimberly Einmo jelly roll quilts or Kaye Englands civil war class. Also I really enjoyed your class on The Quilt Show.
    I really cannot wait to see this BOM. I will be watching !!

  35. Ann Scott says:

    I’m new to Craftsy and think on-line classes with a personal conection is a wonderful idea!! I’d love to give it a try!! :)

  36. Debbie Williams says:

    I looove the fabrics for the BOM and can’t wait to see the pattern :) I went over to Craftsy and would love to take Sandra Betzini’s class on Pant Fitting if I were to win the free class. Buying regular pants is hard for me since I’m short waisted and the crotch area is always tooooo long.

  37. Donna B says:

    I am a Craftsy regular and am really looking forward to your 2013 BOM Class! I really appreciate the Craftsy platform of classes as I live in a remote area and do not have access to the types of classes that are available in metropolitan areas. If I win a free class, it would be Art Quilt Backgrounds by Judith Trager. Thanks so much for making this free class available!

  38. Audrey King says:

    I love your fabrics and I can’t wait to see what you do with them. There are so many intriguing
    classes, but if I won, I think I’d like to take Quilting Big Projects on a Small Machine.

  39. Theresa Early says:

    I’d love to take the class “Designing Modern Quilts.” But I’m looking forward to your class too!

    Theresa Early

  40. I love what Craftsy offers. A chance to learn at home! I’m looking forward to your class in January. My choice for a class: Peter Reinhart, Artisan Bread Making. Yummy.

  41. mjkasz says:

    Looking forward to your class but I would also love to take Bag Making Basics. I loved your TQS class!

  42. Michelle says:

    I’m so happy for you! My favorite quilt teacher and quilter too…

  43. Nancy Danish says:

    I would love to take the class on Art Quilts. I have already taken a couple of classes and enjoyed them all. I also did the block of the month last year and am now ready to put it together.

  44. Terry says:

    Look forward to your BOM…will definitely be signing up! I’d also love to take Beginning Serging (had a serger for years and figure it’s about time I learn how to use it!) Thanks for the chance!

  45. elaine says:

    congratulations on the new BOM class with Craftsy. i, too, have enjoyed taking their classes. Craftsy classes fit in busy schedules! i’m looking forward to january and your new class.

  46. Kathie L says:

    I’d love to take the beginner’s Knit Lab or Art quilting 101. Congrats on being next year’s teacher. I’ll be sure to watch!! Thanks.

  47. jayardi says:

    • • • Can’ wait to see what you do with all those dots. My choice would be Stupendous Stitching with Carol Ann Waugh. Thanks for sharing.

  48. Duane Wiley says:

    I know that Laura Wasilowski is filming a class and that would be the one I would like to take. I know it’s not up there on Craftsy’s site yet but I am patient! Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  49. You rock, Laura, and I can’t wait to see the dotty BOMs! What I need is the Beginner Serger class…I write how-to instructions for lots of quilting books, but much prefer to learn following a good demo.

  50. Karen Martin says:

    I love Craftsy, better than any magazine I’ve purchased..can take a class whenever I want and don’t have to leave my desk. I’ve taken most of the quilting classes that they have, would like to try the Knit Lab and maybe get back into knitting. Need a refresher course and it looks like it could be the one.

  51. Frances Quigley says:

    I really like Craftsy classes. I can actually get personal replys to any problem I may have. I look forward to your class.

  52. VickiT says:

    Oh how fun. Congratulations on your BOM class. I’ll definitely be signing up.
    I’d love to take Quilting Big Projects on a Small Machine with Ann Petersen so I can finish my quilts by myself. I am sure with a class to help me learn great techinques that Ann surely must have that I’d be able to do it myself.

  53. Congratulations! How lucky are we to enjoy it for free! Nice to know about all the classes I’d like to win the Strip Paper Piecing class. Thanks!

  54. Connie says:

    Hi Laura….I’ve met you several times at PIQS in Santa Clara. You are so nice! I loved your class on TQS. I’m looking forward to your Craftsy BOM class as well. I, too, love the Craftsy classes and would love to try something new…like the class on knitting socks. Thank you!!!

  55. Barbara says:

    Congratulations Laura.
    I love the Craftsy classes I have taken and look forward to your BOM. I would take the class with Leah Day.
    Merry Christmas,

  56. Deborah says:

    I can’t wait to take your class, and, i would love to win Leah Day’s free motion quilting class!
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    Deb

  57. Mary Nyberg says:

    I love Craftsy and imagine a man created it!! Now I love it even more with a class to come from you and its even free. Wow. The class I would like to take is from Angela Walters if I happen to be the winner. Thanks so much.

  58. Libby says:

    I have been very pleased with the Craftsy classes I have taken and I’m excited that you are teaching next year. I would choose Malka Dubrawsky’s class on Fabric Patterning with Wax Resist.

  59. Candy says:

    Congrats Laura! I’ve been a member of Craftsy and love their classes. How fun it will be to take one with you. I’d like to take Free Motion Quilting with Leah Day.

  60. Sally says:

    I enjoyed your classes on THe Quilt Show and all of the great tips so this is the icing on the cake!

  61. elle says:

    Luv those fabrics. I’d take Stupendous Stitching!

  62. dawn says:

    I would take a class by Sarah Fielke

  63. Linda Vanderbaan says:

    Your BOM class sounds great! I’m thinking of Leah Day’s free motion quilting class.

  64. Martina says:

    Oh, I am lloking forward to this! Great and congratulations! I am also very interested in
    Big Techniques from Small Scraps with Sarah Fielke. Would be so great to win! Thnaks so much!

  65. cynthia says:

    I am really looking forward to this BOM! Also, I’d like to take Sarah Fielke’s class !

  66. Jay says:

    Laura, I know your class will be great! Craftsy was lucky to snag you! I’m signing up! If I were going to win a free class, I’d choose Pant Fitting Techniques by Sandra Betzina. I haven’t done clothing construction for years, and this would be a great re-entry.

Leave a Reply

