Merry Christmas from See How We Sew With a New Paper-Pieced Angel Block

Paper-pieced angel following the format of my recent seasonal blocks

Angels we have heard on high
Sweetly singing o’re the plains
And the mountains in reply
Echoing their joyous strains . . .

Detail view of angel face:  pink flower sequin for mouth, beads for eyes and hair, hand-stitched face details.

Detail view of angel face: pink flower sequin for mouth, beads for eyes and hair, hand-stitched face details.

Recent events have made me think about sweet little souls becoming angels too soon. To remember them and our loved ones, a paper-pieced angel pattern. The paper-pieced block is available as a download in our Pattern Library.

Wishing you the very, very best this holiday season! I’ll be hugging my grown sons far more today than they typically tolerate, but they’ll just have to put up with it!

J-Signature

p.s. I found a sweet, pared down rendition of Angels We Have Heard on High on YouTube. Billy Gilman is the singer–I wonder if his voice is as clear now that he’s in his twenties.

This entry was posted in Blocks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Merry Christmas from See How We Sew With a New Paper-Pieced Angel Block

  1. CindysArt says:

    Im so glad I found your blog this is so cute

  2. Roberta says:

    No numbers on sections to show where to begin and end ?.

    • Jennifer says:

      Hello Roberta, I don’t do numbers, but I can help you out: I cut off the “halo” and built that separately, then I sliced off the angel wing sections and did them. As for the angel garments, I sliced off the shoulder section and built that and the bottom as well. I tackled the main garments and then sewed the subunits back together. I always use the dotted guideline running through the middle of the pattern to line up the subunits for sewing. Main subunits: halo, angel wing right/left, bottom triangle, and 2 parts of angel robes. I built the center first and then added the wings to each side and finished with the halo. I hope that helps.

  3. the angel is beatyfull. thank you!

  4. Rochelle says:

    Thank you! This is lovely! I will have a new project for next Christmas now!

  5. Naner Sherman says:

    Really beautiful Angel. Merry Christmas to you, Pat, Max and Parker! Love Naner xoxo

  6. Sue Farrell says:

    Beautiful, Jennifer. Merry Christmas.

  7. LOURDES says:

    just found this~next year gifts!

Leave a Reply

