Candace Kling, Masterful Manipulator of Fabric & Ribbon–Giveaway Today!

Good enough to eat? Candace Kling's delicious "Eye Candy" may fool you, but the confections are made of fabric!

Good enough to eat? Candace Kling’s delicious “Eye Candy” may fool you, but the confections are made of fabric!

I don’t think it’s a secret here at the blog that I’ve got a case of floral love. I’ve a habit of posting flower photos when I blog and dancing around blossomy themes and colors in much of my work. Which makes me think you’re not going to be shocked when I reveal that my fave crafting book is about flowers.Giveaway-Gold

Do you know The Artful Ribbon by Candace Kling from C&T Publishing? Not only do I have an update on Candace’s further flower adventures here, but she gave me an autographed copy of The Artful Ribbon as a giveaway to one of our readers! (See details below.)

Book-J:  The Artful Ribbon by Candace Kling

Isn’t that book cover spectacular?

Lucky for me, Candace lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. She joined me for lunch last Friday and, even better, she invited me to her studio so I could see her handiwork LIVE!

Pansies and fuchsia

Pansies and fuchsia made with fabric and ribbon

Reading The Artful Ribbon was transformative to me. I poured over its pages and experimented here and there with her flower-building instructions. Did I become a fabulous hat or dressmaker as a result? Nah, I just had a heck of a great time playing with ribbon and embellishing handmade decor. Nonetheless, apprenticing to Candace via her book taught me much about translating the natural world into sewn form.

Inspiration-J:  Candace Kling's flowers

The rosy nosegay shows her incredible skill with “sculpting” floral shapes, the tiny flowers show her dexterity.

Meeting her turned out to be somewhat life changing as well. I set out to interview a renowned craftswoman, but I walked away with incalculable insight into creating floral artwork. A long-time teacher, imparting know-how is as natural as breathing to her—even her hands speak as she describes sculpting petal-like shapes from ribbons and fabric.

Inspiration-J:  Candace Kling's flowersCandace is a child of the Sixties; actually, she’s a true flower child who is Bay Area born and raised. While she has formal training from leading art schools in drawing, fashion design, and costuming, what she knows about embellishments she gained first by working in an East Bay vintage clothing store called Bizarre Bazaar (Facebook link) as a seamstress and then by studying the collections of leading museums and private collectors.

At that time, BizBaz was the locus of heavy trading in garments of all 20th century decades, some even earlier. The shop was hands-on learning of the best sort because Candace tailored and fit the vintage garments for the buyers who wore them out into the world. The museum wares she studies even now are handled very gently and worn only by mannequins on the rare occasion of a public exhibit and are otherwise strictly hands-off.

Inspiration-J: Candace Kling's cockades etc.

Intricately folded cockades perfect for finely tailored clothing

Her renown as a resource about vintage clothing and embellishment, and her growing skill at ribbon work, helped her build a very busy schedule of teaching and lecturing opportunities that continues today. It turns out that ribbon work is a skill that crosses many disciplines so Candace can bring her expertise to the widest range crafters from milliners to interior designers and costumers. She teaches actively in Northern California at guilds and shops like The Ribbonerie and The Sewing Workshop in San Francisco and travels outside of California to other venues as well. Visit her website for her teaching schedule.

I was so dazzled by our visit that I realized I couldn’t possibly fit everything I wanted to cover in one post. On Friday we’ll visit Candace’s studio to see recent work and other wonders. That means the turnaround for the giveaway will be super quick. Leave me a comment by this Thursday, January 24 and I’ll announce a winner in my Friday post.

Inspiration-J:  Candace Kling box of confections

“Eye Candy” by Candace Kling–visually appetizing and easy on the waistline

FYI: Visit Candace’s website and/or find the resource page at the back of The Artful Ribbon if you have questions about resources for ribbons and embellishments.

See you Friday!

J-Signature

This entry was posted in About, Books & Products, Embellishments and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Candace Kling, Masterful Manipulator of Fabric & Ribbon–Giveaway Today!

  1. Antoinette says:

    I’ve never seen anything so beautiful. These ribbon works are truly an exquisite art form. I’m in awe.

  2. Edee Zwiefelhofer says:

    I love her work! Just bought her book <3

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Posts for 2013 at See How We Sew |

  4. Pingback: Power to the (Quilting) People Through Crowd-Sourced Fundraising |

  5. Sandra says:

    Her work is so amazing. Can anyone tell me if Candace’s book covers making nautilus cocades? I have a burning passion to try but some instructions would make it a lot easier.

    • Jane says:

      The book does not cover cocardes. floral work only. I hear she is working on a second book though!

      • Jennifer says:

        That’s true. Candace has many, many wonderful techniques. My thing is flowers, but her other ribbon work is fantastic. I too look forward to another title from her.

  6. Pingback: A Heart-y Hello from See How We Sew Along with a Giveaway! |

  7. Laura says:

    So beautiful! I have knit and felted flowers after carefully studying them, but felted fabric never has the beautiful sheen of petals and leaves. Since I also knit and felt hats, this has really got me thinking about how to embellish them! Thank you.

  8. GG says:

    I LOVE ribbon work. And the pictures are stunning!
    Love to win this.

  9. Pingback: 10 Things I’ve Learned From Hanging Out With Candace Kling, Ribbon Worker Extraordinaire |

  10. Kristin M says:

    I have played at ribbon embroidery, but would love to add this resource to my library. Thanks for the chance.

  11. JoAnn L says:

    So beautiful! I am working on my first crazy quilt and I would like to try some of these on it!!

  12. Pam says:

    True eye candy. Ribbon work is on my bucket list.

  13. Wow! Are you kidding me? Candace makes ribbon look soooo yummy I’m thinking I need a box of Sees! Her flowers look amazing too!
    Thanks for the giveaway and chance to win. :-D

  14. Rivernik says:

    This is total beauty!

  15. Pam S says:

    Wow! Her work is beautiful. I had to look up the word “cockade” and learned something new today! Thank you.

  16. Jean says:

    I used to do ribbon embroidery, way back when. lol Yet I keep buying beautiful ribbons, maybe with the right book (hint, hint) I will find an inspiration to get them out of the drawer. ;)

    • Jennifer says:

      Well here’s a cool update for you, Jean, and all those who’ve commented so far: Candace is sweetening the pot with another book! Two giveaways!!! Statistically, does that mean you all have twice the chance to win a book? Hey, I chose my university program so I wouldn’t have to take another math class–that certainly shows here!

  17. Heather says:

    Wow, I thought it was a beautiful box of candy. The ribbon work is spectacular.

  18. Carol Barringer says:

    Oooh, so beautiful! I was into silk ribbon embroidery for awhile and loved it, but this is so far beyond that!

  19. Susan says:

    Candace Kling is an amazing artist with absolutely incredible talent. I would love to learn to do this with ribbon. Thank you for the inspiration and a chance to win such a wonderful tool.

  20. Barbara says:

    I am fascinated by those flowers, especially the pansies and fuchsias.

    • Jennifer says:

      Yes, Barbara, the pansies and fuchsias are incredible! Candace’s process for building the flowers is very well thought out and achievable. She demonstrated both to me in the studio and I was floored by how wonderfully (and easily) she formed the flowers.

  21. elle says:

    My goodness. That is so incredible. I’ve done a bit of ribbon work but they look like someone stepped on the box! lol

  22. Juanitad says:

    Wow! I’ve never seen anything like this – would love to see the book! Can’t wait til Friday.

  23. pam says:

    i am captivated… i am intrigued… i am HOOKED!!! i can’t tell you how thrilled i am to be inspired by something new. i’ve never seen anything like those creations… true works of art. i can’t wait to get my hands on candace’s book… i am headed right to her site and her teaching schedule. what an amazing world that literally lives in my backyard. thnx so much for opening pandora’s box :-)

  24. Donna W says:

    Unbelievable work—-Sure looks like candy, but, with no calories.

  25. Marty Askins says:

    I have seen Candace’w work before and it is spectacular. I would love to learn how to make them like she does. Thank you for having this giveaway.

  26. Laura Tawney says:

    Oh my gosh I had no idea what beautiful work could be created! I would so love to win this book. I went to the website and see that she teaches at Nancy’s sewing basket in Seattle. (close to where I live). Thanks this looks wonderful and I’m looking forward to Friday’s post!
    LauraT

  27. Laurel says:

    Seeing her “Eye Candy” took my breath away! It also reminded me of when I got carried away by The Artful Ribbon in the ’90s. I was part of a fiber arts group that was doing a display of calendar months that members personally interpreted in a 12″x18″ piece. Some wove, some quilted, one even knitted. My month was April and I made a very 3-D vase of tulips, daffodils,and irises. I keep that piece where I can easily see it because I love it so! Thanks for the opportunity to win the newest edition of The Artful Ribbon!

  28. Martie says:

    Beautiful!!! I would love to learn this skill. She is truely an amazing artist!

  29. Carol says:

    This are fantastic. Would love to try making some of these creations.

  30. Peggy O'Connor says:

    I would love to have a box…I mean book of her eye candy. Thanks for the chance to win!

  31. Shar says:

    She makes some beautiful creations.

  32. Gorgeous work and would love to have this book!! It would be wonderful to attend one of her workshops and see her work close up. How luck for you to have lunch and see her studio!!!!

  33. edukedesigns says:

    absolutely gorgeous! wow is an understatement! keep us posted!

  34. Deborah says:

    How inspiring! And sugar-free!

  35. Jeanine says:

    Wow! Those are pretty amazing (and low fat :))

  36. Candy says:

    What amazing talent!

  37. vivoaks says:

    I’ve not tried making ribbon flowers, but those are gorgeous!!! I’d love to try my hand at it, and if I win the book, that’s exactly what I’ll do! Thanks for the opportunity!

  38. Sandy says:

    Wow, amazing and breath taking!! I’ve never seen anything like it! What A beautiful gift to be able to share!!

  39. sheila says:

    I have never seen such beautiful work with ribbon. WOW!

  40. Pat says:

    What a fantastic giveaway – thank you!

  41. Barbara Ackley says:

    I have dabbled some with ribbon work but sure didn’t make anything like that. Beautiful

  42. Mary Stori says:

    Ribbon work has not been on my radar screen but I sure am interested now!

  43. Linda Stone says:

    What a coincidence . . . I just shopped in a quilt shop in Dubai while visiting my children and grandchildren. There were samples of ribbon embroidery displayed that were sweet and beautiful and I decided then and there that would go on my list of new skills to learn in 2013.

  44. Jane says:

    Oh – I would love to own this!! Creative and beautiful!!

  45. Jay says:

    Jennifer, you find the most inspiring things! This is luscious! Now I want to make a cockade for the jacket I just completed! Thanks!

  46. lizzie says:

    Dazzling indeed! I can’t wait for Friday!

  47. Suzanne Cross says:

    Candace’s work is amazing!

Leave a Reply

