“Quilt Blocks Go Wild!”–Fun & Funky Improv Projects from Six Favorite Designers (Giveaway!)

1-Giveaway Icon“The classic quilt block: Our cherished legacy. And now, the perfect inspiration for your creativity…a collection of fresh, modern quilt projects made with quilt blocks that are twisted and tweaked, sliced and skewed.”

–Eleanor Levie, from the intro to her book, Quilt Blocks Go Wild!

Drunkards Off the Path pillows on the cover (20" x 20"), designed and made by Malka Dubrawsky

Drunkards Off the Path pillows on the cover (20″ x 20″), designed and made by Malka Dubrawsky

Sound like fun? You bet! Whether…

  • You’ve been been wanting to try your hand at improvisational piecing, but struggle with knowing how or where to start…
  • You’re already a veteran of this fun and funky way to piece, always on the lookout for colorful inspiration to stretch your improv wings…
  • You’re a fan of “free-spirited” designers such as Malka Dubrawsky (a stitch in dye), Tonya Ricucci (the UnRuly Quilter), and Karla Alexander (Stack the Deck series)…

…you’ll find lots to love in Quilt Blocks Go Wild!

Accomplished author, editor, and book packager Eleanor Levie has enlisted a terrific team of “celebrity quilters” to join her in creating a tempting array of versatile blocks and projects, each showcasing the celebrity’s signature style. In addition to the aforementioned three, you’ll find projects designed by Pam Dinndorf (Aarvark Quilts), Elizabeth Rosenberg (whose award-winning work has been seen on Quilt Out Loud), and Eleanor herself.

Basket Goes Bonkers (21" x 39"), designed and made by Eleanor Levie

Basket Goes Bonkers (21″ x 39″), designed and made by Eleanor Levie

The result is a 64-page joyride of a book, brimming with clear, easy-to-follow instructions (and over 125 step-by-step photos) for 10 fabulous projects, ranging from a lap quilt to wallhangings, pillows, totes, a tablerunner…even a potholder to practice on.

Heart of Bold tote (13 1/2" x 14" x 3 1/2" deep), designed and made by Elizabeth Rosenberg

Heart of Bold tote (13 1/2″ x 14″ x 3 1/2″ deep), designed and made by Elizabeth Rosenberg

Tips and suggestions for creative play abound, including design exercises called “playbooks,” which encourage experimentation and variation, and a full page devoted to practical ideas for creating and working on a design wall.

Squares Out of Square (42" x 62"), designed and made by Karla Alexander

Squares Out of Square (42″ x 62″), designed and made by Karla Alexander

There’s a healthy basics section for newbies, and–for those who prefer to get their toes wet before diving in head first!–some of the blocks even include full-sized pattern pieces to get you started.

Log Cabin/Split Level tablerunner (12 1/2" x 64 3/4"), designed and made by Pam Dinndorf--one of the projects that includes pattern pieces, if you are so inclined

Log Cabin/Split Level tablerunner (12 1/2″ x 64 3/4″), designed and made by Pam Dinndorf–one of the projects that includes pattern pieces, if you are so inclined

So, would you like to step outside the box and tackle a “wild” project or two? Leave a comment by midnight (PDT), February 13, and you’ll be entered in a random drawing for a copy of Quilt Blocks Go Wild!, donated (and autographed) by Eleanor the Celebrity Wrangler. I’ll announce the winner in my post on February 15.

Author (and free spirit!) Eleanor Levie

Author (and free spirit!) Eleanor Levie

‘Til next time, happy stitching!Darra-signature

PS:  Click here to read my October 2011 post about Malka Dubrawsky.

This entry was posted in Blocks, Books & Products, Giveaways and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to “Quilt Blocks Go Wild!”–Fun & Funky Improv Projects from Six Favorite Designers (Giveaway!)

  1. Pingback: This Just In: Baby Born, Quilt Finished, Mystery Solved! (+ a Giveaway) |

  2. Pingback: For Valentine’s Day and Beyond: Capture Mementos (and Memories) with a Nostalgic “Pocket” Pillow |

  3. Anne-Marie B. says:

    I would love to make the tablerunner! Thanks for a chance to win this colourful book!

  4. Pamela Rice says:

    Please enter me in your drawing. Thanks.

  5. Judy, SC says:

    Looked at pictures again and really, really want to do the ‘Baskets Going Bonkers’. Knew there was a reason bought all those pieces of rick-rack at Mary-Jo’s.

  6. Judy, SC says:

    Love the looks of this book. Recently have been back to working on traditional using reproduction fabrics, of course, with some others mixed in. Even my scrap quilts have had a more controlled look. I think I’m ready to break out again and this book could be just the thing. Besides need to use some of these bright fabrics on shelves that are calling to me again.

  7. Deborah M says:

    sure…I’m always game for new approaches!

  8. Barbara says:

    From some one that suffers from SAD. The colors are wonderfull for this light deprived brain…thank you for the color and sparkle…you made me so happy today

  9. Elaine T says:

    Even the photos shared give this winter-worn woman a kick towards spring! Thanks for the inspiration. I’d be delighted to receive this book. BTW, I also loved the “lemon” fabric; thanks for the research reference.

  10. Beth C. says:

    I’ve dabbled a little at improv quilting but would love to win this book to take more of a plunge! Thanks for a chance to win.
    Beth in AL

  11. Luci says:

    What a fun, fun book. I would love to try some of the projects.

  12. Donna W says:

    This is “way” out of my box! But, at my age, it is about time I try it. Would love to win this book.

  13. Shirley Schmeyer says:

    I love the crazy patterns in this books. I would love to try several of them. The colors that are shown are a new way of looking outside the box.

  14. capmapblog says:

    Such great “think out of the box projects”. For our new fiber art group.

  15. Janet says:

    Need to definitely step outside the box and try something fun and delightful. Love the bright and happy projects and would absolutely love to win “Quilt Blocks Go Wild”!

  16. Debbie says:

    I would love to try improv quilting! As a coach for Odyssey of the Mind for 15 years, I know all about out of the box thinking!

  17. Judy says:

    I would love to have a copy of Quilts Blocks Go Wild. It is exciting to think of all the fun projects I could be inspired to make. Please enter me.
    Judy

  18. folksmith says:

    OMG, i love your quilts. Can’t wait to see the book.

  19. Carol Trail says:

    Love, love, love the colors and slightly whacky blocks. Fits my personality perfectly. I’d love to incorporate these projects into my home!

  20. Candy says:

    Wow this is just what I need to move me out of my comfort zone into a whole new world. I would love to try the square out of square and the tablerunner. Thanks for telling us about this new book.

  21. goonyburd says:

    I’d love to make a “wild” project for my new d-i-l!

  22. Sandy says:

    Wild and colorful! I’d love the book!

  23. Dee Reip says:

    Love the “wild blocks” ! Thanks for the chance to win.

  24. zette risacher says:

    thanks for the chance to have something so wonderful for free

  25. Kris says:

    These projects look like so much fun. I love to do improv quilting to relax and get rid of stress.

  26. Mrs Gnome says:

    Love that “hat” free spirit!! I too love that table runner, that would look perfect on my new timber table in Australia, the colours are divine. Not the type of book you would just leave on the bookshelf! Well done!!

  27. Annie richardson says:

    I would love to try modern quilting. The book would jumpstart my efforts. Thanks

  28. Duane Wiley says:

    I like things on the wild side so I would love to sin this book. Everything looked amazing! Thanks for the opportunity.

  29. Carol Barringer says:

    I made a skewed log cabin that I loved; it was years ago, perhaps when “Liberated Quilting” first came out. More recently I’ve tried “wonky” several times and have been unhappy with the results. Maybe I need some guidance from this book?

  30. Mar says:

    I’m also a fan of the table runner. SO fun.

  31. Heather J says:

    Love the title of the book and the square out of square quilt.

  32. Peg Jacobs says:

    I have been out of quilting for about 8 years, and this just might get me moving again! What a wonderful gathering of colors and out of the box design!

  33. Wendy van Haastregt says:

    Oh dear! I think I’m in love. This is my new favourite technique.

  34. Tanya says:

    I’m yet to try improv piecing but would love to give it a try…..
    Thanks for the giveaway :-)

  35. Anita D says:

    What a wonderful book. Just finished a traditional Log Cabin and would love to try that table runner.

  36. rustyavenger says:

    Very cool looking book! I especially like the Log Cabin/Split Level pattern and the Squares out of Square!

  37. mjkasz says:

    I lovee the idea of traditional going modern and wonky in this book. So bright and cheerful!

  38. Shari Deju says:

    I love this book. It’s got such bright cheerful quilts in it.

  39. merriejo says:

    Wow! This looks like my kind of book. Love the liberated, wonky look. Thanks for the giveaway!

  40. Brenda Cornell says:

    I would love to win a copy of this book. It might just shake me out of my very traditional quilting.

  41. Terry says:

    What fun projects…I’d love to step outside the box and give some of them a try…especially the Log Cabin/Split Level tablerunner!!! Thanks for the sweet giveaway :)

  42. Ssgirl says:

    Love, love, love the purple and lemon table runner! And what is that fabric that looks like slices of lemons??

    • eleanorlevie says:

      It’s Eleanor Levie, Ssgirl. I think that fabric is a Brandon Mably design (part of the Kaffe Fassett collective)–on GloriousColor.com…

    • Darra Williamson says:

      Hi Ssgirl, I’ve also been on the trail of that fabric and came up with a different lead. Try checking Malka D’s first line for Moda Fabrics, a stitch in dye. If it’s not the same, it’s very similar. (Thanks, Eleanor, for helping out here.) Darra

    • Darra Williamson says:

      SSgirl, Eleanor is correct. I just found the fabric. It’s a Brandon Mably, in his Macaroni series, color: Mustard. We aim to please ;-) Darra

  43. Lois says:

    Yes, this style of construction is something I have wanted to try. I would love to win this book!

  44. MargaretFritz says:

    I have been spending time recently “letting go” exploring scrap quilts. It IS fun and these block designs look inviting for scrap quilting to show off the beautiful fabrics of various great colors, textures and design. We are so fortunate to benefit from creative minds sharing with the fun of quilting! Thank you Malka Dubrawsky!

  45. Wow, full of my favorite quilters! And the color–yay!

  46. Jill Schlageter says:

    Looks like fun! I have been wanting to play with these kinds of projects!

  47. Vicki H says:

    Looks like so much fun. I would love a copy of the book. Thanks for the chance.

  48. Candy says:

    Looks like lots of fun and colorfull projects!

  49. Shar says:

    These quilt are fantastic! I need this book!

  50. Connie says:

    I would love to win this book….lots of great projects! Thanks!!!!

  51. Deborah says:

    The colors alone are just so exciting – then the crazy piecing! Wow – really inspiring! Thanks for this give-away.
    Deb

  52. Brenda says:

    it looks like a fun book. I’d love to win it.

  53. Libby says:

    I need some hand holding to give this a try! Malka Dubrawski is awesome.

  54. Peggy O'Connor says:

    The book and projects look like so much fun! Thanks for a chance to win!!!

  55. OMG – these projects look like so much fun! Love the vibrant colors! Count me in!!

  56. Penny says:

    Gorgeous projects!

  57. Sheryl Jones says:

    These projects look like a fun step away from traditional. Thanks for a chance to win.

  58. Debbie M says:

    Wild designs and colors! Thanks for counting me in.

  59. JillB says:

    This all looks like such fun! Please, please let me win!

  60. mrsmoore says:

    The book really does look like exuberant inspiration!

  61. Julie Sawyer says:

    That tablerunner is gorgeous!

  62. Evelyn O'Brien says:

    beautiful funky projects!

Leave a Reply

