A Scraptastic Quilting Adventure + A Kaffe Fassett Giveaway Today!

A springtime posy to enjoy.
A springtime posy of magenta anemones, bicolor tulips, freesia, ranunculus, grape hyacinth, and alyssum.

Giveaway-GoldApparently, I’m all about my own quilting updates lately. This post? Same old, same old. You are, after all, visiting a blog called See How We Sew—we’ve got to show our handiwork sometimes . . . The fun part of this week’s post is that I get to invite someone along on my Kaffe Fassett ride! His U.S. publisher, TheTaunton Press, is offering a giveaway of one of Kaffe’s latest titles—see details below.

Inspiration-J:  UFO boxes stacked

Remember my Year of Finishing posts? It turns out that my hope for a single year effort is morphing into a multi-year, multi-pronged campaign: I’m finishing UFO’s and reducing my stash. Last October, I found a fun stash-busting project at Back Porch Fabrics and decided I’d jump in with scrap fabrics. Well, as one thing inevitably leads to another, bigger thing, I also decided to tackle a foundering Kaffe Fassett project from Kaffe Fassett’s Quilt Road. I figured if I finished that one first, then I could use the excessive number of leftover strips to fund the scrappy quilt. Makes sense, right? Start a new quilt, finish two? Just means more quilted love to spread around!

A harvest of hexies for “My Fair Lady” from Kaffe Fassett’s Quilt Road.

I confess, scrappy, stash-busting quilts present their own particular torments to me. It’s easy to get lost and stymied by too many fabric choices. I started Kaffe’s My Fair Lady with a few themed fabrics that I adored and then proceeded to design myself into a corner with hexagons that were overwhelming with saturated color or print.

Book-J:  Kaffe Fassett's Quilt RoadThe trial layouts were so ghastly I scooped up my hexies and stuffed them in a plastic box for storage. The funny thing is that when I lifted the lid a few weeks ago to restart the project, I amazed myself by selecting some very nice strip combos for the hexagons. Well, it seems that time is a healer indeed. What’s more, I only needed to make seven strip sets to finish the quilt top!

Even armed with my redeeming hexies, I faced the challenge of getting the weirdos and the pretty ones to play together in the quilt layout. The first draft was HIDEOUS! I could not achieve an effective distribution of the strong and weak ones. I ended up with cabals of saturated colors, repeats of strong prints, and dominating stripes. Every time I walked by my living room (my quilts-in-the-making live on the floor by my sofa) I kept getting sucked into weird games of hexie tic-tac-toe.

Block-J:  Kaffe Fassett My Fair Lady Hexagon

Tired of the madness, I pulled up the hexagons; sorted them into categories by color, pattern, value; and distributed them into seven piles—i.e. the number of rows in the quilt. Bingo! That was the key to dispersing the troublemakers. I don’t know why I didn’t do that in the first place. You’d think I’d listen to my own scrappy quilt-making mantra: random acts of randomness. Gotta admit I hijacked: “practice random acts of kindness.” Yeah, well, it’s not the most eloquent adaptation, but chanting it in my head does help me when I want a scattered pattern.

Giveaway Details Check Here!

Amidst this project I discovered a new Kaffe book that re-explores past designs with brand new colorways and prints. Lo and behold, the book includes a redo of My Fair Lady! Luckily for SHWS readers, The Taunton Press would like to share that Kaffe Fassett wonderfulness with us. So, to enter the random drawing, leave me a comment answering the following question:  What’s your fave Kaffe thrill? His fabric, patterns, or both? It’s another quickie contest so leave your comment by Thursday, March 21 and I will announce a winner in my upcoming Friday post.  Good luck!

Book-J:  Kaffe Quilts Again

I’m almost finished with my version of My Fair Lady and, after a rocky start, it’s turning out to be much prettier than I expected. As a bonus, the unfinished quilt top is fun fodder for digital camera experiments. Lurid and wonderful stained glass effects resulted when I photographed the reverse side against strong natural light (and a little too much wind) using a Super Vivid camera option.

Sometimes the backside, shot against strong light, is  even better than the front.

See ya Friday with a giveaway winner, J-Signature

103 thoughts on “A Scraptastic Quilting Adventure + A Kaffe Fassett Giveaway Today!

  1. Oh my word….your quilt is absolutely brilliant! I fell in love with Kaffe’s and his fabrics the moment I met him in PA several years ago. The colors and designs stir something deep within me and I feel deep joy.

    Like

  2. I have a number of Kaffe fabrics saved in a bin to make a quilt with his fabrics. I had the opportunity to see him speak about his work a few years ago. He signed some books afterwards- I asked him if there could ever be too much color and his answer was definitely no-
    I have not seen this book but I am sure it is a fabulous collection. Thanks for hosting the giveaway.
    Regards from Snowy Alberta,
    Anna

    Like

  3. I’d have to say both, because I love how his basically traditional (and much loved) patterns take on a new life when made with his blast of fabrics! (I love your stained glass effect photo!!!!)

    Like

  4. me gusta Kaffe pero confieso que me asusta un poco el manejo de sus colores, son apasionados y vibrantes, es un maestro del cual siempre se debe aprender. Gracias por tus enseñanzas.

    Like

    1. Le agradezco su comentario Virgin. Si, las telas son dificil pero son deliciosos cuando combinan. No hay reglas, pero si usa colores similaries usted debe tener buen suceso. (Perdoname–hace mucho tiempo que escribo en espanol.)

      Like

  5. I love all the colors in your quilt as well as all the colors Kaffe puts into the quilts in his books. Since today is my birthday, winning his book would be a great present!

    Like

    1. I wish you the very best birthday today, Sandy–and good luck as well with the giveaway. No promises cuz it’s a random drawing!

      Like

  6. Ooh, the luscious fabrics….but also the way Kaffe uses them in his quilts. First great niece was gifted with baby quilt made from his fabrics.

    Like

  7. I have that quilt on my bucket list – the one that will really. really get done some day. Love the shot of it backlit!!!!!

    Like

    1. Thank you for the kind words Sheppard. I too love the backlit shot of the quilt plus the Super Vivid option on my camera (and I appreciate all the love about the photo from comments–thanks!). It’s truly like a stained glass window and very unexpected art for a casual photo.

      Like

  8. I love your quilt, so happy you finished it. I love the way Kaffe has opened up the world of pattern and color in the quilting world. I love his style, fabric, and patterns.

    Like

  9. I love the bright colors of his fabrics and the way prints are used together. The pattern ideas are also amazing. I like your blog too. Thanks

    Like

  10. I love the fabrics! My favorite quilt shop has a whole room display of his fabrics. I like to just browse all the “eye candy” and pick one for my stash. It’s especially enjoyable during our cold winter months to surround myself with all the colors and dream of my flower garden waiting to awaken in the spring.

    Like

  11. I love his fabrics for sure! I’ve been working on a bordered diamonds and have it ready to quilt and I’m so excited to have it almost finished. Love the hex quilt great colors!
    LauraT

    Like

  12. Love the fabrics! And some of his designs, especially his work with stripes. If I win this book, it will be donated to my Guild library.

    Like

  13. I really love his fabric but with a income of less than 350.00 monthly disability i just cannot afford any. If i won i could at least drool over the book. Lol

    Like

  14. I recently bought my first bundle of Kaffe fabric and I am scared to death to try and put them together, just so much color and pattern but I love, love, love the fabric and all the quilts I see made with them. I need help and hopefully the book would do the trick. I will definitely look for it at the quilt store……..marilyn

    Like

  15. I like his fabrics, however, I enjoy them in moderation. I especially love them in borders. Thanks for the opportunity to win.

    Like

  16. Kaffe met du pep dans notre temps triste de cette fin d’hiver, un regard sur un des ses tissus, et le soleil semet à brille

    Like

  17. I love his use of colors, from the knitting patterns that I first saw when I was still living in Germany to the quilting fabrics of today.

    Like

  18. The K Fasset books and fabrics are such a cheery lift in the NW dreary season that lasts10 months…I love playing with the combinations!

    Like

  19. I have to say, it is the color and fabric. I have collected a whole tub and haven’t started a thing with them yet …hummmm

    Like

  20. I love Kaffe Fasset fabrics because they ALL always go together. It absolutely stymies me sometimes to see what works and the serendipity results. So many colors. So many hues. So many designs – and yet so much cohesion!

    Like

  21. Love Kaffe, Have made several quilt with Kaffe books. Have lots of fabrics, save all my scraps and looking for something to put all my scraps in. Would love this book. Thank you for this post.

    Like

  22. I love Kaffe and his crew… The brilliant saturated colors make me so happy. I’d love to get my hands on this book. (I’ve checked it out from our guild library…and hated having to return it!) Your quilt looks wonderful.

    Like

  23. Your quilt squares are beautiful! I love Kaffe’s fabrics for their beautiful colors and patterns. He has a wonderful way of designing with them. I would really LOVE to have his book!

    Like

  24. Kaffe’s fabric and colors are my favorite. I have several pieces with the “dots” or spots prhaint in different colors. Thanks for the post about the new book and the chance to win one.

    Like

  25. Aloha Jennifer! Looks like it’s time for me to tame the stack of Kaffe’s in my collection. Your quilt would look great with the concentric circle quilting pattern. Thanks, as always, for the inspiration!

    Like

  26. As a person who only likes three colors in a quilt, i have really branched out with Kaffe fabrics. Have finished 6 quilts using Kaffe fabrics. Colors and stripes drew me in. His fabrics can make a simple design look complicated. Love them!

    Like

  27. Welll….I absolutely LOVE his fabrics. I’ve been collecting a bunch of fat quarters and charm squares, even a few pieces of yardage for the Lollypop Trees quilt I want to do. I have the pattern…those fab fabrics…but I can’t settle on what to use for the backgrounds. But I’m really drawn to some of Kaffe’s patterns too, so those will probably be in my future! ;-)

    Like

  28. Wow, that is a fantastic quilt!! I’ve never seen one like it!! I’m fairly new to quilting and so love the joy of new discovery! Great post!!

    Like

  29. Whenever I come up on a picture of a quilt made of Kaffe fabrics, it just inspires me – those fabrics take my breath away!

    Like

  30. Kaffe’s fabrics and patterns are wonderful. I am working on quilting the huge Sampler quilt from Quilts from the V&A Museum now – doing it in blues, purples, pinks. I love this pattern so much (NOT your typical sampler pattern!) that I may do it in neutrals too someday.

    Like

  31. Would love to win the giveaway. I clinked on the link above but nothing happens so not sure how to enter. Have a great day everyone! Happy Quilting

    Like

  32. I love his fabric. I just bought 4 yards and have no idea what I will make . A little dissapointed that the yummiest of all fabrics were sold out.

    Like

  33. I love it when my local discount fabric store gets some Kaffe Fassett. That means I can buy a bunch to use as quilt backs, which I love to do.

    Like

  34. Oh, most definitely, it’s *both* Kaffe’s fabrics AND patterns!! So delicious!!
    Jennifer, *Thank you* for sharing your process, with your quilt!…. This is just the “randomness” reminder help I need in solving a problem I’m having with one I have!
    SO looking forward to seeing your My Fair Lady finished!! Looking awesome!!

    Like

  35. All things Kaffe – beautiful – coordinated – richly colored. The colors in his fabrics are so rich and unlike any others.

    Like

  36. What first drew me irresistibly and passionately to Kaffe’s quilts a decade ago was the simplicity of the pattern combined with the overwhelmingly luxurious color riot of the fabrics. Since then, I have bought three of his books, have even taken a class with him, and have two Kaffe quilts under my belt. I would love to own his new book! What an inspiration he is! Love your hexagons…and look at those awesome seams and careful construction!

    Like

  37. I am currently in love with doing Kaffe-like quilts so I really enjoyed your post and the pictures of your beautiful quilt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

