Introducing Reverse-a-Rulers™, Grrrip-It® and a Giveaway

For the past 2 years, I have had the pleasure of working with Richard Quint of Quint Measuring Systems to develop a new line of rulers for the quilting and sewing industry. Richard’s company has been a leading manufacturer of precision measuring tools since 1995. Since I have always been a stickler for accuracy, this collaboration was a good match for me. When Richard approached me to help with this project, I immediately said that I had pretty high standards and specific requirements for a tool that I would be willing to promote.

rulers

I am pleased to say that Richard has provided everything I asked for in this new line of Reverse-a-Rule™ rulers.

1.     Accurate markings with thin and consistent line widths, and clear spaces between the lines for easy placement of the edges of cut strips and shapes assist with accurate cutting.

right cutting

left cutting

2.     All rulers are designed and marked for both right-handed and left-handed cutters.

 

3.     All rulers are marked with black lines on one side for use with light-colored fabrics, and yellow lines on the opposite side for use with dark-colored fabrics.

2 Black & Yellow together

4.     All corners have a slight curve to prevent nicking rotary-cutting blades while cutting.

5.     Rulers are made from polycarbonate rather than acrylic so they will not break, chip, or crack.

6.     All markings are hot stamped rather than applied with the normal screen-printing process so that markings will not rub or wear off over time.

7. Rulers are made in a variety of useful sizes for both cutting and squaring up finished units and blocks. Squaring rulers include 45-degree-angle markings, and all cutting rulers are marked with both 45- and 60-degree-angle lines.

8. New GRRIP-IT® adhesive attaches to any rulers to prevent slipping. Grrrip-It

I am excited that several of the major distributors have picked up on these rulers, so hopefully you will be able to find them in your local shops very soon. I always encourage you to support your locals first, but if you are not able to find them, I have some available on my website and will be happy to help you.

1-Giveaway IconMy two favorite sizes so far are the 6″ x 14″ cutting ruler and the 6-1/2″ x 6-1/2″ squaring ruler. I would love to offer both of these to one of our readers, along with a package of Grrrip-It®. If you are interested in putting your name in the hat, simply leave a comment by end of day May 15th telling me why you would like these new products, and I will announce the winner in my next post on May 21st.

Happy creating everyone!

L1-Signature

122 thoughts on “Introducing Reverse-a-Rulers™, Grrrip-It® and a Giveaway

  1. The different colored lines are a great idea for different colored fabrics. I’ve often thought that I could use grippers on my rulers, just never followed up on it!

    Like

  2. What a wonderful idea, it amazes me what we can come up with when we put the users with the makers. How long before they arrive in the Australian Shops. They would be a great addition to any Quilter’s Ruler Rack or a great way to start.out. See you on Craftsy BOM I am learning so much. Thank You.

    Like

  3. I have come back to sewing after running a guest ranch for 20 years. It is amazing all the wonderful tools there are. I am a considerable distance (3 hours) from Denver so aquiring things on line is sometimes necessary for me.

    Like

  4. I love that the rulers will not break, chip, or crack. And how many of us have suffered with trying to use a ruler with black lines on a dark or even black fabric? How great to have light and dark fabric markings on a ruler. I think it’s great that they are intended for right or left hand rulers. I have a friend who bought scissors for her step daughter who was learning to sew and brought the incorrect handedness. She kept them for herself and repurchased before gifting to the step daughter. I have problem with rulers slipping and I get frustrated. I’ve tried “grippers” and have just been frustrated. Thanks for the giveaway. BTW – great job on the Craftsy Block of the Month, so these have to be superb for you to endorse them.

    Like

  5. These rulers are quite a step up from the cracked hand-me-down quilting ruler I have been working to get by with! So fancy!

    Like

  6. Phenomenal idea to have the two colors in one ruler – looking forward to more sizes such as 6 1/2″ x 24″ and 12 1/2″ square maybe?

    Like

  7. Is there such a thing as a ruler addiction? I have all sizes and shapes, but I love to try new ones as they come out! Two-sided rulers sound great! I’d love to win!

    Like

  8. Nice thin lines! I love the idea of black on one side and yellow on the other. Just when you think you have all the rulers you need….

    Like

  9. I would love to try these, (especially the Grrrip-It!) I’m the worst cutter!! I love precise corners and right angles but I can’t seem to purposefully make them without elaborate templates. :(

    Like

  10. oops, seems that I left my comment on the wrong page…glad I found this one! I would love to have these new tools…The ruler looks fabulous and having the Grip-it would be so helpful.

    Like

  11. I would love to try these rulers and the grrrip-it. I just heard your tip about being careful not to nick your blade with the corner of a ruler. I think I’ve done that! Ill be more careful now! Thanks for the give-away!

    Like

  12. I would love to try a ruler that was designed not to chip and to help you trim accurately on both light and dark fabric…..Brilliant!

    Like

  13. I would love to be in for a chance to win these rulers, my reason for wanting them is that my current rulers are going to need replacing soon as the markings are disappearing :(

    Like

  14. Rulers marked for us left handed cutters? Genious! The other features sound great, too, but I have never seen any left handed quilting tool before!

    Like

  15. Rulers with markings to show up on both light and dark materials sounds wonderful! I’d love to have them. Thanks for the offer.

    Like

  16. Being visually impaired, I’m always looking for “better and easier to see” markings on rulers. This looks like the answer!! I would love these rulers.

    Like

  17. I have several makes and models of rulers with purchased rubber dots or sandpaper strips, hoping each new purchase would allow precise cutting + no slipping on light or dark fabrics. It appears these Reverse-a-Rule Rulers would fit my “wish” list with the addition of the GRRIP IT adhesives. Clever design with polycarbonate, heat pressed and reversible– I am excited to check these out!

    Like

  18. How clever to use light and dark lines for assorted fabric colours. Just when I thought I was finished looking for new items to buy…

    Like

  19. I just love a man who listens to a woman! Markings for both light and dark fabrics – genius – and heat stamped is a brilliant bonus. It really is the simple things in life. Thank you for reducing our frustration.

    Like

    1. Oh Syndy, you make me laugh!. Actually, the two-sidede feature and heat stamping was Richard’s idea. We worked together to fine-tune the design. But yes, for me it’s the simple details that make a difference. Thanks for taking time to stop in and share your thoughts.

      Like

  20. I’m always looking for something new in rulers. The Grrrip-It would be ideal for me as I always have difficulty getting a ruler to stay in place. I would enjoy winning. Joan

    Like

  21. I cannot for the life of me ever hold a ruler in place while cutting. It always seems to slip. So, the Grip-it stuff looks like it could save several cuttings from my scrap pile. I love the idea of light lines on one side and dark on the other! Also like the concept of spaces between lines so it is easier to line up fabric accurately!

    Like

  22. I’ve been thinking about getting some new rulers as mine are such a mishmash of companies. These look like a good line to try.

    Like

  23. These rulers sound like a perfect answer to many problems with rulers. I love that the corners will not nick, and a major issue is the numbers rubbing off!!! Sounds like you have a great product.

    Like

  24. I am always on the look out for tools that will help me be a better quilter. The combination of light and dark in the rulers, I think will be just perfect. I can see where these rulers could be invaluable to those of us with eyesight issues. I’m always searching for things that will help, with Glucoma I spend a lot of my time checking and triple checking before I make any cut, and scrutinizing my piecing diligently. I’ll be sure to mention these to my LQS owner on my next visit.

    Like

  25. First, I am so impressed with your lessons with the Block of the Month. I am a seasoned quilter, but not a great quilter! I’m learning more and more to SQUARE UP before I continue! What a difference it makes. I would love to try these rulers. I have had two brain tumors. One has left me with seizures. They are controlled. However, I still have shaking issues with my right hand. I get my ruler all lined up and I manage to move it over and over! I have also had nerve damage and I can’t hold on to things easily. The second tumor has left me with loss of hearing and balance issues. It would be so awesome to have a ruler stay in place. Both rulers sound like winners to me! I am looking forward to soon finding them in a quilt shop. Thank you for your great lessons.

    Like

  26. Laura would be a perfect addition to my sewing room. Seriously , my rulers are so old. I need to replace them. I will check out my LQS for these. Thanks for the information. It is always so nice to hear what someone in the industry is using and why. Thanks for your enlighten post.

    Like

  27. These new rulers sound wonderful. I certainly would love to win them. My old ones are so nicked and worn after all these years of quilting.

    Like

  28. What perfect rulers! I am so glad you are a stickler for accuracy. These would be a big help for those of us that have problems with accuracy. Just finished my March blocks and tomorrow I will start on April’s blocks. Your class is very helpful to me. Thanks.

    Like

  29. I am eager to try these products! I hate it when the corner of a ruler catches my blade, and it always seems to happen to a NEW blade. I love the dark/light lines for different fabrics as I am starting to have some trouble with dark fabrics. Thanks for guiding this manufacturer to produce “perfect” rulers!

    Like

  30. I would love to try out these products because I am working on a quilt with dark colors and have trouble seeing the lines on the rulers I have. And I need the grrrip it because my rulers slip on me all the time and I end up with odd shapes on the ends of my pieces. :)

    Like

  31. I think the space between the lines is a great idea in the search for accuracy, and the black on one side, yellow on the other will be great. I’m glad to hear about the corners – I finally have gotten smart and use a part of my rulers NOT at the corner whenever possible. I’m going to have to try the grrrip it – as I age I’m losing MY grip in more ways than one!!!

    Like

  32. Wow, these rulers and grips would be just the trick to help me cut accurately (the first time)! Love the versatility of the rulers. Would love to win. Thanks

    Like

  33. I would love these for 2 reasons. One, they don’t crack and Two, the 2-color marking to be used with any color fabric.

    Like

  34. Anything to make rotary cutting easier not only on my eyes but on my blades is a good thing…If I don’t win this, I will definitely have to buy them…

    Like

  35. this looks like a great ruler esp. the rounded corners…I have nicked all my rulers and then the cutting is off….would love to receive them!

    Like

  36. I am just getting back into sewing and crafting after several years and donated my rulers and cutting mats to a local church sewing group. I am looking for new rulers and these sure fit the bill.
    Gripp it sounds like something I could use too. Thanks to you and the powers that be for offering theses wonder items in your giveaway!

    Like

  37. Love the idea of being able to reverse the ruler depending on the color of fabric you are working with. Also, I have clipped the corner of more than one ruler and ruined the blade of my rotary cutter. Would love to have this set.

    Like

  38. These rulers sound wonderful. Light and dark lines, curved corners and won’t slip, —- what more could a quilter ask for?

    Like

  39. Hi Laura. Good work! Can hardly wait to find these rulers and give them a try. Always love knowing what you’re up to these days.

    Like

  40. what an amazing feat to be able to create a new product that will outdo the existing rulers that we all thought were great. unfortunately, i am always in a hurry cutting out the quilt, so these rulers with easier readability should “cut” down on the errors! i’ll look for them in the quilts stores.

    Like

  41. Hi Laura! As a beginner quilter, having a ruler that helps me cut more accurately is high on my list of necessities! Can’t wait to try one!!

    Like

  42. Oh, my, light and dark on one ruler? That’s a dream come true – how many times I am in the middle of cutting and can’t find the lines – and I am too involved to find something else instead of just moving my face down to six inches of my cutting. Great move!! Also like the curved edges -
    I am guilty big time of nicking!! Thanks for the chance, Laura!!

    Like

  43. I have difficulty leaving a fabric store with my hands empty! I can browse for hours at a wall full of gadgets. I am all about the ‘right’ tools, and I am always on the lookout for THE VERY best. I think I have found them … right here on your blog! Nice job, Laura!

    Like

  44. You absolutely CANNOT beat having the best tools available. They cut down on the “work” (and frustration) and are worth every single penny (or dollar, as the case may be).

    Like

  45. I have a couple rulers and I have difficulty reading the measurements on them. I have to have several lights on or have reading glasses on. these look like they are very clear to use!

    Like

  46. I have acquired a great respect for cutting accuracy as I am developing my quilting skills. I am always searching for a better ruler which reduces the built-in inaccuracy of cutting your own pieces. Thanks for developing these rules, which should greatly increase my accuracy and my frustration at the machine as I push and stretch and remeasure, attempting to be true to my design. And the grippers are so enticing as a means to replace all my canned goods that I am currently using to stabilize my ruler as I cut.

    Like

    1. I would love to win the new rulers. I’m all about gadgets to make perfect blocks! These look fantastic. I like Creative Grid rulers but would love to give these a try.

      Like

  47. I cannot possibly describe the disasters I am responsible for due to a lack of measuring or cutting correctly! These rulers and the grips look just the thing to turn my disasters into things of beauty.

    Like

  48. I’m right handed, my daughter–who likes to help with some quilt projects–is left handed. These two sided rulers would help us continue to sew–side by side!
    Thanks for offering and for the great ideas.

    Like

  49. With your expertise, experience, and this company’s standards these new rulers will become “must haves”. I can just see lefties sharing with righties and I sure want them! Thanks for the opportunity with this giveaway.

    Like

  50. Laura, how wonderful of you to create and offer us these rulers. I have several eye problems and have to constantly re-focus on my rulers and fabric before cutting. Your rulers sound like they will help me “see” better. Who could ask for anything more? Thanks so much!

    Like

  51. As a lefty and someone with senior eyes thank you, thank you for the new rulers. I can’t wait
    to give them a try! I would love to win these! Thanks again.

    Like

  52. I’d love to try new rulers! I like Creative Grids however it seems their “advertising” is always located in the wrong place and I can’t see if the fabric is lined up correctly. The light and dark markings on one ruler is a wonderful idea.

    Like

  53. I like the two sided feature and the curved corners. Sometimes I find I am not accurate when rotary cutting…these rulers should help. Thanks for the chance to win. Good luck to all.

    Like

  54. I like several things: the two-sided feature, the materials, and the curved edge, because I always seem to be chipping off pieces of my favourite rulers. thanks for the chance!

    Like

  55. I would love to own these new rulers! I love the idea of light lines on one side and dark on the other! Also like the concept of spaces between lines so it is easier to line up fabric accurately! Never have used Grrip-It! but it sounds wonderful – especially when cutting long strips of fabric – the ruler always seems to slip just a bit! I would love to win these!!!

    Like

  56. There are a couple reasons why I would love to win these rulers. The curved corners are an excellent idea and also the rulers being marked with black lines on one side for light-colored fabrics, and yellow lines on the opposite side for dark-colored fabrics. Some of the rulers I currently have the lines are two wide on them and hard to get an accurate cut. Thanks for a great new product!

    Like

  57. Two big reasons why I would love to have these rulers – one, the rounded corners (why hasn’t this been done before?) and two, the two color marking, one on each side! Yea for you for recognizing a need and providing the answer!

    Like

  58. The lighting in my “sewing room” is not the best (plus, I need to pick up a couple new rulers because mine have about worn out)–these would be the perfect solution for light and dark fabrics.

    Like

  59. What a pain to have to buy rulers for light color fabrics and others for darks. Great idea to make them reversible. And being a longarm quilter, I’m always fighting to keep my template rulers steady, so I’m definitely going to look for the Grrrip-It! Would love to win some :-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

