New Quilts –and Other Updates–from Previous Darra Posts (and a Giveaway)

1-Giveaway IconIt’s hard to believe that by early next week, the first half of 2013 will be history. (Wait!? Didn’t we just take down the holiday decorations?) On the plus side: the halfway mark seems a good time to update you on a few of my previous posts with news and new quilt photos. Here goes:

The popular Edyta Sitar of Laundry Basket Quilts

The popular Edyta Sitar of Laundry Basket Quilts

Update #1: One of the quilts that inspired my recent two-part post (April 9 and April 12) on the zigzag or streak of lightning set (and that encouraged me to finish my own in-progress, zigzag-set Churn Dash quilt top), was a quilt I spotted on Pinterest. It was designed by Edyta Sitar, of Laundry Basket Quilts, and I fell in love with its dainty 3 1/2″ Basket blocks and zigzags in alternating colors. I intended to contact Edyta for permission to include it in my posts, but Last-Minute LuLu that I am, I cut my deadline too close. Still, I couldn’t get that quilt out of my mind.

After playing a bit of email tag, Edyta and I did finally connect, and she’s pleased to share her quilt with our See How We Sew readers. Little Baskets is an outstanding example of my favorite set from one of today’s most popular and talented designers.

Little Baskets by Edyta Sitar/Laundry Basket Quilts

Little Baskets by Edyta Sitar/Laundry Basket Quilts

The story doesn’t end there. Little Baskets is available as a pattern, and we’ll be giving one away to a lucky SHWS reader. Leave a comment by noon Thursday, June 27, telling why you’d like to add this pattern to your library and we’ll announce a winner in our Friday, June 28 post.

Cuddle Me Quick coverUpdate #2: Last September, I posted a “sneak peek” of Rubber Duckies, one of 11 baby-quilt patterns in the book, Cuddle Me Quick, which I co-authored with my friend, Chris Porter. Recently, in need of a quilt to welcome a friend’s newborn daughter, Chris remade Duckies, switching out the blues and blue greens of my original for a sweet pink palette, and introducing gray prints for a very current color scheme. I love it, don’t you?

A pink version of Rubber Duckies, made by Chris Porter from the book, Cuddle Me Quick; photo by Neil Porter

A pink version of Rubber Duckies, made by Chris Porter from the book, Cuddle Me Quick; photo by Neil Porter

Update #3: I’m really excited about this next one! As I write this, the current (August) issue of The Quilt Life magazine is just hitting mailboxes, quilt shops, and newsstands. The theme of this issue is Playtime, and it features an article (on page 40) about my 30-minutes-of-creative-play pledge. The piece includes over a dozen of my little 3″ x 5″ collages (some not seen before in my SHWS posts), and two larger pieces, including one on the table of contents page.

The new (August 2013) issue

The new (August 2013) issue

To complement the article, The Quilt Life is running a simple tutorial via its website that shows you how to make and finish the basic 3″ x 5″ background “canvas.” Here’s the link for the download. Of course, in preparing the step-by-step photos, I needed to make a new collage.

Cherries Jubilee (3" x 5") by Darra Williamson; tutorial on The Quilt Life website

Cherries Jubilee (3″ x 5″) by Darra Williamson; tutorial on The Quilt Life website

I hope you’ll check out both the magazine and the website tute. These little collages are great for trying out new designs and techniques, and can lead to bigger things.

Cattails (7 1/2" x 10") by Darra Williamson; a slightly larger piece inspired by one of my 3" x 5" experiments

Cattails (7 1/2″ x 10″) by Darra Williamson; a slightly larger piece inspired by one of my 3″ x 5″ experiments

Larger still: Sunflowers (7" x 20" approx) by Darra Williamson; private collection

Larger still: Sunflowers (7″ x 20″ approx) by Darra Williamson; private collection

Update #4 (sorta): From time to time, my thoughtful husband emails me an image to brighten the start of my day or week, to make me smile, and/or to inspire or simply delight me. This past Sunday, I found the photo below waiting in my morning email. It was taken in my neighbor’s garden, where the artichokes are flowering. Although not an update on one of my posts, I think it’s a perfect complement to that lovely purple door in Laura’s Friday post. (Plus, purple is my favorite color!)

Cathy's artichoke flower; photo by Brooks Sheifer

Cathy’s artichoke flower; photo by Brooks Sheifer

That’s it for now. ‘Til next time, happy stitching!Darra-signature

This entry was posted in Giveaways, Inspiration, Quilts, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to New Quilts –and Other Updates–from Previous Darra Posts (and a Giveaway)

  1. Pingback: Art Quilts | Marla's Art Page Blog

  2. Pingback: Attention Quilters: Winner Takes All in BIG Mid-Year Giveaway! |

  3. Gwen Marion says:

    I love the “Little Baskets” quilt. I have a lot of scrap fabrics and would love to use this pattern to make my granddaughter a quilt, she has been the flower girl in wedding and has always loved to carry something around in a basket or purse. This pattern would be perfect for her.

  4. Theresa Early says:

    I love the little basket quilt. I have a large collection of fabrics that would be just perfect for this quilt – so now all I need is the pattern!!!!

    Theresa Early

  5. quiltknit says:

    I would love to leave some flowers in the baskets and to play hop-scotch along the Zigzag roads. I am sure many patterns have inspired your Article, with the same thoughts of Stitching Fun!

  6. GG says:

    What a lovely pattern! I Like it in the colors of greens & pinks.

  7. Christine Carter says:

    Baskets are my favorite block–any kind of basket pattern. This quilt is as cute as Edyta is. I took a workshop with her in Paducah and enjoyed it so much. I would love to make this quilt with the baskets and the zigzag setting. It would be nice to curl up under while reading a good book or watchng a good movie!

  8. Kathie L says:

    I love baskets of all kinds, and the combo with the zigzag is wonderful.

  9. Pam O says:

    Wow. Edyta, baskets, zigzags, and Darra. ‘Nuff said!

  10. Heather J says:

    I would love to make a scrappy basket quilt. I love the setting used to set the blocks off.

  11. Love the basket quilt and it would be fun to do with scraps too. Lots of wonderful quilts and I lvoe the duckies. I have a new grandson and have been making him quilts, so fun to do quilts for kids.

    Debbie

  12. Brenda Cornell says:

    I LOVE the setting and the little basket blocks. Even if I don’t win the pattern, I am going to hunt it down and make this quilt.

  13. Deborah says:

    I would love to win the basket pattern – it is one of my favorite blocks, and this one is especially nice. Edyta Sitar is a favorite designer of mine! Thanks-

  14. mjkasz says:

    I love the artichoke bloom picture. Purple is my favorite color also and I really have to control myself when it comes to purchasing purple fabric! Rubber Ducky you’re my friend is so cute.

  15. Donna W says:

    A basket quilt has been in my “bucket” list for so long. This pattern is adorable and I would love to make it.

  16. donna keating says:

    The little baskets and the zigzag setting really floats my boat

  17. I’ve always admired the old basket quilts This is a perfect pattern to combine the old and new.

  18. Susan Paxton says:

    I love the little baskets pattern and would love to try it. I have been in between projects for a little while now and this just hit me as my next project to try. Thanks for your blog…I really learn something every time.

  19. Sherri says:

    I really would like to win the little basket pattern I have always wanted to do one of these qilts I have been quilting for about 5 years and enjoying learning new patterns.

  20. Kim says:

    I love thirties and baskets! What a beautiful quilt this will be in all thirties!!! Love it!!

  21. Congratulations on your publications!!! :)

  22. Mary Ann says:

    Wow!! That artichoke flower is just gorgeous! I have never seen one before. I will definitely be on the hunt for the Quilt Life magazine. Enjoy reading your blog.

  23. Love baskets and the tinier the better! Beautiful pattern.

  24. Jane says:

    Congratulations on the magazine spot! Tried the link for the background download but couldn’t find it. Probably operator error on my part. I’d like to win the Little Baskets pattern because it’s gorgeous & I tend to like everything Edyta does. Thanks!

    • Darra Williamson says:

      Hi Jane, The link should take you to the Patterns page on The Quilt Life site. The instrux for the background download are first on the list, labeled Daily Dose of Fabric “Play.”
      When you click on the link, you may get a query box at the bottom of the screen, asking whether you want to open or save. Make your selection, and you should be good to go. Hope this helps. Have fun! Darra

  25. Cecilia says:

    This pattern would look great made with my 30s fabrics and used as a Wallhanging in my kitchen. I love the colors you used in your quilt.

  26. That zig zag setting is eye-catching. I would love to have some fun with that pile of repro fabrics begging to be used.

  27. cynthia says:

    I’d like to make use of all the repro prints I’ve been collecting!

  28. I am so in love with the “little baskets” quilt. I love the zig zag quilts, but haven’t made one yet! I think this one fits the bill… Scrape pile here I come!

Leave a Reply

