This Just In: Baby Born, Quilt Finished, Mystery Solved! (+ a Giveaway)

1-Giveaway IconI’m a little later than usual getting this Friday post together, but I have a very good reason. I’ve been . . . quilting!

Earlier this summer, I shared photos of a quilt top I had made during my annual quilting getaway with buddies Joen Wolfrom and Alex Anderson. Here’s how it looked then.

Quilt top (36" x 54") made by Darra Williamson

Quilt top (36″ x 54″) made by Darra Williamson

Well, the baby for whom the quilt was destined has arrived (a boy!), and I’ve been busy the past two weeks wrapping up the quilting, binding, and other finishing touches.

For the quilting, I found the perfect shade of lime-green thread, which I used to stitch a simple, overall wavy pattern. While the thread, MasterPiece by Alex Anderson or Superior Threads, is designed for piecing (it’s my personal piecing favorite), I found it worked very nicely for quilting too, both in the needle and in the bobbin.

Baby Quilt_detail_quilting

For the backing, I found a terrific print, designed by the Malka Dubrawsky for Moda.

Baby Quilt_detail_backing_2

When it came time for the binding, I was stumped. My original plan was to try the darker gray Cherrywood hand dye that I used in the quilt, with the lime-green Cherrywood as Plan B. Then, upon seeing the finished quilt top, the wonderfully exhuberant Eleanor Levie suggested that I “go wild” with a bright orange binding. I gave it a go, but it was just a wee bit too much. (I thought about scaling back to a bright orange “crumb-catcher” piping, but that wasn’t right either.) Then . . . inspiration! I went back to the original dark gray hand dye, and inserted little bits of colored print here and there to add a some spice.

Baby Quilt_detail_pieced binding

Here’s the finished quilt, bound, washed (to remove the basting spray I used to secure the layers for quilting), and lacking just the sleeve and label. Yippee!

The finished quilt!

The finished quilt!

Now for the mystery. When I first showed my quilt top back in June, I mentioned that it was inspired by a quilt I had seen on Pinterest. As I feel very strongly about giving credit when I use or adapt someone else’s idea, I searched in vain to find the source before the post went live, but no luck. Not to be deterred, I continued my sleuthing, and persistance finally paid off: I found both the original design and the designer. The pattern is called Chain Linked, and it’s one of many created by the talented Amy Smart. (You may already be familiar with Amy via her combination website/blog, Diary of a Quilter.)

Here's the design that inspired my quilt: Chain Linked, by Amy Smart.

Here’s the design that inspired my quilt: Chain Linked, by Amy Smart.

So, how about a giveaway? Consider this: When it came time to put the binding on my quilt, I opted for squared, rather than mitered corners. It’s not a technique I use very often, but it seemed just right for this square-centric pattern. Leave a comment telling us whether you typically square or miter your bindings by midnight (PDT) Friday, September 6, and you’ll be “in the pot” to win a copy of Amy’s Chain Linked pattern. I’ll announce the winner in my September 24 post.

That’s it for now. ‘Til next time, happy stitching.

Darra-signature

This entry was posted in Fabric, Giveaways, Inspiration, Patterns, Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to This Just In: Baby Born, Quilt Finished, Mystery Solved! (+ a Giveaway)

  1. Shirley Schmeyer says:

    I am relatively new to quilting, but like the look of the mitered corners better than square. I’d love to win the book. It looks like a lot of great quilting patterns.Have a great day.

  2. Anita says:

    Love the colors of this quilt. I’m a huge fan of Cherrywood hand dyes. I am a square corners kind of quilters. I can do miters but they make me crazy at times – who needs that!

  3. Judy, SC says:

    P.S. Love your quilt and binding.

  4. Judy, SC says:

    99.9 percent of time – I miter. Recently decided a miniature for quilt show required a squared binding. Took three days of research to figure out how to do a squared binding. After the show was still unhappy with it. In the process of removing the binding and redoing. Only problem it is a black binding stitched with black thread so is hard to see. Thankfully the whole thing is only
    8-3/4″ square.

  5. Carol Barringer says:

    I most often miter my corners, but I have used the squared corners occasionally. It takes a little less fabric, so if that’s an issue I might consider the squared. However, adding the “bits” of other fabrics in also solves a not-quite-enough situation — I just never thought of that before, although I have pieced a binding together from leftovers a couple of times. Sometimes the squared corners seem plainer, or less fussy, and a design like “Chain Linked” could call for that. I think t was a great choice for this quilt.

  6. Darlene Garrity says:

    I always miter my binding corners as that is the way I learned how in my first quilting class in 1973 taught by Blanche Young. I remember those 4″ wide stuffed bindings well. Somewhere along the way, I narrowed them down to the ones we do now.

  7. I have always mitered my also, never thought about any other way to do it:)

  8. Debbie says:

    I use mitered corners just because I never thought there was another option. I like the bits of color in the binding.

  9. Patricia says:

    I found your blog purely by accident! So glad I was surfing today! I love the baby quilt! Please add my name to the pot. I always miter my corners since I put the binding on in sections, not as a continuous piece. I use a special binding tool so not only are they mitered, but also closed. Sure hope I win!

  10. Luci says:

    I always mitre my corners. I never even thought of squaring them. It looks good on your quilt though.

  11. Deborah M says:

    Love this quilt, Darra! The color surprises in the binding are terrific! I must say, that by the time I get to the binding, I just want to be finished. Have never tried a mitered one!

  12. sorchagirl says:

    Hello, Darra. I love the lime green used in this quilt against the gray and the little “bits” of color in the binding. Mitered corners is what I’ve been using on the few quilt tops that have made it to the end of the project. I’ll need to read how to make square corners.

    Thanks for the chance to win the pattern. It would be good for a quilt to celebrate my grandson’s high school graduation.

  13. Becky Kelher says:

    Have always mitered, didn’t know you could do them square.

    Becky

  14. Suzanne E says:

    That’s a great pattern for a boy! Which is something I find hard to come by. As a new quilter I have finished tops but have never quilted or binded a quilt yet so I can’t say which one will be my favorite way to bind one but I would love this pattern to make a quilt for my son.

  15. Lynn D in NC says:

    Love this quilt and the inspiration quilt. I’ve only every done mitered corners. One of those things I’ve never given much thought to.

  16. Carla G says:

    What a fabulous quilt!! Love the colors & fabrics you used! :) I’ve always mitered my corners, but I like the look of your square corners on this quilt. :) Thanks for a chance to win this great pattern!

  17. Diana LaFaro says:

    I miter my corners but I really like the look of the square corners. Great quilt!

  18. Darra, darling, I’m so thrilled you called me exhuberant…especially if that means I crave exuberant hues! Love, love, love the binding, no matter the corner treatment– and the entire quilt: it is abso-bloomalutely fresh.

  19. Dot says:

    I always miter my bindings, but I’m thinking that a squared binding might look better on quilts with squared, unmitered borders.

  20. I try to square mine but am not perfect at it yet

  21. Debbie says:

    I always miter mine because it is easier for me. I only square off if I am making a really wide binding.

  22. Susan Shaw says:

    Your quilt is adorable. I always miter my corners. Honestly, I have no idea how to do square corners. I would have no idea how to finish the edge of a square corner – isn’t that awful? I guess I need to search the internet. There “seams” to be a tutorial for almost everything. Thanks for the generous giveaway. I have seen Amy’s adorable pattern and love it. Someone is going to be very happy to have the pattern in his/her library. I hope that lucky person is me! The little pops of color in the binding make the binding superb.

  23. Cecilia says:

    I always miter my corners. I guess I never thought of squaring them. Your quilt turned out great! Thanks for the chance to win.

  24. Joan says:

    I love mitered corners!

  25. Rosemary says:

    Great quilt-I love gray-always have and now seem to be using it more and more. I always miter my corners but not opposed to doing something different if the situation came up. I’m looking for ways in which I can vary certain parts of quilts to learn new techniques. I want to try curved, prairie points, etc. Maybe that’s why I love a BOM where every block is different. While I give a lot of credit to those who make the same block over and over, I must have developed ADHD from years of teaching that I can’t seem to do the repetitive thing! Thanks for sharing.

  26. Ann Dunn says:

    I miter my corners. What a great quilt and a lucky baby to be receiving it.

  27. mellonquilts says:

    Love the look of mitered borders. My go to method.

  28. mjkasz says:

    I always miter my corners but this is an interesting idea and I might find a reason to use it.

  29. Barbara Cook says:

    Mitered, but I can see how you thought square fit this quilt. It’s a cutie.

  30. Beth says:

    Mitered corners. Love the quilt.

  31. Mary Stori says:

    Hey Darra……I’m so happy you found the source of your inspiration……..I was inspired by yours, but by the time I followed up on the idea….I had no clue where the picture I put in my ‘inspired file’ came from! My bad….. Note to self: Always label the photo with the link…that way credit can be applied….we really all do know how important that is. I’m in the process of making another similar one and when I blog about this one…..proper credit and links will be in place.

    So….here’s what mind looked like: http://www.marystori.blogspot.com/2013/08/patchwork-putting-part-2.html
    Mary Stori

  32. gussek says:

    I usually miter my corners. Thanks for the giveaway. Your quilt is gorgeous!

  33. Bonnie says:

    I always miter my corners. I don’t know how to square them, but would be willing to try it. The quilt looks great. Love the splash of color in the binding!

  34. Terry says:

    What a beautiful gift for that new baby boy….love the lime-green thread you used for quilting!
    I miter my corners. Thanks for the sweet giveaway!

  35. Debbie Smith says:

    Love your quilt just right for a baby boy. I usually miter my corners but it depends on the look I’m going for.

  36. Sandy says:

    The baby quilt is great and I love the little spots of color in your binding! Most of the time I miter the corners, but have done squared corners on a few wall quilts.

  37. Sharla T says:

    I’m lucky my sister binds for me. :) She does mitered corners.

  38. Shauna says:

    I miter my corners, but I love the look of your square corners.

  39. Susan Paxton says:

    What a great quilt…I am afraid most of my baby quilts are very traditional. I like to miter my corners but see from yours that squared corners are super cool. Thanks for the blog…

  40. lcarolyn says:

    Good morning Darra! Your quilt is perfect! Love, love, love…I usually square my bindings, and I agree with you, it is right for this quilt. Sometimes I miter my quilts, it just depends on the day or moment! LOL!

  41. Lovely quilt — I like the look with the chains done horizontally! I usually miter my corners.

  42. I usually miter my corners. Love your combination of fabrics and colors in this quilt

  43. V. Bailey says:

    I just go with the flow and since I don’t do any of it very well (I’m new to quilting), I just do whatever my “eye” says to do. I am going to do some study on corners though … in my family just FINISHING a quilt is a miracle so there are no standards!

  44. Susan Stanton says:

    I’ve only mitered my corners. You made a beautiful baby quilt. Love the grays.

  45. Cheryl Simpson says:

    I love what you did with the chain linked pattern. As for binding, I always do the mitered binding. Maybe on a sample I’ll give squared a try. Thanks.

  46. Ellen says:

    I usually miter my corners. But love the square mitering you did on the quilt.

  47. Frances Quigley says:

    I have always used the mitered binding. I have never seen the squared one. maybe a tutorial is in order.

  48. Deb says:

    Love the quilt! I don’t believe I’ve ever done a squared corner binding. Maybe it’s time to try a new technique.

  49. Kathy Griffin says:

    I love this quilt! I always miter my corners, because that’s the way I learned to do them.

  50. elle says:

    I’ve done both. First learned is often easiest/fastest so I usually mitre.

  51. Lucie says:

    I used to square my corners as I especially liked the fact that I could measure exactly le length of each side and my quilts would lie very ‘flat’ that way. But recently I have used the miter technique and I like the ‘finished’ look of it very much. A new baby is the greatest joy in life and your quilt is wonderful. Thank you for sharing.

  52. Judy says:

    I always miter. It seems more finished to me.

  53. Peggy O'Connor says:

    Love your quilt! The binding is perfect with it’s bits of bright. I always use mitered corners on my binding, Have a great holiday weekend!

  54. Sally MB says:

    Wonderful quilt and I especially like the binding treatment. I usually miter my corners but have on occasion, used the squared technique. For smaller art quilts I use the portrait finish from Jean Wells.

  55. Connie says:

    Since I’ve (finally) mastered the mitered corner….I always miter my corners. Thanks for the giveaway and congratulations!

  56. Vicki H says:

    Mitering is all I know how to do. I will try square corners on my next quilt.

  57. Sandy K says:

    I always miter mine, your quilt is beautiful.

  58. Sally Dixon says:

    I always miter my corners. Love your quilt!

  59. kathie L says:

    I’ll say that I MOSTLY miter my corners. Like your quilt, sometimes squared seems more appropriate,

  60. Shelor says:

    It’s easier for me to do mitered corners–so that’s the way I go. The quilt is just beautiful.

  61. Brita says:

    Oh, and I love that you alternated the colors in the connecting rows!

  62. Brita says:

    I’ve always mitred my corners (or that was the intent), but I think I’ll try the square corners on my next “modern” quilt. Thanks for the idea, I’m always looking for something a little different to try!

  63. Mar says:

    So far I have always mitered, but we should be open to trying new methods. On my last project, I finally tried bias binding and found it to work like a dream, as promised, on those curves.

  64. laura says:

    I am new to quilting and I am planning my first quilt with muttered corners. I love the look.

  65. Ellie says:

    Definitely miter my corners… I don’t know how to square the corners!

  66. Marianne says:

    I love the quilt and the binding!

  67. Marie says:

    Gorgeous quilt and thank you for the give away. I would normally square my corners, however, there are times when mitred corners are required such as a thick stripe. Thanks for sharing.

  68. Evelyn says:

    I’ve made my corners both ways — pretty much depends on the quilt and how I feel at the time.

  69. Heather J says:

    I love the finished quilt. I mostly miter my corners, however have squared on occasion on some of my art quilts. I love that your binding has hints of other colours in it.

  70. Hey Darra, congratulations, complete at last and it looks beautiful – just right for a ‘Modern’ baby!
    I always miter my corners, as you know, but agree in this instance it was the right way to finish off the binding on this geometric quilt.

    Chris

    • Julie P. says:

      I just started quilting with Laura’s Craftsy course, so, I can’t say whether I prefer square or mitered corners for binding. BUT, I will say, I am liking the look of the mitered corners for binding. It just looks so clever and clean.

Leave a Reply

