Meet Fabric Designer Jennifer Sampou . . . and a Giveaway!

Screen Shot 2013-10-04 at 11.19.24 AMI have had the pleasure of knowing and enjoying the beautiful work of talented fabric designer Jennifer Sampou since she first wowed the quilt world back in 1989.

Since the debut of her initial fabric line, Jennifer has designed over 3000 prints and sold millions of yards of fabric.

Jennifer has a degree in design from Fashion Institute of Technology in New York City and began designing specifically for quilters as creative director for  P&B Textiles. Later she opened her own studio and now licenses her work to Robert Kaufman Fabrics. She loves to travel the world for inspiration and has designed lines based on her experiences on safari in Africa, diving in the Red Sea, trekking in Nepal, and playing with elephants in Thailand. When she can’t go far from home, she fills her creative tank through day trips to San Francisco museums and by witnessing beauty in nature.

When her three children were younger, in an effort to watch their growth, nurture their souls, and have an adventure together, Jennifer and her husband Todd moved to San Miguel de Allende, an artist town in Mexico, where they immersed themselves in this colorful and creative culture. Although Jennifer took a break from her career in fabric designing, she continued to be inspired by the colors, textures, and patterns of her new surroundings. She experiments with new techniques in art such as encaustics–painting with hot wax, fire, and pigment–which she can translate into fabric. This is the process used in her Continuum fabric line.

Screen shot 2013-10-07 at 8.30.29 PMJennifer and her family have recently returned to their home in Northern California and happily thrive in a busier, crazier life than that of their experience down south.

Jennifer compares her passion for textile design to that of a boomerang, suggesting that “no matter how hard you throw it or how far it goes, it always comes back.” I’m so thrilled that her boomerang has returned to fabric design, as the quilt world is richer for her work.

Please enjoy a peek at three of Jennifer’s fabric lines: Fiesta, Continuum, and Studio Stash 2013.

Fiesta collection on left, Continuum in upper right and Studio Stash lower right.

Fiesta collection on left, Continuum in upper right and Studio Stash lower right.

Studio Stash is Jennifer’s most recently released line with Robert Kaufman Fabric Co. These fabrics are the perfect blenders for your quilts, adding just the right colors and interesting textures.

studio stash ad:logoJennifer has graciously offered a color pack from her new Studio Stash collection to a lucky See How We Sew reader in your color choice.  (Click here to see the entire collection.) Simply leave a comment at the end of this post by end of day October 10th telling us which pack you would like–turquoise, raspberry, citrus, or emerald–and I will announce the winner in my October 11th posting. In addition, Jennifer is offering a second color pack to a lucky person who puts his or her name on her mailing list. To be eligible for the second packet, go to Jennifer’s website  and sign up on her mailing list by October 15th. Jennifer will contact that winner directly.Giveaway-Gold

To read more about Jennifer, and see additional photos of her fabric and quilts, please visit her website and sign up to follow her blog.

Nominate Me!

On another note,  most of you know by now about my involvement with Craftsy.com, which offers online classes in everything from quilting and knitting to cake decorating and jewelry making. The Craftsy blog is asking for nominations for your favorite blog in any of three categories. If See How We Sew is one of your favorites, and you would like to nominate us, simply click on the badge and fill in the necessary information. (As a bonus, you will then be eligible to win a FREE Craftsy class, courtesy of Craftsy.)

Enjoy your week everyone. Hope to see you back here on Friday.

L1-Signature

This entry was posted in About, Fabric, Giveaways and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

152 Responses to Meet Fabric Designer Jennifer Sampou . . . and a Giveaway!

  1. Shirley Schmeyer says:

    I would love to win the raspberry selection as the colors would blend beautifully with my bedroom colors. All of them are inspiring.

  2. Deb Anderson says:

    I love this collection and would be very happy with any color way. But I would be partial to turquoise. Love the blues …

  3. Deb says:

    Just lovely! Raspberry please!

  4. Jan Peterson says:

    Wow, what a beautiful line. The motion and texture would be a stunning addition to any project. I think I love the turquoise most, though the raspberry is a close second!

  5. Kimberly says:

    Wow. Beautiful fabric! I really like the raspberry!

  6. pam says:

    i can’t believe this is the fabric line i recently saw at my local fabric store and L-O-V-E-D it… absolutely loved it. my favorite (it’s tough to choose) is the turquoise… then the raspberry… then the emerald… but, again, i LOVE them all!! thanks for the give-away

  7. LisaT says:

    Loving the shades of blue so turquoise it is. Thanks!

  8. Barbara Leonard says:

    I love the raspberry and turquoise, but all of them are very nice:)

  9. Nanette says:

    Turquoise for me, along with the raspberry, what a quilt.

  10. Diane McCandless says:

    Raspberry is my favorite!

  11. robyn jones says:

    I love them all, but my favorite is the Citrus.

  12. Ali M says:

    I think emerald, thank you so much for the giveaway those are really interesting fabrics!

  13. Karen says:

    I just love the turquoise, but the raspberry is wonderful too.

  14. Karen says:

    Raspberry

  15. Lori Morton says:

    Ooooooh! LOVE the Turquoise the very BEST! tho they are all Gorgeous!!

  16. LINDA says:

    HI, SO LOVELY>I’D CHOOSE RASPBERRY!
    THANKS FOR SHARING!

  17. Mom C says:

    I love the mix of black with your colors. So gorgeous. Raspberry would be my choice. Thanks.

  18. Joan H. says:

    What beautiful colors! Its hard to settle on just one but the raspberry is perfect.

  19. Debbie says:

    The fabrics are lovely. I think my fav is the raspberry.

  20. Pam says:

    I love all the colors, but I think turquoise is my favorite. Thanks for the fun!

  21. GG Bocchino says:

    Forgot to add which pack- turquois or raspberry.
    Thanks

  22. GG Bocchino says:

    What absolutely beautiful fabric! I love all the colors- they are my favorites!

  23. Mary Sullivan says:

    Love them all! Turquoise is best…

  24. Emily Kim says:

    Love the turquoise!

  25. Linda Lambert says:

    Laura, very interesting to hear Jennifer’s story and beautiful colors in the collections.
    If I had the chance to win I would love the raspberry. Thank you.

  26. Linda Lambert says:

    Laura, very interesting to hear about Jennifer’s story and the collections are so beautiful. If I had the chance to win I would love the raspberry, thank you.

  27. Love Jennifer’s collections. If I’m the lucky winner, I’d choose Citrus.

  28. mimi gerjets says:

    Welcome back Jennifer. Have always loved your fabrics. Victorian Wheeling was my first purchase of quilting fabrics; Under the Red Sea; Naturescapes, etc…love them all-so hard to cut even today!! Would love the raspberry colorway-reminds me of sherbet, smoothies; something cool and relaxing.

  29. Debbie M says:

    The citrus for sure! They’re all beautiful fabrics. Thanks for the giveaway.

  30. Nina says:

    I’d love to win the raspberry pack. Thanks.

  31. Sharon says:

    i love them all but especially emerald

  32. Peggy says:

    Love Jennifer’s fabric lines. My favorite is citrus!

  33. Karen says:

    oh def CITRUS for me!

  34. Susan Melgaard says:

    I have seen Jennifer’s fabrics in different quilt shops and they always catch my eye. Matter of fact they catch my eye so well I find I have to purchase some. Then the next hard decision is which ones are coming home with me. I have not found any of her designs that do not enhance my quilts. They also inspire me. Jennifer’s designs make a simple quilt very modern yet very beautiful.

  35. Jacklynn Grimm says:

    I would choose the raspberry. Thanks for the give away!

  36. Tina says:

    I would choose raspberry. It looks luxurious and elegent.

  37. karen fisher says:

    raspberry because it’s close to my favorite color purple!

  38. Karen says:

    Emerald! I love how it look on the fabric – just so gorgeous!

  39. aimee74 says:

    I really love the Emerald

  40. Verna Groger says:

    I love the raspberry best – so pretty!

  41. Julie C. says:

    Turquoise would be lovely! I was so glad to “meet” Jennifer through your blog. Thank you!

  42. Karen Propes says:

    This collections colors are so alive and vibrate. I love the emerald.

  43. JillB says:

    It’s soooo hard to pick between turquoise and raspberry, but I think it will have to be the raspberry!

  44. So pretty. I’d choose turquoise.

  45. Patty H. says:

    Ooh, fabric and in such pretty colors! If I had to choose one, I think that I would choose the emerald.

  46. Lori Ann says:

    Turquoise for me!

  47. Sandy K says:

    Raspberry is my fav today. Thanks for the giveaway.

  48. Vicki H says:

    I love the turquoise. Thanks for the chance.

  49. Connie says:

    Jennifer has beautiful fabric….love it!!! I have to pick a favorite? Wow….if I must, it would be the turquoise. What a great give-away…thank you!

  50. Audrey Pearson says:

    Oh my goodness! How do I choose? TURQUOISE! I pick turquoise! My new favorite color!

  51. Marianne says:

    I LOVED your fabric from long ago! I would find fabric that I loved and it would be your name on the selvedge. I am so happy to know that you are designing fabric again. I look forward to oohing and ahhing over fabric and finding your name on the selvedge.

  52. Marianne says:

    I have LOVED your fabrics for a long time! I can close my eyes and see the fabrics that I liked. I am so happy to know that you are designing fabric again. I look forward to oohing and hashing over fabric and then finding your name on the selvedge.

  53. Gaetane L says:

    Beautiful collection I would pick turquoise but also love the raspberry !!!

  54. Gaetane Lavoie says:

    What a lovely collection I would very much like the turquoise , but like the raspberry too …

  55. Lesa McMahon says:

    Beautiful! I’m really drawn to the emerald pack. :)

  56. Barbara says:

    Turquoise!, what else? It has been my favorite color since childhood. When I was 6, I asked my dad to paint my walls that color!

  57. Sandy Allen says:

    So pretty! It is hard to pick, but I don’t have many in the turquoise range in my stash, so I would pick those!

  58. Yumi says:

    I love all the colors but turquoise is my favorite!

  59. Laura says:

    Jennifer has some awesome stuff going on! I love all the colors, but the raspberry is calling my name! :-)

  60. beth says:

    turquoise is my color tonight

  61. kris says:

    Just happen to be looking for many blues …lovely!

  62. June Robertson says:

    These fabrics are all gorgeous just like Jennifer’s quilts. Very inspirational and perfect for a modern quilt. It would be exciting to work with any of the fabric but citrus or emerald would be my choice if I have to pick. Thanks for the chance to win :)

  63. Diane says:

    Oh the raspberry is gorgeous! Thank you for the contest!

  64. Susan Stanton says:

    A beautiful collection! I really like the turquoise colorway best, but they all are lovely.

  65. Patricia Hersl says:

    Oh raspberry. Take the reds every time! Delicious.

  66. Allison D says:

    Such pretty fabrics! I would choose raspberry or citrus.

  67. Rosemary says:

    Wow! Those colors are beautiful, hard to pick a favorite but I favor the turquoise. All of them would make beautiful quilts, clothes, accessories, etc. The possibilities are unlimited.

  68. Barbara Trapp says:

    Favorite? Oh, how could I decide, I love all the fabric! I have always loved all of your designs. All the colors would look great in our Florida home. I am so happy that you are not afraid of great colors…..thanks! Maybe I would say raspberry would be my first choice….maybe.

  69. maggielou says:

    I love all those colors but rasberry really is gorgeous. Thanks for the chance to win some.

  70. Ssgirl says:

    Love the emerald and the blue, oh they are all wonderful, can’t wait to see these in the flesh!

  71. Cheryl says:

    They’re all gorgeous, but I’d have to say the cranberry is luscious!

  72. Judy W says:

    Love these fabrics…traditional and modern at the same time, with the color saturation of the warmer climates and a batik feel….Love, love, LOVE!

  73. Norma says:

    All of them are beautiful! Very hard to choose, so I`ll go with Emerald. Thanks for the chance.

  74. Dorothy Holt says:

    I love the tourquose Collection.. as a first choice.. the Emerald is my 2nd. Keep up the good work!

  75. rustyavenger says:

    Love her work! It’s always fun to learn about the designers behind such beatiful designs.

    Hmmm…have to say Emerald is my favorite but it was really hard to choose.

  76. Evelyn O'Brien says:

    Love them all! My pick …Raspberry

  77. Debra Yates says:

    All the colorways are pretty but if I have to choose just one it will have to be Citrus. Anyone would be fine though.

  78. Laurie Petersen says:

    Let’s go with raspberry!!!

  79. Paige Gonzalez says:

    I love the new Studio Stash fabrics! I often am so busy picking out prints I forget to buy the more neutral colors to blend in. I’d love to win the Raspberry line. I am really into grey and this would be a perfect pairing! Thank you both for the chance to win some beautiful fabric…. :-)

  80. Carol Barringer says:

    I am so glad that Jennifer is back to fabric designing! I still have bits of her previous fabrics and love to slip them into current projects. Her new designs are totally different! But wonderful — I’d choose the emerald, I think.

  81. Shannon says:

    i’d love the turquoise! so pretty!

  82. Carole Carr says:

    Love the beautiful raspberry! I’m thinking outside my usual box of crayons.

  83. Ellen says:

    They are all beautiful, but I would pick Emerald if I won.

  84. I would love the turquoise colorway!!

  85. Denise Mitchell says:

    They are all beautiful! raspberry is so pretty!!!!!

  86. Cris says:

    It is hard to choose… But, torquoise

  87. Joanna says:

    The turquoise color way is beautiful. Gorgeous fabric.

  88. Kristy says:

    Beautiful! Love the Raspberry! Thanks!

  89. Diane Patterson says:

    Citrus is calling to me today. Thanks for the chance to win!

  90. CarolAnn H says:

    Great collection. Very hard to decide between the turquoise or the raspberry. Probably the turquoise.

  91. Deborah Lafayette says:

    Love the Raspberry collection!!! Would make a great addition to my stash!

  92. moira says:

    citrus is my favourite at the moment it is very popular

  93. Angela says:

    Love the raspberry!

  94. Julie A.Boster says:

    they are all so lovely~ my choice is emerald~ Thank-you

  95. barb lassiter says:

    All the colors are beautiful!! I like raspberry and citrus the best!!

  96. thunder says:

    emerald, never met a green I didn’t like :)

  97. Turquoise i my favorite, I love the hexi quilt in the Jennifer Sampou photo.

  98. Robin Huss says:

    I really like the turquoise.

  99. Cyd Runde says:

    Another vote for raspberry!

  100. Joan Ferguson says:

    Would love to win the
    citrus!

  101. Sue Shamis says:

    Love those blender combinations. I guess raspberry would be my choice.

  102. Deb says:

    Turquoise please!!!

  103. Isabell says:

    Gorgeous fabric! The turquoise would be perfect for making tote bags!

  104. Susan Paxton says:

    My choice would be emerald but love the others also, Love the line, Jennifer…Thanks for the chance to win some.

  105. Kim M says:

    I love them all but I’d probably have to go with turquoise!

  106. Sherri says:

    Such a beautiful collection I would love to do a quilt with these fabrics

  107. Debbie H says:

    Turquoise is my favorite. Thanks and I nominated you on Craftsy.

  108. Karen says:

    I love this collection and bought some when it first arrived at Cotton Patch. Since I already have lime, raspberry, and turquoise, I would love to have citrus.

  109. Duane Wiley says:

    Love the fabrics and designs. I would be happy with any of the color ways. Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  110. Lynn says:

    Beautiful fabrics and I love all the colors but am especially fond of the turquoise.

  111. mjkasz says:

    I love the Studio Stash Collection. The fabrics are very versatile and the colors would blend for many purposes. Each of the color ways are great but I am partial to the raspberry or emerald.

  112. Brenda says:

    I love the raspberry. These fabrics look so versatile and lively.

  113. Beth T. says:

    Such gorgeous colors. Citrus for me, please!

  114. I love all the colors, but if I have to choose, I guess it’s emerald.

  115. Mrs. Plum says:

    Thanks for your profile of Jennifer. I recently discovered a decided lack of turquoise in my stash, so that would be my choice, please. Thanks for the opportunity!

  116. Norma says:

    What a fabulous collection. The prints are fresh & contemporary. I love all the colors, but my favorite is the raspberry.

  117. Hilda says:

    Love this collection, turquoise is my favorite, buy I do love all the fabrics Jennifer designed!

  118. Ann Dunn says:

    Those are lovely fabrics…I would pick the turquoise with raspberry being a close second.

  119. kathy says:

    Love the citrus yummy

  120. Lucie says:

    Such a beautiful selection, I remember her first line years ago, something different at the time. Raspberry would be my choice, such rich colours. Thank you for a ‘visit’with Jennifer.

  121. Elin Thomas says:

    While all of them are beautiful, I’d have to pick the raspberry, as the combination of colors is so different and delightful.

  122. Candy says:

    I absolutely love her fabrics. I just finished a quilt and used Continum in red for the backing. It was stunning!

  123. Susan Greene says:

    Thanks Laura for the profile of Jennifer Sampou. I would love to her turquoise bundle!

  124. The turquoise collection would be my choice!

  125. Brita says:

    Citrus, definitely! Love her new lines, she has become so diverse in her designs, I’m amazed!

  126. Deb says:

    Tough choice … they are all wonderful, but when forced to choose just one it would be turquoise. Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  127. Elle Pukalo says:

    Tough choice but turquoise has to be my most favourite colour!

  128. Ellie says:

    Gorgeous… I like the turquoise!

  129. Lucy B. says:

    All beautiful. The turquoise makes me feel like I am floating in water.

  130. Cecilia says:

    I like raspberry! They are all pretty colors.

  131. Barbara Jansz, Elizabeth, IL says:

    Beautiful colors! Turquoise for me! Thanks so much.

  132. Patty says:

    Emerald is my choice, tho all are lovely!

  133. lcheever98292 says:

    Hard choice! But the Raspberry it is. thanks for the chance and intro to someone new.

  134. Shelor says:

    Wonderful fabric. Love it all, but the raspberry really speaks to me!

  135. Phoebe Hein says:

    I have been a fan of Jennifer’s for many years and didn’t see Ber “out there” so I thought she had retired! I would like the blues as I like the look of their addition but don’t automatically go for them at the quilt shops.

  136. Julia Graber says:

    I love the citrus. The combination of colors remind me of a beautiful sunset.

  137. Barbara says:

    Beautiful colors and very interesting to look at. Just think what I could make or incorporate them with. Loved the story of her history in the art world.

  138. JoAnne says:

    The collection is awesome, but if I had to choose one, it would be citrus.

  139. Nancy M says:

    I like them all together but if I have to choose I would go for the raspberry. My stash really could use that. Thanks for the chance.

  140. Jane from New England says:

    Oh-what a treat! Hard to decide but I have been really into turquoise lately – so that would put me over the edge for turquoise!! Thanks for the chance.

  141. Marie Dejn says:

    I really miss the turquise fabric from “Studio Stash” to make my next quilt perfect.

  142. marthawhite says:

    What pleasing colors to the eye when you first look at them! Love the turquoise!

  143. Lizzie says:

    I just love the turquoise colorway! This is exciting fabric:D

  144. cynthia says:

    Thanks for the insight about some great fabric! I’d go for emerald!

  145. Love this fabric, especially the raspberry–Yum!!

  146. Heather J says:

    Wow, what a lovely collection. Hard to say which is my favourite colourway as it is a toss up between raspberry and citrus. Thanks for the introduction to Jennifer and her blog.

  147. Clare Aakjaer says:

    What I love about this collection is that it is very usable. The fabrics would look beautiful in any application… home dec, quilting , garment sewing. The colors are very pleasant and easy to look at and the patterns ones that you would never tire of. Which ever color way is chosen I’m sure it would fit easily into any decor.

Leave a Reply

