Featherweight Fan Club

I recently bought a Singer Featherweight sewing machine.

I am amazed at the amount of information, websites, and even a fan page, based on this little 11 pound precision machine! I thought it might be fun to share a bit with you.

f1aaf1196074153873c40ae09f4c3f6c  featherbox

advert221-1

Not exactly sure what a nightie and hot water bottle have to do with a sewing machine!

The Featherweight was made by Singer Manufacturing Company between 1933 and 1964. It sews only straight stitches — but it sews them very well. It is excellent for piecing, but not recommended for machine quilting.  Even the oldest machines, if they’ve been properly cared for, do a great sewing job. There seems to be more and more of them popping up in quilt classes and retreats lately.

Planet Patchwork  has some wonderful facts and information on its website. The Featherweight came in a standard black model made in the U.S. Those manufactured before World War II had an “Egyptian Scrollwork” pattern on the faceplate, while most of those made after the War had a simple, striated pattern of vertical stripes.”

il_570xN.59568178

Egyptian Scrollwork Patterned Faceplate

featherweight striated

Striated Pattern Faceplate

These machines were also decorated with gold badges and the Singer name, but interestingly enough, did not say “Featherweight” on them.

Texas Centennial Featherweight Bage

Texas Centennial Featherweight Badge

The badges have become just as collectible as the machines themselves.

Gold Effect - Singer Sewing Machine Badge

Gold Effect – Singer Badge

Singer 128

Singer 128 – Pretty!

1940_GGE_badge

1940′s Golden Gate Exposition Badge

I would love to have this badge!!!

The original black featherweights came in two finishes – shiny black and a matte black called “crinkle.” These were produced in Elizabethport, New Jersey, and in  Clydebank, Scotland.

Singer Featherweight 221K7 Sewing Machine

A white Featherweight was made in Scotland and sold in Great Britain. Some in “mint green” were also made, but opinions vary over whether this was really a green machine or merely a white one with a green tinge to the paint.

Tan was also one of the original colors. These were produced in Scotland and Canada.

Restored machines have taken the painting to a whole new level of art.

I love this photo by Cableynx.com

red featherweight

A Beautiful Example from Carolyn Brien.

purple featherweight

Another Gorgeous Machine Owned by Carolyn Brien.

Any color under the rainbow is possible.

Cableynx.com 3 Cableynx.com 22010-11-30 15.56.04(2)_medium Blue-machine (1)    Fuschia machine         PinkSewingMachineSMYellow machine  light lime green

And of course, for the incredibly creative…

Other sightings have been written about by Darla Trenner on these unusual Featherweights. She has posted her findings at her Crinkle and Blackside Machines.

For even more Featherweight Information, go to:

The Perfect Portable, a book by Nancy Johnson Srebro

World Wide Quilting Page

Gail Pickens-Barger’s Featherweight Page

Roadrunner.com

Oh yes, and the Featherweight fan page  Hmmmm . . . maybe I will join this!

Stop by this blog on Friday for more on Featherweights. I will share some fun stories and creative projects inspired by this little lovely machine.

cc65ebe65a8b1014ea764debd4a105f6Now, let’s all get sewing!  Love, Pati

Signature Cropped

This entry was posted in About and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Featherweight Fan Club

  1. Gaileee says:

    http://singerfeatherweight221.blogspot.com/ is the new location for Gaileee’s Featherweight page, or as you listed it, Gail Pickens-Barger’s Featherweight Page

  2. Spurgeon Fosnaugh says:

    PLEASE I NEED HELP

    MY 40th wedding anniversary is in about 3 week. I want so much to get my wife a Singer Featherweight as a surprise gift.

    It is important it be in reconditioned excellent working order as I am not mechanical …. And beautiful would be nice too since it is a special gift for our special 40 th anniversary .

    Please help me make this happen . My email is SFOSNAUGH13@GMAIL.com

    Thanks- Spurg

    • Pati Fried says:

      I would suggest doing your homework online. There are reputable online websites that sell featherweights, but there are also articles and tips on what to look for in buying one. Best of luck!

      • Spurgeon Fosnaugh says:

        Thanks Pati

        Any specific tips and or websites you would suggest would be greatly appreciated . I really not that great at finding articles and stuff on the computer.

        Just want to get one that is quality got a fair price. .

        The prices are all over the place ….

        Would you give me your suggestions and fair price ranges ?

        Thanks

  3. I also recently acquired a nice featherweight! While tinkering with it, we bonded. I just posted my story. Thanks for all the great photos.

  4. Trudie says:

    Where can you get the featherweights painted? I would love to have one of mine done.

    • Pati Fried says:

      Twice as Nice Shoppe in Fremont CA. is where I will be taking mine. He does a lot of quilt shows and his machines are beautiful. (510) 659-0733

  5. Pingback: Featherweight Fan Club – Part 2 |

  6. Kay Huibregtse says:

    I was fortunate to purchase two of the Feather weights at garage sales. Got one for $35.00 and the other one was a silent bid box and got that one for $101.00 both were a bargain

  7. Brenda says:

    I’m with you in the fan club. I not only have a FW 222K, I also have the original Singer Three-Way table for the FW — you can fit the machine right in it, or leave the insert in and use it as a table.

  8. Brita says:

    It was a sign. It was meant to be, I’m sure. I’ve been drooling over a Featherweight I found online, and debated and debated whether I should buy it. After reading your blog today, I knew I simply had to get it, and I did! Now I can’t wait to get it :-) Thanks for the noodge. Now, excuse me while I go wandering around the Internet to all the sites you listed!

  9. Michele says:

    I love my featherweight – made the year I was born. My daughter now has the full size Singer made the same year that my Mother bought – with the original receipt. I like the black, but boy those finishes are tempting!

  10. Victoria says:

    Thanks for sharing this topic this morning, Pati – I want to scrap all my plans for today – pull my little black Featherweight case out from behind all the boxes of Holiday decorations and fall in love again with this neat little machine!

  11. Kathy R says:

    welcome to the Featherweight club, love all of mine

  12. Bonny says:

    Thank you for your most interesting article on the Featherweight machines. But, where is a picture of your beauty?

    • Pati Fried says:

      Funny you should say that! I had so many photos to share, that I decided to make this a 2 part story. Photo to come on Friday!

  13. Marie Dejn says:

    I have the most wonderfull Husquarna ZigZag machine, it is born in the late 50´ties or early 60´ties. It sew like dream and the color is a medium green. I love it.

Leave a Reply

