Quilt Retreat Update and Iron Caddy Giveaway

Hope your year has gotten off to a great start. Just can believe it’s February already. So much has happened this past month! It began with the quilting retreat I mentioned in my last post. My plan was to make the silk wedding quilt for my daughter’s best friend. As you can see, I got a great jump start on it. Fortunately these young ladies like simple patterns. Phew! I’m so lucky she didn’t request a Baltimore Album! Here’s a quick peek at my progress so far. I plan to finish it soon and then off to the quilter. It will be so elegant; I can’t wait.

Eileen's quilt

I was on a roll with this quilt until several of the other gals at the retreat started working on this wonderful iron caddy. How could I resist setting my project aside and making one for myself (especially since I am always the pathetic one leaving class with my hot iron wrapped in a towel. Ugh!)?

Here’s the wonderful Caddy Pad pattern by Sisters’ Common Thread. I can see why this pattern has been their very best seller. It is easy to make and allows you to pack up your hot iron and go . . . no waiting for it to cool, no wrestling with dangling cords, or in my case, towels!

Iron Caddy
Iron Caddy

Iron Caddy

I contacted the talented design team from Wisconsin, letting them know how much everyone enjoyed their pattern, and they have graciously offered one free pattern to one of our readers. The pattern comes with the silver, heat-resistant fabric–enough to make one pad. Be sure to check out their website, as there are many options to choose from. For example, there are three different sizes of the Caddy Pad, as well as a larger one that they say has been great as a baby shower gift. It’s called a Diaper Dock, and is large enough to open flat and use as a changing pad.

Giveaway-GoldIf you would like to put your name in the hat to win a pattern of your choice, simply let me know by end of day Thursday, February 6th which pattern you would most like to have and why, and I will announce the winner with my next post the following day.

Another reason to stop by on Friday: I plan to give you a sneak peek at what all of us at SHWS have been working on for you.  You’ll love it!

Until then, have fun creating.

L1-Signature

49 thoughts on “Quilt Retreat Update and Iron Caddy Giveaway

  1. The caddy pad looks great…what’s not to love about a caddy to carry a hot iron home from retreat and have a pad to iron on when you’re there :)

    Like

  2. Oh my, you ladies are so gracious! Thank you so much for liking our patterns and visiting our web site. Ladies such as yourselves are our life blood and we are grateful every day. We are busy working on a couple new travel companion pieces, one being “Quick Change” which is a fold up garment bag, just right for a weekend and it will tuck nicely into our “New York Style” tote for a quick and easy get-away. We’ve also got some cute kids bags called “Zip your Lip” – just use your imagination on that one for now! And one final tote bag that’s I’m not even certain on the name yet. We’ll have all these ready for release in time for Spring Market in May – hopefully!! If you want to get the latest happenings in OUR world you can go back to our web site and join our Newsletter group. You’ll see the new releases even before they hit the stores. And just a reminder, we let the local quilt stores do the retail selling for us, another HUGE link in our life line, but if you are having trouble finding anything just go to http://www.quilterswarehouse.com and you should find all our stuff there. Our huge thanks to Laura for her awesome kudos, and so glad you had a rip-roaring time at retreat. Guess I should be careful how I use that “rip” word LOL. Best wishes to all our fellow quilters and sending you “quilt-buddy” hugs! Yvonne Cabella + Angie Mueller, Sisters’ Common Thread PS, we really ARE sisters.

    Like

  3. I really like the caddy pad. This is great for me. I don’t have a dedicated sewing space, so this is perfect for when I have to pack up quickly.

    Like

  4. I would love to win the medium sized iron caddy. Then I could leave retreat with a hot iron if needed. Thanks for the opportunity

    Like

  5. I love the idea of an iron caddy. One of those why didn’t I think of that? Thanks for the chance to make such a great, useful item.

    Like

  6. The guild I used to belong to made these at retreat one year and everyone raved about how easy it was! I woud love the large (#103) pattern if I should win. (I didn’t attend retreat that year so didn’t make one then,) :)

    Like

  7. Gosh! I would love the large iron caddy so my extra iron could go with me to outreach or retreats.
    Thanks for giving us a chance to win one.
    The Minnesota girls’ website is very nice. Clever offerings.
    Carol Roach

    Like

  8. I would like the Caddy Paddy for my full sized iron so I can take it on my first quilting retreat! My quilt guild’s Program Committee is going on a retreat to Cottage Rose Quilt Shop in Marion, Iowa in April. My friends will be most impressed with me and want one of their own!
    Love your silk quilt. Simple is elegant! Barb Jansz

    Like

  9. I have been wanting one of these to carry my hot iron home from quilt club and quilt bee. I want the Iron Caddy pattern. Thanks for the opportunity.

    Like

  10. I already ordered the three caddy patterns….so my next need is something to organize my chargers and cords. A Cord box or Cord Chaos pattern would be great. Greetings from Oklahoma, USA. crystalbluern at onlineok dot com

    Like

  11. Beautiful silks…the colors are so rich! Love your work….
    The iron caddy is such a great idea…I can relate to the hot iron issue…Don’t want to unplug until the very last minute possible. The midsize pattern would be perfect. And I really like the idea of doubling as a lunch tote with placemat included. :)

    Like

  12. I went to their website and the Caddy Pad Jr, would be great. The quilt you are or king on is amazing. I haven’t made a quilt out of silk fabrics but really love the different textures!
    LauraT

    Like

  13. The Caddy Pad Pattern Plus would be great to win. Thanks for the chance. AND oooh your silk wedding quilt is going to be spectacular!!!

    Like

  14. The Caddy Pad Jr. Pattern Plus would be the perfect size for me. This way I wouldn’t have to wrap my travel iron in a towel to go home after a great evening of quilting. :^)

    Like

  15. I’ve always wanted one of those Caddy Pads for when I attend quilting/sewing classes. The large one would probably be the most practical as you could always make it smaller if need be. Thanks for the opportunity to win a great pattern. The kitty tent is cute too-my feline assistants would probably love one of those!

    Like

  16. The caddy pad pattern plus would be my choice! Thanks for giving us the chance to win the pattern. I was looking at one of these made up at my local quilt shop and it makes up a really nice finished product!

    Like

  17. Many thanks for this chance to win a free pattern. I like the #103 pattern. It seems to be the most versatile. I like that, on their website, one of their customers said she used it as her lunch caddy and then used the pad area as a placemat. Brilliant! Your silk quilt is lovely – what a lucky friend for you to make such a thoughtful wedding gift!

    Like

  18. The iron caddy is beautiful as well as functional. I love how it can double as an ironing surface for classes. I prefer the medium sized one. By the way, your quilt is quite elegant. Cheryl Simpson

    Like

Leave a Reply

