The Latest from that Amazing Quilter, Gwen Marston (+ a Giveaway!)

1-Giveaway IconAt one time or another, I suspect we’ve all had the experience of meeting someone new and feeling that immediate “click” of connection–the perfect description of my first encounter (in 1989!) with legendary and beloved Michigan quilter, Gwen Marston.

Gwen Marston

Gwen Marston

I wrote about Gwen, her then most-recent work, and her wonderful book, 37 Sketches, in a post back in January 2012. It’s a tribute to Gwen’s enduring popularity that this post remains one of our all-time, most-often viewed here at See How We Sew. Now, two years later, I decided it was time to check back with Gwen to find out what’s new. The answer? Lots!

First up: Gwen Marston, Contemporary Quilts, a solo exhibit at the Dennos Museum Center in Traverse City, MI. This exhibit runs through April 27 and includes work that Gwen has created in the past eight years, in which she continues to simplify, to melt the elements down to their most basic forms, allowing the color to speak in a stronger voice. Some of the pieces are the Small Studies from the aforementioned 37 Sketches (2011).D_Jan 27_37 Sketches Cover(1) (2)

"Small Study 4 (9" x 11") made and machine quilted by Gwen Marston; 2010

“Small Study 4 (9″ x 11″) made and machine quilted by Gwen Marston; 2010

Others are from her earlier book, Ideas and Inspirations: Abstract Quilts in Solids (2008).

Ideas and Inspirations cover

Broken Dishes (38" x 37"), made and hand quilted by Gwen Marston, 2008

Broken Dishes (38″ x 37″), made and hand quilted by Gwen Marston, 2008

Three Triangles (35" x 36"), made and hand quilted by Gwen Marston, 2010

Three Triangles (35″ x 36″), made and hand quilted by Gwen Marston, 2010

Red Square VI (39" x 42"), made and hand quilted by Gwen Marston, 2008

Red Square VI (39″ x 42″), made and hand quilted by Gwen Marston, 2008

Still others reflect Gwen’s ongoing explorations, in which she pushes even further, working in a decidedly minimal style. This fresh, exciting, stripped-down approach takes center stage in–more news!!!–Gwen’s brand-new book, Minimal Quiltmaking, scheduled for publication by the American Quilter’s Society on March 1!

Gwen's newest, publishing March 1

Gwen’s newest, publishing March 1

Wouldn’t you like to be first among your friends to own Minimal Quiltmaking? Well, it happens that we’ll have a copy to give away to one of our readers as soon as the book hits the shelves. Just leave a comment by noon (PST) Thursday, February 20, telling us whether you consider yourself a “minimalist” or “maximalist” quilter (for example, in style, size or variety of your fabric stash, reliance on notions, degree of advance planning) and I’ll announce a winner in my Friday, February 21 post.

Finally, here’s a special treat! The Dennos Museum Center has placed Gwen’s entire presentation from the exhibit’s January 18 opening reception on YouTube. Watch and enjoy!

That’s it for now. ‘Til next time, happy stitching!Darra-signature

This entry was posted in About, Books & Products, Dates & Places, Giveaways, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to The Latest from that Amazing Quilter, Gwen Marston (+ a Giveaway!)

  1. Pingback: Gwen Marston Retrospective at See How We Sew + Giveaway Winner |

  2. Pingback: (Very) Occasional Wednesday Salon | The Snarky Quilter

  3. Pingback: Inspiration Plus: Putting Those Decorative Machine Stitches to Work |

  4. Lois says:

    I’ve known Gwen for 30 years. She is a great artist and a very special friend. I’m not sure I qualify for either category of mini or maxi, but I love Gwen’s style of quilting and living.

  5. cdahlgren2013 says:

    I would say I’m developing into a minimalist. I’ve only quilted a couple of years, and my favorite quilts are the simplest. I loved the quilts in this post! Bright colors, easy shapes, great quilting–I’ve got to have this book!

  6. Elizabeth Clark says:

    I’m not really a minimalist, but I’m a fan of Gwen Marston and have used her principles in many of my quilts. I’m looking forward to seeing her new book.

  7. Judy, SC says:

    Minimalist of maximalist? Minimaxlist when it comes to size of projects. Think 3 inch log cabin with 13 rounds and postcards. But fabric stash, books, patterns and notions – for sure a maximalist. I am on a ‘diet’ of no purchases except replacing needles, thread and batting, at least I can go to quilt shop and pet the fabric, buying batting is exciting because that means I have used up all those strips of batting that were to large to toss. Love Gwen’s books have several. Have actually made a couple of projects from her books. Would love to have Gwen’s newest book as I have been an admirer of her for more years that I care to count.

  8. Nanette Fleischman says:

    I would like to be more of a minimalist, working on it. I love Gwens work. and would love another of her books.

  9. JillB says:

    I find I’m becoming more and more minimalist with the passage of time! I love simple, modern designs, and would love a chance to get this book!

  10. Patty says:

    I find I am transitioning to a more minimalist style after quilting for 30+ years. I’ve been lucky enough to have taken a class with Gwen…..great experience!

  11. Dot says:

    I don’t know! I like to make small scrappy quilts with lots of different fabrics, but I seldom go out and buy fabric specifically for a project. I use what I have, or what someone has given me.

  12. pjdominici says:

    I’ve been fascinated by Gwen’s quilts and her quilting techniques for a while now. I’d love to own her book.

  13. Fern Royce says:

    Thanks for reminding the quilt world about Gwen. I am a huge fan of Gwen’s. Her books are the ones I return to over and over for ideas, techniques or just to cuddle up with! I have been counting the months before its release since she announced it in September. Laura’s Quilts, Quilts, Quilts and one of Gwen’s little Dover books were the first quilt books I purchased in my quilting journey. Can’t say I’m a minimalist yet but her work is what I aspire to. When I grow up I want to be able to do as much with so little as she does.

  14. Lou Wotzke says:

    Less is more, for me. Too many choices and i’m lost in the possibilities without hope of expression.
    Zanalou999@gmail.com

  15. kay says:

    I am a minimalist in style and size – but I aspire to be even more of a minimalist in style and a maximalist in size. Can’t wait to see Gwen’s new book!

  16. Brenda says:

    I’d like to be a minimalist, but I don’t always succeed. thanks for the chance.

  17. Carol Kuse says:

    Love the turns Gwen has taken during her quilting lifetime which proves anything can happen. We can be both minimalist and maximalist at the same time.

  18. Sandy says:

    I’m a maximalist for sure. My stash is huge. I love maximum saturation in colors—bright, bold, beautiful. But this year I’m trying to reduce my UFOs from MAX to min!

  19. elle says:

    What a great lecture! I think I am a minimalist but I do like lots of different fabrics in different shades and tones in the colour I chose.

  20. I can’t decide which I am. I tend to use a minimal palette of colors and/or prints, but I find myself seduced by patterns with a great variety of shapes and pieces.

  21. Jane H says:

    I lean towards the minimalist. Less is more, right?

  22. Debra Kay Neiman says:

    I am a maximalist when it comes to my stash, and I am trying hard to spend more time sewing than looking for new projects. crystalbluern at onlineok dot com

  23. mjkasz says:

    I am a maximalist when it comes to my stash and to the preplanning. This sometimes slows down the whole creative process so I have been trying to become more of a minimalist. The new book sounds great!

  24. Rosemary says:

    I’m definitely not a minimalist when it comes to fabric as I have a difficult time parting with what I have. In terms of what I like, I guess you would say I’m an “in-between-ist”. While I love the traditional old blocks, I also love the new more modern blocks and quilts. My work is a combination of both. I would like to do more large piece quilts, simply because it’s easier, but I will not do it just for that reason. There has to be a purpose behind my work. I have a quilt that’s been running around in my head lately-its a city skyline quilt and I’m enlisting a friend with design help as I have an idea what I want, but I am “design-challenged,” and he’s just the one who can help me. In addition, I hope involving him will motivate him to learn to quilt. I know he wants to, but right now it’s just a matter of finding the time, as teaching takes a lot out of you. Being a very talented person and art teacher, I can only imagine what he would create.

  25. Brita says:

    Advanced planning — minimalist! Can’t wait to get this book.

  26. How about a happy medium! And like Gwen–don’t you just love her?–my tastes have changed over the years!

  27. kathie L says:

    I’m becoming more of a minimalist, especially with solids.

  28. Sandy K says:

    I would say I am a maximalist. I always want the latest of every notion.

  29. vickievan says:

    definitely a Maxinista :) Lots of peces, or large prints. I am trying to pare it down so this book would be an inspiration. Gwen is always an inspiration. I am a fan of her work.

  30. Mary Stori says:

    How nice that you are reminder and perhaps even introducing readers to Gwen. What an ongoing talent she is!!

  31. Duane Wiley says:

    I love both! There is such beauty in both of these types of quilt designs. With STASH and NOTIONS, I’m a “Maximalist”, the more the better!

  32. Linda Fleming says:

    I reckon I’m a minimalist – I save every scrap of fabric knowing that one day I’ll find a use for it!

  33. Donna Keating says:

    At times I’m a minimalist. I like .along smaller quilts or wallhangings. But at times I’m the opposite. Can’t be pidgeon holed into one category.

  34. Sally MB says:

    I am loving the minimalist designs. I was first drawn to the quilts of the Amish and they are more minimalist to me. Gwen’s new book looks great.

  35. Minimalist, most of the time

  36. Ssgirl says:

    I am somewhere in between, but definitely lean toward the minimalist. The book looks incredible and I will be ordering it if I don’t win it! Would love to get her 37 sketches book as well. There is an awesome talk of hers on YouTube if you google her museum show. Very interesting.

  37. Linda Hicks says:

    I need to minimize…to think minimal!!!

  38. Linda Hicks says:

    I NEED minimalism. Looking forward to the book!

  39. Melissa G. says:

    I would say I am a maximalist. The more the merrier! But I do appreciate the minimalist quilts and I know that my husband would love to see more of my minimalist side!

  40. C.J. says:

    I love minimalist quilts. i just need the confidence to embrace them. This book promises to validate my feeling that minimalism is art!

  41. Beth T. says:

    Oh my word. For Christmas I received Victoria Findlay Wolfe’s “15 Minutes of Play”, which led me to Gwen’s work. For the last month or so I have been poring over her quilts, and seeing the world through her “liberated” eyes. I am not sure if I am a minimalist–the richness of color and fabric make me feel like a maximalist when I’m diving into my stash.

    Thank you so much for letting us know about this new book. If my name is not chosen, this will go to the top of my wish list!

  42. Vicki H says:

    I would say I was a maximalist when looking at my stash, but a minimalist in my getting things done.

  43. Shelor Robin says:

    I think that I’m probably a little of both–I really haven’t decided on my niche in quilting. Love these quilts. Thanks for the chance to win the book.

  44. Brenda says:

    I would have to say I am a maximalist. I get very excited by everything new and different.

  45. Peggy says:

    I am a minimalist. I like to keep it simple. Gwen is an inspiration!

  46. In my definition, I guess I’m the maximalist; I love everything, every fabric and every method!

  47. Jill says:

    I am far from a minimalist! I am trying to create modern and minimalistic quilts. I love the look and it is fun going outside the box!

  48. cynthia says:

    I guess I’d classify as a maximalist since I sew small pieces in many fabrics to make large quilts, but every once in a while my eyes do need a rest and I crave making something more minimal in effect.

  49. Mar says:

    Didn’t realize I was a minimalist until I saw the cover of the book! Fun post.

Leave a Reply

