Purple Haze: Ticking Off Quilt Projects

Hello See How We Sew Readers! We’ve been running hither and thither at the blog lately in our efforts to finish up blog projects as well as our own. April should be the harbinger of two special quilts from us; that is, if we manage to lasso our “ducks” and line them up in a row. I’m hoping we can smash a huge readership number in the next 30 days when we debut our Quilt-Along and a Jennifer Sampou special event:  500,000!

Inspiration-J:  Lupine

My purple haze begins in our backyard wildflower garden–lovely lupine is an early arrival.

For me, March closes with a completed quilt top. I’m waiting for my backing choice to arrive at my local quilting fabric depot,  Wooden Gate Quilts (their new website is in development), and then I can add the finishing touches and cross it off my To Do list.

You’ll recall this quilt from a past post: my love/hate perspective on a quilt-in-the-making. Dear readers, you went above and beyond with helpful ideas for my project in the comments and, again, I want to thank you for your exceedingly pertinent input. You’ll see I did incorporate suggestions.

Quilt J:  Purple HazeWhile I’m delighted my eldest is off to graduate school, I’ve lost my quilt holder and must resort to partial views for now.

Quilt-J:  Purple Haze DetailThe baby crosses are a fun element–there’s a pale pink version in the collection that delivers the barest hint of purple in the second row from the bottom.

Fabric-J:  Echino backing fabric

Here’s a glimpse at my favorite candidate for backing, a Japanese print by Echino. I do have a master plan in which all these elements will co-exist beautifully–at least that’s my hope. I do reserve the right to stuff the finished project in my linen closet if it doesn’t pass muster!

J-Signature

 

 

This entry was posted in Fabric, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Purple Haze: Ticking Off Quilt Projects

  1. I love your backing choice. I think plusses and birds will live in harmony very well.

  2. Mary Helen in OR says:

    Libby Lehman said, in one of her videos on The Quilt Show (I think) that YOU DO NOT HAVE TO FINISH EVERY QUILT and she added DON”T GIVE THEM TO A CHARITY BECAUSE THEY DON”T LIKE BUTT UGLY QUILTS EITHER. I love it. Keeps the linen closet cleaned out! She probably didn’t ever make and ugly quilt and I bet you haven’t either. I love the white on white crosses that you used instead of just a plain white square. Makes it more interesting. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Mrs. Plum says:

    Had to laugh when you talked about stuffing projects you’re not happy with in your linen closet–that’s exactly where mine go, too! However, I don’t think your purple crosses project will be found languishing there!

    • Jennifer says:

      Hey Mrs. Plum, do you like purple too? I’ve got some doozies hidden in the closet, but I’m pretty sure Purple Haze will not be one of them, except, of course, for legitimate storage reasons.

  4. eswatniki says:

    Love your quilt-had to smile at the name. I just finished sewing over 400 4″ blocks for my “Purple Maze” which is Kathy Daughty’s pattern from Making Quilts called Red Center.

  5. sobana says:

    Oh no You can’t stuff this in your closet. i would be so proud to do something like this. Such a beauty. Does this have a name? And are you sharing a tute for it? Please!!!!!!

    • Jennifer says:

      I hope I don’t . . . I think the quilting will really pull the whole thing together. Here’s your tutorial: cut 3″ strips and sew together in matched pairs. The quilt is made entirely of 4 patches. Go crazy!

  6. Peggy O'Connor says:

    Very pretty. That little pale pink cross caught my eye. So fun!

Leave a Reply

