Jennifer Sampou Debuts “Shimmer” Fabric Today at SHWS—Fabric Giveaway Too!

Handsome Freddy (last name Reddy, yes, Reddy!) guards our secret project.
Handsome Freddy (last name Reddy, yes, Reddy!) guards our secret project.

Hello readers! Today’s a shimmery day because we’ve got a peek for you into Jennifer Sampou’s latest line from Robert Kaufman Fabrics. Not only that, we’ve made a rather fabulous quilt with selected prints from Shimmer, and we are AGLOW with excitement! Keep on scrolling for all the exciting details . . .

Fabric-J:  Shimmer fabric

We count ourselves lucky that we can host today’s stop on the Shimmer blog hop—Jennifer Sampou is one of our locals and it’s a true pleasure to strut our “collective” creativity with such a pretty line of prints. She’s outdone herself with these pearlescent fabrics that gleam so wonderfully when light shines on them. Jennifer’s keyed in on a trend that’s making its way through interiors and fashion. We’ve certainly experienced our share of chintzy, glittery, metallic, and sparkly textiles at quilt/fabric shops, but these are altogether different fare: think of candlelight, not a slick sheen.

Jennifer’s Giveaway

Fabric-J:  Shimmer LookBook The color array and print variety are wonderful too. We’ve got a link to the Shimmer LookBook so you can take a gander at the collection. Don’t neglect to stop at Jennifer’s blog while you’re at it and Fabric-J:  Shimmer fabricsubscribe so you can qualify for the fabric giveaway (a fabric bundle!) she’s hosting right this very minute. Do not delay! We’re the tail-end of the blog hop, but there’s plenty more wonderful inspiration on the way–backtracking is a good idea too!

Shimmer Blog Hop Schedule

April 1- Robert Kaufman/Jennifer Sampou- announce blog

The SHWS Giveaway

As for our promotional events here, we have a giveaway as well. Jennifer has given us a Shimmer charm pack for one lucky reader. (Many thanks Jennifer!) You know the drill. Leave a comment by Sunday, April 20 answering the following question: Would you rather shimmer, sparkle, or shine? We’ll announce the winner on Friday, April 25. Our Big Announcement! Now here’s our main event to celebrate the launch of Jennifer Sampou’s latest and greatest . . . we’ve designed our very first See How We Sew quilt pattern and are showcasing Shimmer in the sample quilt. As quilt designers, it’s a real pleasure to work with a unified collection of prints and color palette. We had such a blast collaborating on this quilt that we’ve sparked an ambition to make more! And we are, in fact, launching a See How We Sew pattern line.

AchooPromoPostcard     Achoo! started with fabric swatches.

Our selection of fabrics from the Shimmer array.
Our selection of fabrics from the Shimmer array.

Then, with a partial sketch; quilting tools; a Shimmer fabric delivery from Jennifer; and precious time carved from busy schedules, we set to work. We send our thanks to Cyndy Rymer who came along for the ride and sewed miles of strips on demand.

Quilt-J:  Achoo! in developmentHmm, this block reminds me of something . . . what is it? Ooh, you’re right Laura, we’ve built Kleenex boxes! Maybe we should name the quilt Achoo!

Quilt-J:  Close up of Achoo Kleenex boxes Turns out that if you repeat the Kleenex box motif enough and throw in accent panels, you can make a spectacular quilt.

Quilt-J:  Achoo test layout with Shimmer fabric Long-arm quilter Kathy August added mod flair to Achoo! by deploying a grid design across the surface. Her choice of thread was genius:  Kathy turned to Fil-Tec’s Glide™ for a soft metallic-look thread that blended in beautifully with the gleaming Shimmer prints.

Quilt-J:  Achoo! Here’s Achoo! photographed outdoors–yes, those are my hands (my usual quilt holder is off to graduate school).

Screen shot 2014-04-11 at 9.44.57 PM

Thanks for checking out the Jennifer Sampou Shimmer Blog Hop! Don’t forget to enter the giveaways!

signatures3 Signature Cropped

110 thoughts on “Jennifer Sampou Debuts “Shimmer” Fabric Today at SHWS—Fabric Giveaway Too!

  1. FYI all you creative women at See How We Sew, I just wanted to let you know that your Achoo quilt was a big hit at Market. Showed it in Schoolhouse and then numerous times on the market floor. It’s going to travel as well and people can’t wait to have it in their shops, sell the pattern and fabric together. Thanks so much!!!

    Like

  2. About two years ago i would have said i wasn’t too wild about any of those adjectives, shimmer, sparkle or shine. but since having two little girls i have certainly developed a love for sparkles ;). though there’s much to be said for the class of shimmer and the boldness of shine i’d have to say i definitely prefer the simplistic curiosity of sparkle :). and truly your quilt is awesome.

    Like

  3. I think I’d like to shimmer. Love the title for this quilt, it really does remind me of Kleenex boxes, especially during this lovely hay fever season! I’ll have to add this quilt pattern to the ever growing list of someday quilts. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  4. Your quilt is beautiful; love the pattern and fabric combination. Also, your sweet kitty, Freddy, matches the quilt perfectly!
    k(dot)castanette(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Like

  5. I love to sparkle! The quilt is beautiful! one of the things I love about blog hops is finding new blogs to follow, and I am glad I found yours!

    Like

  6. Shimmer, definitely! It’s subtle and elegant. These Shimmer fabrics are gorgeous!!! Your “Achoo” quilt is stunning. I like what you said about the thread used to quilt it. I’ll have to keep that in mind. I also agree that the grid quilting suits “Achoo” perfectly!
    Thanks for sharing and for the giveaway opportunity.

    Like

  7. Definitely would loooove to Shimmer!! BUT…sometimes I just can’t help feelin’ Sparkly!!! giggle

    LOVE this Quilt!! It is AWESOME! & these Fabrics are perfect to show it off!

    Like

  8. This is incredible fabric and you have made it really sparkle and shine with your pattern. Thanks for the chance at the giveaway. I would rather shine, because I think that is a function of what is going on inside you as well as outside. Thanks again for the inspiration.

    Like

  9. Of the options given… shimmer because it’s closest to my true preference, which would be to glow 8>. Love the fabric line; thanks to you all for the opportunity of the giveaway!

    Like

  10. I love the Achooo pattern with the Shimmer fabric line – what a great quilting job, too! I would shimmer as this sounds lower key than Sparkle or Shine and that is most likely my personality. Greetings from Calgary where the freshly fallen spring snow is sparkling today!

    Like

  11. Oh my goodness. Achoo is stunning in Shimmer. Congratulations on your pattern. I am going to have to make this one. Just have to finish another first. Thank you for sharing and for offering a giveaway.

    Like

  12. 1. I LOVE Freddy!!! He is so beautiful!!!

    2. I would rather Shimmer than Shine, but it’s fun to Sparkle!! But seriously, this is some of the prettiest fabric I’ve ever seen.

    3. Congrats on your first pattern! I really like it! It goes really good with this fabric line. I was a follower of your blog, but just signed up to get them delivered by email. Please feel free to show some more Freddy! Thanks!

    Like

  13. Beautiful quilt.
    I would love the gorgeous kitty please. Oh darn. Not part of the winnings I suppose.
    Sparkle has always caught my eye, but on quilts I prefer more of a shimmer. This fabric collection is just perfect for that. I don’t recall seeing any others even close to this before. I really love it.

    Like

    1. Me too! I’d love to have Freddy at my house, but he is a beloved member of my friend Chris’ household. Shimmer is fab and you need lots of yardage (me too)!

      Like

  14. Shimmer is more my style – shows up subtly and eloquently. Gives the look of romance.
    Where as sparkle seems like party and loud. Shine seems bright and hangs around.

    Like

    1. I know, isn’t that wonderful? Freddy jumped on the table when I was trying to style a shot at my friend Chris’ house–he turned out to be a natural match to the quilt. Ah for serendipity!

      Like

  15. Shimmer, of course! Don’t like drawing attention to myself but would hope my quilts shimmer just enough to make other people sparkle and shine when they use them. Your quilt is gorgeous.

    Like

  16. I love handsome Freddy! Your quilt is beautiful and congrats on your pattern. I prefer to be more subtle so will say shimmer over sparkle and shine. Thanks!

    Like

  17. Wonderful quilt design – Beautiful fabrics nicely completed by the straight line quilting!
    Let me shine, shine, shine – all the time!

    Like

  18. I choose sparkle! Your question reminds me of years ago when I daycared my grand daughter (now 14!) and I made her 13 outfits for her second birthday. one was a top of all sequins on it and she just loved it and she’d kind of jump up and throw her arms in the air and say “I SHIMMER! and SPARKLE!”. Oh the memories fabric can make!

    Like

    1. Love, love your anecdote Cheri! Perhaps we should all start our days with a shimmer/sparkle dance like your granddaughter? The lift in spirit would last all day. Thanks for stopping by and sharing!

      Like

  19. Love your pattern, very doable for all sewing levels. Looks light and airy for a quilt which is perfect for spring.

    Like

  20. I like to shimmer. I do not like a lot of “bling” and do not like to draw attention to myself. Thank you for the giveaway.

    Like

    1. Scotland! How cool is that! I’ve only been to Scotland once briefly and I’m dying to return for a longer visit. Thanks for sending sparkles this way. Good luck with the giveaway.

      Like

  21. I think I would rather shimmer with a touch of shine. Sparkle is too out there for me. Those fabrics look lucious and I’m happy to have a chance to win them.

    Like

  22. Tough choice – I’d want to do each of them at different times. Probably shimmer most of the time. I’ve been looking for this fabric online, but have found very few sellers. Hope it becomes more widely available, as I’d love to make something with it.

    Like

    1. Hello Barbara, visit Jennifer Sampou’s website and you’ll find a link to Cotton Patch–they’ll be carrying the whole line shortly. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

      Like

  23. I would rather shimmer than sparkle or shine ( I like to fly under the radar!) Love the kitty, quilt, fabric and the giveaway! Thanks!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

