Spring Arrives with a Bounty of (Fabric) Blooms . . . and a Giveaway!

1-Giveaway IconWe’re more than a month into spring here in the Northern Hemisphere, and the evidence–both cultivated and wild–is emerging (and in some cases, exploding) around us in a shower of color and scent.

Nothing says "spring" like a bed of tulips! Photo by Darra Williamson.
Nothing says “spring” like a bed of tulips! Photo by Darra Williamson.
Floral "sunshine" dresses a white picket fence. Photo by Darra Williamson.
Floral “sunshine” dresses a white picket fence. Photo by Darra Williamson.
A swath of red enhances the seaside landscape. Photo by Darra Williamson.
A swath of red enhances the seaside landscape. Photo by Darra Williamson.
Delicate pink blossoms in the wild. Photo by Darra Williamson
Delicate pink blossoms in the wild. Photo by Darra Williamson
A single wild iris blooms against a Pollock-like tangle of greenery. Photo by Darra Williamson
A single wild iris blooms against a Pollock-like tangle of greenery. Photo by Darra Williamson
A "natural" display of color and texture.  Photo by Darra Williamson
A “natural” display of color and texture. Photo by Darra Williamson

Fabric Blooms coverToday, to celebrate this “blooming” season, we’ve planned a special giveaway. Lark Crafts has generously donated two copies of its brand-new, 128-page book, Fabric Blooms by Megan Hunt. The projects are adorable and doable–made from felt, cotton, jersey, and even faux leather!–and range from headbands and lapel pins to nosegays, wreathes, and fairy lights. Best of all, the patterns for all the flower parts are given full size. You don’t need to draw or enlarge a thing!

So, here’s the deal. Leave a comment below by noon (PDT) Thursday, May 1, telling us what you consider to be the first sure sign that spring has arrived, and you’ll be eligible to win a copy of Fabric Blooms. The two winners will be announced in this Friday’s post.

A peek into the pages of Fabric Blooms
A peek into the pages of Fabric Blooms

Finally, an announcement of sorts. After three wonderful years of visiting with you here each month, it’s time for me to join my former SHWS blogging sister, Christie Batterman, as a See How We Sew Blogger Emeritus. Today marks my final post as an active member of the SHWS team.

While it’s difficult to say goodbye, the change is happily motivated. My husband Brooks and I are slowly beginning the lifestyle-changing transition from the bustling Bay Area to a small, off-the-beaten-track, incredibly beautiful, artist-friendly village by the sea on the Northern California coast. As a writer, I know I’ll want to write about the experience, so you can be sure that “I’ll keep you posted”–no pun intended!

Coming soon . . . Photo by Darra Williamson
Coming soon . . .
Photo by Darra Williamson

I’ve loved the time I’ve spent working, playing, learning, and creating with Laura, Jennifer, Pati, and Christie, and look forward to returning for a guest post now and then. Also, like you, I’ll be eagerly following the latest here at See How We Sew. I know there are some fabulous things in store!

So that’s it for now. ‘Til we meet again (soon, I hope), happy stitching!

Darra-signature

42 thoughts on “Spring Arrives with a Bounty of (Fabric) Blooms . . . and a Giveaway!

  1. Darra, Wishing you and Brook the joy and peace of a simpler life. We have a sundial that says ‘Grow old along with me the bet is yet to be.’ Cannot express how true that is. Keep in touch really do not want to lose you again.
    Judy

    Like

  2. Spring is more sunshine, robins in our backyard and seeing the neighborhood kids riding their bikes and playing outside! Wish you the best on your move! The book looks wonderful1

    Like

  3. As a middle school teacher, a sure sign of spring is when my sixth graders return from spring break “twitterpated!” The flowers are in bloom, the sky is blue, the grass so lucious green, and my kids are full blooming in love with being in love! I smile and remember being a sixth grader in love; it’s a grand time of the year.

    Like

  4. Here in Oregon I know it is spring when a certain robin (I’m pretty sure the same one each year for ~8 years now!) decides it’s time to attempt every possible entry into our home!! He/she sits on a big rhododendron bush admiring its’ reflection in the window … wanting ever-so-much to meet that beautiful bird!! :) It’s amusing AND annoying! MANY thanks for your wonderful posts since I discovered SHWS. I’ve enjoyed them greatly. Best wishes to you!

    Like

  5. My first sign of spring is sneezing and running nose. I have hay fever. Sorry it may make you unpleasant, but very accurate. After my allergy symptoms are over, it’s the height of spring.

    Like

  6. Virtual bouquets are being thrown your way, Darra, the most wonderful colorist and wordsmith in the quilt world. I surmise Spring Training is a marker for you (and for my fantasy league-fanatic of a husband). For me, that’s not hell, just a bore, but give me those early-bloomin’ hellebores!

    Like

  7. Darra I will miss your wonderful posts but wish you peace, joy & love in your new adventure. Living in Hawaii it is spring everyday but when I lived in Ohio spring was arriving when the crocuses peeped through the soil or sometimes snow.

    Like

  8. The many birds return to nest around my yard. Allergies also mark the arrival of spring but the crocuses are a fragrant surprise as spring arrives! Will miss your posts but best wishes for a wonderful new chapter!

    Like

  9. first sign of spring for me is the rhubarb buds that peek thru the weeds that i forgot to pull last year! now its time for a spring dessert with that rhubarb.

    Like

  10. Here in the foothills of Colorado I look for the first pasqueflowers to bloom in the open space where I hike. They were in abundance this year with our wet fall and winter. I spotted them a couple of weeks ago and they are now being followed by the sandlillies which are now in bloom. I enjoyed reading all of the comments. Thanks for the chance to win the book which I would love to have.

    Like

  11. Our start of Spring are the bulbs shoots, daffodils, tulips, and crocus love those blooms. Thanks for offering this giveaway, my your future be bright.

    Like

  12. Best wishes, Darra! I know Spring is truly here when there is a certain scent in the air– a combination of blooming bulbs and lilac that I know when I sense it but can’t really define for anyone who isn’t there when it happens.

    Like

  13. Darra I love your pictures. Having grown up in northern California I loved the early spring flowers. Now I live in Central Utah and Have been watching the robins out gathering supplies for their nests. Even though the allergies are terrible this year, I love the trees in blossom.

    Like

  14. Enjoy your new “status.” I have always looked forward to your lovely pictures. I have an apple tree in my yard which when it starts to bud, I know that spring is really coming. Unfortunately always have a “heads-up” on spring with my allergies that let me know well in advance. As much as I love spring and all it brings, I am usually “house-bound” for the most part, until the rains dampen the pollen or the weeds, trees and grass have finished doing what comes naturally.

    Like

  15. In Buffalo, NY where sometimes spring takes a bit of time to come, so blooms might have to wait – a sure sign of spring is BIRD SONG!! Birds know that it is just around the corner, even when we humans start to lose our patience…so I just listen to birds first think in the morning and that put smile on my face!
    That book looks really wonderful and creative – thank you for a lovely giveaway!
    And best of luck and lots of inspiration in your new place and new endeavors!

    Like

  16. the first hint of spring for me… the croaking of MANY frogs in a creek running along the back side of my house. i know spring has sprung when i fall asleep to the “music.” LOVE the look of the new book… THNX for the giveaway!! enjoy the slower-paced lifestyle.

    Like

  17. To me, spring is when the forsythia blooms. Love that bright yellow cheerfulness! Best of luck with your move, Darra. Thanks for all your posts.

    Like

  18. Good luck on your move!

    I know spring has arrived when I see the faint green as the trees star growing their leaves. It fascinated me when I was living in a mountainous area. The green just crept up one I drove by every day.

    Like

  19. The first sign of Spring for me is on the drive home. The weeping willow trees change ever so slightly from brown to a hint of green. Snow may still be on the ground but when I see this I know Spring is coming..

    Like

  20. The sure sign of Spring for me is when my rhubarb pokes through the ground, even when the next day, they are covered in snow.

    Like

  21. Here on Vancouver Island, where there are lots of sheep farms, when we see the wee black lambs frolicking in the fields we know for sure that spring has arrived! The book looks wonderful!

    Like

  22. For me the first sign of spring is our wedding anniversary. My husband and I were married on the first day of spring 2004. Although the calendar day of spring varies slightly from year to year I still mark spring by our special date!

    Like

  23. Here in Massachusetts – my ideal spring marker is the return of those wonderful hummingbirds hovering around their readied feeders. Thanks for the chance for that wonderful book – I would really love to own it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

