Yoko Saito Redux: English-Language Patterns Available Now + Giveaway!

Inspiration-J:  Summer Flowers
Happy summer solstice (a little tardy). My parents celebrated their 68th anniversary on the 21st–holy guacamole that’s a lonnggg shared history! Felicitations to all those June brides and grooms!

1-Giveaway IconLooks like I’m not the only Yoko Saito fan in search of English-language versions of her patterns. (BTW:  Here’s the link to my earlier Yoko Saito post.) World Book Media out of Salem, Massachusetts has entered the market with a Japanese Quilt Artist Series pattern line (translated into English) featuring Yoko Saito for their debut as well as Zakka Workshop projects–quick and fun scrap-friendly projects made in mere hours. Both product lines are available at World Book Media’s Etsy site.

Let’s take a look at the Yoko Saito quilt pattern fare:

Patterns-J:  Joko Saito Series

Would you like to see more?  Here are my top 2:

Love, love, love this pattern!
Love, love, love this pattern!

Yoko Saito creates evocative designs with such simple touches like outrageously perfect fabric choices. Also, her simple quilting motif enhances the blossoming cherry trees and stars without being overwhelming.

That melting snowman featured below is so charming and just a little poignant. (Plus she finds yet another perfect venue for her bare trees fabric.)

Isn't this the cutest winter mini quilt?
Isn’t this the cutest winter mini quilt?

The remaining trio of patterns are fun projects for personal use and home decor. The Afternoon Tea Mats pattern makes me laugh for the eccentric use of language–short . . . cake maybe?

Pattern-J:  Yoko SaitoPattern-J:  Yoko SaitoPattern-J:  Yoko Saito

x

Giveaway Details

I’m looking for 5 winners this week. Yup, 5! No guarantees which pattern you’ll receive.  Random drawing, random numbering on the patterns as well. Leave me a comment by Thursday, June 26 and I will announce the winners in my Friday post. Answer this question: Given the opportunity to win a pattern, would you go Yoko Saito neutral or color mad?

On Friday I’ll be featuring a small birthday project I adapted from the center wreath block of the Quilt-Along: Blackbirds & Blossoms Oh-La-La! I hope you’ll stop by and find inspiration!

J-Signature

56 thoughts on “Yoko Saito Redux: English-Language Patterns Available Now + Giveaway!

  1. So glad to see English versions of these patterns! I would go for the neutrals and love the cherry blossoms pattern. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  2. I think I would go with the neutrals just to see if I could do it. Thank you so much for the great giveaway-I would love any one of her patterns.

    Like

  3. The Cherry Blossoms is perfect as is, but I could be tempted to try bolder colors for the others. It’s always fun seeing patterns done up with different colors.

    Like

  4. This would be my first Yoko Saito project, so I would stay neutral, true to her design. She has such a wonderful color scheme, calming and sophisticated, so why not give that a go.

    Like

  5. I guess neutral. I love the cherry blossom quilt. So my taste is what that is. I’m guessing neutral because it’s calm and uses a lot of taupe and pale pink :) Thanks for the chance to win one of the awesome patterns!

    Like

  6. Hello, would surely apply a bit of both. Yoko Saito’s Cherry Blossom Mini Quilt is lovely. Any of her patterns would be fun to win. Thank-you

    Like

  7. Hi There,
    I would go off the rails and go colour mad as I just love colour!!!
    If I win, could I please have the home pouch pattern????
    Thanks so much for the giveaway,
    Jacqueline in Pitt Meadows

    Like

  8. I have admired Yoko’s wonderful artistic talent for a long time and would love to have one of her
    patterns. Since I tend to make really bright quilts — it would be a good change to try the neutral/
    taupe colors using one of her designs. Thank you for this opportunity to win.

    Like

  9. What a beautiful set of patterns…with colors so soft and soothing! I’d love to do any one of these just as they are. My favorite is the Cherry Blossoms.

    Like

  10. It would depend on the pattern… some seem to lend themselves more to the color mad option and I’d likely give it a try with a little different spin.

    Like

  11. I would love to try one of Yoko Saito’s patterns. I seem to be “into” Japanese lately, doing some Sashiko, it so relaxing. Now to find a way to use those samplers I made. Thanks for the opportunity to learn some new techniques that will come from the simplicity of the Japanese.

    Like

  12. I would go neutral. I have worked mostly in brights, and would like to try something different. Love the patterns.

    Like

  13. Oh, thank you for telling us about the English version of Yoko Saito’s patterns! I have oodles of taupe fabrics just waiting for the perfect project. I love everything Yoko does.

    Like

  14. Her patterns are so sweet. (The Home Town Pouch is especially adorable.) I love the way she uses neutrals, and I would use them too.

    Like

  15. It would be hard for me to try something different than the neutrals, but I think it would be fun to try a few blocks in different colour lines and see if they speak to me too. Normally I earn towards saturated colours.

    Like

  16. I haven’t been a follower for long, but now that I’ve seen Yoko Saito’s patterns, I’d be thrilled to win one. If I don’t win, I may have to go out and buy one. I, too, love the cherry blossoms quilt – just gorgeous! At this point, I think I’d prefer the neutrals, but that could change in an instant if the pattern spoke to me in lots of colors! :-)

    Like

  17. While the younger me would have gone color mad, I now find myself drawn to neutrals. I think they are a source of calm in a hectic world.

    Like

  18. Oh I have not seen these before. I love, love, love that snowman one…..would like to make that my Christmas gift for friends this year!!!

    Like

  19. I fell in love with her little houses. Would love love to be able to do ine. Thrilling to have the patterns in english.

    Like

  20. I would pick neutrals, but as life is not all neutral or all color, would find a way to use a bit of color to enhance the work.

    Like

  21. Her work is so lovely, I do find myself wondering how her designs would look in a more colourful pallet, her choices always seem so restful.

    Bev

    Like

  22. Of course neutrals for her patterns…..and then….I would have to use my cherished Kaffe fabrics for saturated color! :)

    Like

  23. Oh wow – Yoko Saito patterns in English… drool… I think I would definitely go Yoko Saito neutral at least once, but then my love of colours would probably escape.

    Like

  24. I would choose a neutral colour scheme. I love the quilt on the cherry blossom pattern. Gorgeous. Thanks for the information.

    Like

  25. Oh – thank you for this chance! I would not change a thing – it’s her style and made to be in neutral – not that I don’t change things up – and I do LOVE color – but just not here. Like you said -
    we love her outrageously perfect fabric choices. Blessings!! i love the tea mats particularly.

    Like

  26. How much I appreciate this up-to-date news about the availability of Yoko’s patterns in translation! I would definitely try my first project with neutrals, not only because I love them, but I really see Yoko’s patterns shining in that palette!

    Like

  27. I love Yoko Saito’s work so much, I would be tempted to try both options of a taupe color palette and also see what could be achieved with a totally different choice of colors. I would love any one of her patterns. Thanks for your post on this new offering of her patterns.

    Like

Leave a Reply

