Organization is Key to a Stress-Free Wedding

flowersAs I write this I am away on a much-needed sewing and quilting retreat in beautiful Tahoe Donner. After several weeks of constant wedding prep, I must say that it is taking some time to ease into a relaxed lifestyle.

If there were just one piece of wedding prep advice I could share with you, I think it would be: get organized. Never did I dream that my years of ¬†working trade shows would serve me well during this time of wedding preparations. Anyone out there looking for a good wedding planner? I think I’ve got this down now . . . just kidding! I’ve got another one coming up next May–it should be a piece of cake.

Fortunately, two weeks before the wedding I asked my daughter the important question of how she planned to get all the “stuff” to the venue; since the wedding was being held in Grass Valley which is two hours away. Is a trailer rental in the game plan, or what?

Just a fraction of the stuff going to the wedding.
Just a fraction of the stuff going to the wedding.

Since neither of us would be available the day of the wedding to assist with set-up, it was important to communicate the design vision clearly for the set-up crew. For the prior two days I had Molly set-up each space (welcome table, head table, cake table, etc) exactly as she wanted it. I took photos and made a list of all the items included at each space. Each space was assigned a letter (A, B, C, etc). Finally, all the items were boxed and assigned the appropriate letter. It was a lot of work, but as a result, everything ran smoothly.

Screen Shot 2014-08-04 at 12.10.52 PM

We have not yet received all of the photos from the photographer, but I wanted to share a few of them with you today: ¬†1) The sweet flower girl getting ready for her runway walk. The robe was made by yours truly. 2) Princess Brooklyn could not have been more precious. 3) A special father-daughter moment. Laura's collage Here’s one of my favorites:

The setting, the lighting, the couple . . . everything was lovely!
The setting, the lighting, the couple . . . everything was lovely!

Thanks for letting me share this special time in my life. My best to all of you.

L1-Signature

8 thoughts on “Organization is Key to a Stress-Free Wedding

  1. Just beautiful Laura, I was just thinking about you last week about the wedding, too. So glad to hear it all went well. Hope to see you soon!

    Like

  2. So happy all went well – but, of course, YOU organized it! My heart fluttered when you asked if anyone needed a wedding planner as our son is marrying next June. Even though you were kidding, I did learn a lot from your posts. (I started using the Pink Armor Nail Gel the next day after you showed the picture of your nails, and noticed a difference within two weeks. For the first time in literally years, all of my nails are the same length now! You should be getting a commission from them – all my friends are buying it now, too!) Donna

    Like

  3. Stress-free wedding? Isn’t that an oxymoron? Thanks for sharing the photos of the wedding. It looks like a beautiful venue and the picture of the bride and groom is gorgeous! Congratulations to all!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

