Time Marches On with a NEW Book Soon to Arrive

Reflecting on my life today, and thinking about this crazy thing we call time.

Sixty–yikes, yes!–60 years ago today my mother and I began our special mother-daughter relationship.

L-01

Thirty years ago, I married my college sweetheart. We worked hard together to raise two of the most wonderful daughters. Can’t believe he will be retiring at the end of the month. How did this happen so quickly?

L-04

Twenty-five years ago, my dear friend and co-author, Diana McClun, and I launched our first book, Quilts! Quilts!! Quilts!!! Its success encouraged a second edition in 1997, and I am so pleased to announce that we have been given the gift of offering yet a third edition of this quilting classic! It will be released in October from Breckling Press.

L-03

L-05

There are so many other memories flooding my mind today and I would love to share more, but time marches on and I am spending the day working to meet a deadline to get this newest “baby” off to the printer so it will arrive in time for its delivery date: Fall Quilt Market in Houston this October.

L-02

I know you will love this book. We’ve included 28 new quilts, plus teaching samplers for beginners. I can’t wait for you to see it! (If you don’t have a copy of the Second Edition, there are still some available, although it will soon be out of print.)

Now…back to my task for the day. Wish me luck.

L: editing

Sending my best to all of you. Until next time, happy sewing everyone!

PS – Thanks to all of you who responded to my previous post. The lucky winner of my red and white quilt blocks is Sharri Marich. To all of the winners of my new rulers, I thank you for your patience with my crazy schedule. Please know that I have not forgotten you. The rulers will be mailed by the end of the week.

L1-Signature

17 thoughts on “Time Marches On with a NEW Book Soon to Arrive

  1. 1995-took your class at ‘Thimble Creek’ in Walnut Creek, CA. Loved the quilt and the class but discovered to my dismay I could not hand quilt (still don’t do a decent job and I avoid it). Many quilts later (machine quilted!) I have my 18 year old first quilt out and half quilted. Responding to our guild challenge to “just finish it” I’ll be done by our October Retreat. Belated thank you for that wonderful class and starting me on a path I love. Making quilts is joy-filled.
    Look forward to the new book.
    Mahalo, Ann Lum

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday Laura! And CONGRATS on the 3rd edition! I have the first one, signed by both you & Diana. It is a ‘KEEPER’. Also, thanks for mentioning the rulers, i’ll stop worrying.

    Like

  3. Belated Happy Birthday Laura! Just catching up on emails and wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed the photos in your timeline. Thank you for sharing these!

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday Laura! And congrats on another edition of your fantastic book. I have the 1st ed. and still use it…it’s been pretty well loved I may have to get the new one. :0)

    Like

  5. When I first started my quilting adventure I started watching Simply Quilts. The first episode was these two wonderful women. Their book was the first one I purchased. It was obvious they were truly friends. Happy birthday and thanks for the memories.

    Like

  6. Happy Birthday! Your second edition has been a frequent resource and point of inspiration. Congratulations on the opportunity to publish a third edition.

    Like

  7. Laura, at the age of 74 I can truly appreciate your amazement of time’s march! I am so delighted to hear about the third edition of your wonderful book. I have both of the others and I’ll certainly be a customer for this one. You two ladies made quilting such a joy for so many of us!

    Like

  8. Laura, happy birthday and may next year bring you good health, much success and happiness. I’m soooo happy to hear you’re putting out another book. I have ALL of them and will need to add this one to the collection. I’m quite sure my love of quilting was inspired by my many classes with you. Cheers!

    Like

  9. Laura, Happy Birthday!!! Thank you for sharing your quilt inspiration with us, we are blessed by your talent! You rock! You go girl, and keep on quilting! Cheers, Trish

    Like

  10. Happy Birthday, dear Laura. Loved your post. Seeing that sweet photo of you and your mom made my morning. Also, I can tell we have been married the same amount of time, another sweet photo. Good luck with your book, I can’t wait to get one. Enjoy the process.

    Like

  11. Happy Birthday. My niece is just starting quilting and for her homework, she has your first edition (mine), of Quilts, Quilts, Quilts to look through. I still take it out. It may not return so I should look to the new book if that happens. I had better act fast…
    Have a wonderful day and keep making my days happy too with your creativity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

