Watercolorist Peg Conley Debuts Her First Clothworks Fabric Collection “Nature’s Glory”–Double Giveaway Today!

Here's one of Peg Conley's watercolor inspirations for her Clothworks fabric line.
Here’s one of Peg Conley’s watercolor inspirations for her Clothworks fabric line.

Remember our See How We Sew exhibit at Quilting in the Garden last fall? Well, Darra and I had the pleasure that weekend of meeting Peg Conley, a watercolorist who was selling her greeting cards at a nearby booth. Peg shared the exciting news that Clothworks had just tapped her to design a fabric collection based on her very pretty watercolors. Today we have the pleasure of sharing Peg’s new line with our readers. Scroll to the bottom of the post for the giveaway details! 

Giveaway-Gold

PG:  I’m thrilled to announce my first collection of quilting fabric developed with Clothworks available in stores this fall. It’s been a long and winding road to get to this point of “living a creative life” as I call it. My artful life entails “playing” with my watercolors, writing, making connections for licensing my art and, at this point, growing my greeting card line called Words and Watercolors.

My life as an artist began in college when I graduated with a degree in Interior Design, two courses short of a Graphic Design degree as well. I started exploring watercolor illustration back then when we took rendering courses. I loved the medium immediately and have played with my paints ever since. I’ve always been captivated by life’s little pleasures as well as the beauty inherent in nature. That’s what I try to capture with my artwork and what inspired Nature’s Glory, my Clothworks collection.

Fabric-J:  Nature's Glory Peg Conley Clothworks
A swatch of “Nature’s Glory” by Peg Conley

Creating the designs for the collection was great fun as it allowed me to go back to my graphic design roots. I work with another graphic designer, Sarah Stangle, who has been instrumental in helping me define the look of my brand, grow the greeting card line, and develop other products based on my paintings. Sarah is well versed in Photoshop and InDesign, programs I didn’t learn in college because they weren’t available then! Together we designed the patterns and selected the colorways for Nature’s Glory.  It was truly a collaboration with my watercolors as the inspiration.

Fabric-J: Nature's Glory Peg Conley Clothworks
A lovely citrusy print from Peg Conley’s Clothworks collection, “Nature’s Glory”

Joyce Cronkhite and Candice Hoffman of Clothworks saw my work at the stationery wholesale show last year where they were captivated by a poster-sized rendering of one of my citrus fruit illustrations. Joyce loved it immediately and saw its potential for quilting fabric. She actually selected the images that inspired Nature’s Glory.

Fabric-J: Nature's Glory Peg Conley Clothworks
Another coordinating print from Peg Conley’s Nature’s Glory–a mouthwatering close-up of juicy citrus.

I work either outdoors or at my dining room table. My paintings start as sketches, which can be fairly tight initially, and then loosen up as I add paint while listening to jazz music. As long as I sketch from real life, I can finish with watercolors using a digital photograph for reference. Sketching the actual object is much easier for me than looking at a flat image on a computer screen. I suspect it has to do with the vibrancy of the object or image I’m sketching. I can “see” it in real life and capture that vibrancy on the page.

The artist's creative life--Peg Conley at work.
The artist’s creative life–Peg Conley at work.

More Nature’s Glory Coordinates–Three Colorways Available

Fabric-J: Nature's Glory Peg Conley Clothworks

Fabric-J: Nature's Glory Peg Conley Clothworks

I’m happy to report that Sarah and I are busy working on our second collection for Clothworks!

Giveaway Details With Another Quick Turnaround!

Both Peg and Clothworks are contributing to the giveaway(s) today–so two lucky visitors will win a box of Peg’s beautiful Words and Watercolors stationery plus a fat quarter sampler of Nature’s Glory from Clothworks! What better way to experience Peg Conley’s artistry? So, what commenting challenge can I pose for our readers? Simple. Share your favorite quilting word(s). Leave me a comment by Thursday, July 11 and I’ll announce a winner on Friday, July 12. Apparently, I’m also announcing the winner of the mega giveaway on Friday as well so there’ll be all sorts of excitement here at See How We Sew. (And I thought the French wedding was exciting . . . details to follow soon!)

Jennifer’s favorite quilting word: F-A-B-R-I-C!

J-Signature

110 thoughts on “Watercolorist Peg Conley Debuts Her First Clothworks Fabric Collection “Nature’s Glory”–Double Giveaway Today!

  1. My favorite quilting word is “finished”. My next favorite quilting words are “new project”. I seem to use the second two words a lot more than the first word. This year I am trying to turn that around a bit.

    Like

  2. My favorite sewing words are “stitch in the ditch” and “on point” Makes me imagine a ballerina at a hoe down! I know I am sew silly 🙂

    Like

  3. I work at the Ronald McDonald House in Seattle, WA. We are oh so fortunate to have “The Block Party Quilters” and other creative and generous volunteers keep our Quilt Room stocked full, so that all patients and their sibs can pick a quilt to keep forever. One of my favorite tasks is taking families to the Quilt Room where I share with each child that …
    these very special quilts “are made with love to wrap you in love”.

    As for Peg’s “Nature’s Glory” collection: I remember when we were schlepping Criterions and you knew way back then, that today, here is where you wanted to be. Congratulations!

    Like

    1. Wiesia, How FUN to see you on this blog!! How wonderful as well that you are doing such good work with the Ronald McDonald house. Make sure they get some of this quilting fabric for the quilting room!!

      Like

  4. Family would be my favorite quilt word. Since Peg is my sister – she’s definitley family and usually quilts are made for family members.

    Like

  5. I love the word “quilty” — if it isn’t an actual word, it should be! To me, its most obvious meaning is “anything to do with quilts,” or “reminiscent of quilting.” In addition, I love the sound of it being near “guilty,” as in “sneaking” off to sew when there are other things that need to be done, or indulging in more fabric when there’s really no “need.”

    Like

  6. I also saw Peg Conley’s watercolor cards at Alden Lane and purchased several to frame and hang in my studio. I’d love to make a quilt to match. I share her joy in “nature’s colors”.

    Like

  7. Inspirational-I have a dear friend and former colleague who is also a painter and I have forwarded this post to him. I have been trying to get him to learn to sew and I hoping this summer it may finally happen. His work would also make wonderful fabric and I’m sure he’d enjoy the flexibility fabric provides. What a marvelous combination: a teacher/artist/painter/quilter-my hope for him some day. This fabric might just be the spark that starts the process rolling.

    Like

  8. Colorful + fabrics join together to be my favorite quilting words. I love fabrics with with watercolor flower designs! Makes me wish I could paint!

    Like

  9. I love, love , love these watercolor inspired fabrics! Cannot wait to get my hands on some! Thank you Peg Conley for sharing your artistry. My favorite quilt words are ” I made this for you”. It almost always makes me and the recipient cry!

    Like

  10. My favorite quilting word is Collaborate – as it contains color – and it speaks to me about how colors and patterns can work together to create combined beauty. Also it speaks to my feelings of community and shared ideas I get from your website.

    Like

  11. My favorite quilting word is “DONE!” 😛 Too bad I don’t get to say it more often…
    I also love “Fat Quarter” and “Jelly Roll.”

    Like

    1. So many good and enticing quilting words Sandy A. Yup, “done” is pretty compelling in the craft lexicon. I especially like the feeling of accomplishment when we get to say, “I’m done!”

      Like

  12. My fav word is “binding”. When I sew on binding I know I am almost finished and that is the greatest feeling. I have several friends who have finished quilts except for binding and I don’t get it. That spells finished to me.

    Like

  13. I love the word “patchwork.” It suggests history, diversity, perseverence, and making do. Today the word has different connotations. But it’s both inspiring and humbling to think that this craft we pursue for pleasure and beauty today was handed to us by women who had to persevere and make do.

    Like

    1. A beautiful thought associated with “patchwork” It’s wonderful to feel the connection to our clever quilting ancestors as we ply the craft today.

      Like

  14. My favorite quilting word is texture. I never thought about fabric as having texture, despite my many years of sewing clothes, until I took up quilting. I’m constantly amazed that seemingly flat, smooth fabric can have texture, and what that contributes to the quilts I make!

    Like

  15. I have really enJOYed getting to know the quilting community through my quilting fabric. How fun to see all these comments and learn more about this wonderfully creative, artsy, crafty, world of quilting!

    Like

  16. My favorite quilting words are “fabric” and “bind.” The fabric designs you’ve shown are so spontaneous & gorgeous. Love them. Thanks for the opportunity to win!

    Like

  17. I love the watercolor medium and have tried a little myself. Love this new line. The watercolor prints are gorgeous! Favorite words: ever evolving and learning. With quilting there is always something new to learn.

    Like

  18. Your f a b r i c is so original and beautiful. I especially enjoy the florals.I can picture them in one of my quilts. Thanks.

    Like

    1. I spoke to Jocelyn at Clothworks this morning and she says to expect the fabric in shops in the fall. Do let your local quilt shop know that you’re interesting in “Nature’s Glory.”

      Like

  19. Creativity is my favorite quilting word….I have been crafty and sewing all my life….quilting is just an extension of that.

    Like

  20. You’ve solved one of my great dilemmas! With these beautiful fabrics I can experience the great outdoors WHILE I’m sewing! Awesome!

    Like

  21. Currently traveling through southern Alberta, Canada marveling at the incredible wild flowers. This fabric is indeed a breath of fresh air.

    Like

  22. The quilting “words” I unfortunately use are ” As you sew, so shall you rip”! ” It only has to be right the last time you do it” and last but not least, ” If you don’t have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?” Sharri Marich Sdmarich@att.net

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

  23. ‘Creating’ is why I quilt, even when following a pattern that has caught my eye, the opportunity is always there to ‘create’ something new and different by your own use of color or texture or mixing into the project some different design elements. There are no boundaries to your own vision.

    Like

  24. My favorite quilting word is DONE, I love when I finish a top, it doesn’t even have to be quilted. That sense of accomplishment is wonderful.

    Like

  25. There is one phrase in particular I have always loved . . . “When this you see, remember me”. I like the idea that you are leaving a little piece of yourself behind, and just maybe you left the world a little better . . . and warmer.

    Like

  26. what luscious stuff! Quilt words: “infinite possibilities”, “for you”, “applique”, and “reverse stitching” – without which I would have given up by now!

    Like

  27. My favorite quilting words are, “I can’t wait to get started on this project” and “here you are, I made this for you” because I love every part of the process from start to finish!

    Like

Leave a Reply

