Doing the Happy (Quilting) Dance and a Giveaway

This week I finished the final proofing for the brand-new, completely updated edition of Quilts! Quilts!! Quilts!!!, to be published this fall by Breckling Press. I can’t begin to tell you how wonderful this feels. I’m doing the happy dance!

QQQ3

I’m keeping this short and sweet as I plan to spend the day sewing. I haven’t touched my machine in four months! I am ready to start a new project and just can’t wait.

Giveaway-GoldI’m so anxious to share the book with you and would love to offer a copy to one of our loyal readers. If you are willing to wait until October when it releases, simply leave a comment telling us what causes you to do “the happy dance” by August 2nd and I will announce a winner with my next post on August 20th.

Happy sewing everyone!

L1-Signature

115 thoughts on “Doing the Happy (Quilting) Dance and a Giveaway

  1. My happy dance starts when all men in my house leave me home alone to watch chick flicks and quilt… the biggest happy dance every year is when I get to go to quilt for 4 days in beautiful Bodega Bay with my quilting sisters 🙂

    Like

  2. I do a Happy Dance when I meet my quilting and rug hooking friends for a day of sharing! I am so lucky to have these great friends.

    Like

  3. I do a Happy Dance when I put weird colors together on a project and friends said “That looks great, I wouldn’t have thought of those colors looking great together.” and when my grandson says “Neat”.

    Like

  4. My happy dance comes from: the feeling of the very first quilt I made at the point I could feel it resting in my lap as a whole pieced quilt top while adding each block.

    Like

  5. My happy dance is when I have a light bulb moment when trying to come up with an idea for a project , a postcard design or maybe a swap project . Thanks for the chance to win .

    Like

  6. Cannot wait for the new book! CONGRATS! My happy dance is a finished project displayed for all to see and snuggle in!

    Like

  7. My happiest dance happens when I’ve finished the free motion part of my quilt. I love running my hand over the stitching and smiling!

    Like

  8. My happy dance will be when I get my entry way flooring done and all painted. As I was painting the stair well I fell and injured my back. I had hoped to get the painting done before the flooring goes in but that may not happen.

    Like

  9. My Happy Dance will be next spring when I retire and can finally spend my days in my sewing studio! And your new book will certainly be a welcome addition there!

    Like

  10. I happy dance when I am cleaning out an old purse and find hidden money that can go straight into the kitty for my next project!

    Like

  11. My Happy dance is being told about a new granddaughter on the way. I love making baby quilts and burp cloths. I can’t wait to go shopping or making dresses, bibs and bows. This is going to be fun.

    Like

  12. My happy dance starts when I sit down to sew! I love looking at patterns and getting great ideas. Then tweaking just a bit to make them really mine…

    Like

  13. I do the Happy Dance when I make some clothing item for my kids and it actually fits and then wear the item repeatedly. 🙂

    Like

  14. I love having even just a little concentrated time for sewing. Your book looks beautiful. Thanks for giving all of us a chance to win a copy.

    Like

  15. In my quilting world I do a happy dance everytime a quilt order finally arrives in the mail!! I also do a happy dance when I complete a project!! Come on you just gotta!!

    Like

  16. My happy dance occurs almost every time I enter a fabric store and get to pet all the new fabrics. The new designs that are coming out are so beautiful that I can’t keep from adding to the already overwhelming stash!

    Like

  17. laura, i’m looking forward to your newly revised quilting “bible” of how to do it all. i have your first two editions and look forward to the new techniques and new quilts. after working my way through your book, i can look at any block and see how to do it. thanks for the great instructions.

    Like

  18. I belong to a Thursday night Strip Club – as in we started the club using jelly rolls to design with. I am a fairly new quilter (3 yrs) so when I finish something that the club has all done and it looks as good as the rest of the members – that is Happy Dance time for me. My confidence is growing and I am becoming a better quilter. You have to dance like no one is watching. You go girl!!!

    Like

  19. I ‘d do a happy dance if I could once sit down and sew to my hearts content without interruptions, and not have to do any unsewing. I’m really good at that because I do not get enough practice sewing. Be nice to win something too.

    Like

  20. My annual sewing retreat with my sisters— for 7 days!! No work, easy meals and lots of sewing time! Quilting is a shared love with my sisters and 89 year old mother who instilled a love of sewing when I was just a little girl.

    Like

  21. I’m doing the happy dance because earlier this week I started a new job at a well-known quilting magazine! Such fun to be surrounded by beautiful quilts and talented people.

    Like

  22. As I’m still very new to quilting, my happy dance happens pretty much each time I finish a block 🙂 lol, they aren’t perfect yet but they’re getting better!

    Like

  23. I found a sewing cabinet at an estate sale last weekend and my machine fit perfectly in it. I had 7 new “empty” drawers to fill. Happy Dance and Happy Sewing!!!

    Like

  24. I do the happy dance every Friday at 4:30 when I get off work for the weekend. I also do it when I finish a project!

    Like

  25. My happy dance happens whenever I get to stay home all day and sew…my seam would be perfect and seams nest when they are supposed to.

    Like

  26. I do the “happy dance” when I get my fabric that I ordered online! Like today, my fabric is here and love just looking at all the wonderful colors I ordered!

    Like

  27. All the excitement of learning how to quilt has me and my daughter happy dancing every day! We’ve been learning so much from your Craftsy class and are very much looking forward to getting the latest edition of your book.

    Like

  28. My happy dance would be to have an updated Quilts book. I have the original and refer to it often…how did you make it better?

    Also, I would be happy, very happy, if it were less than 100F today, but I don’t think that is going to happen.

    Like

  29. Fabric, fabric, more fabric makes me do a happy dance. I would do a double happy dance if I was to receive your book especially if you signed it. Thanks in advance

    Like

  30. I’m doing the happy dance because this month I’ve finished quilting one quilt and have started the second one. Almost time for a new quilt project! Congratulations on your new book! I’d be more than willing until October to win and receive a copy. Please count me in.

    Like

  31. Fabric,fabric,fabric makes me do a happy dance- and I would do a double happy dance if I won your book especially if you were to sign it. Thanks Hope to win

    Like

  32. Your book was my “go-to” when I began quilting; glad to see it coming back. I do my Happy Dance twice a year when our Guild donates the quilts we make to local agencies for their clients. It’s so heart-warming to be in charge of a project where we give over 150 quilts a year to our community.

    Like

  33. Congratulations on completing the new edition of your book! I do a happy dance when the person I have made something for opens the gift and just loves what they’ve received. Thank you for the opportunity to enter your drawing.

    Like

  34. Congratulations! My happy dance is when I finish a quilt and it turns out just like I wanted. Thank you for the chance to win a copy of the book.

    Like

  35. My happy dance is sparked by seeing a finished quilt top that is just as exciting as it was in my imagination, or else (second happy dance!) seeing a finished FM quilting motif that has turned out well. Thanks for the chance to win!

    Like

  36. Congrats on the new edition of a classic book! Happy Dance is returning to reality refreshed after getting lost in the fabric and sewing and letting the world slip away.

    Like

  37. My Happy Dance overcomes me when I give a specially made quilt (or quilted item) to someone I love and see their reaction. At times like these I couldn’t be happier!

    Like

  38. My happy dance comes at the end of a sewing session that I’ve not had to employ the “frog stitch”…..rip it, rip it, rip it!!!!!!

    Like

  39. My happy dance today is having 3 new ideas to design and draft for our Material Girlfiends retreat in September…Same weekend as the Alden Lane Quilt Show! Gearing up and excited to be dancing happy!!!!!

    Like

  40. My happy dance is the satisfaction I get when I finish a project for one of my children, grandchildren or great grandchildren, and see the happy and loving expression on their faces.

    Like

  41. Had my happy day last week working with granddaughters 13 and 10 doing quilts for their cousins. They learned their skills from your kids class.

    Like

  42. I think what makes me happiest is to have a project where the pattern and the fabric comes together and you know that the completed item will be beautiful.

    Like

  43. When I try a new quilting technique (like designing my own foundation pieced wall quilt with pieces as small as1/4″ by 3/4″ and directional fabric) it takes lots of repetition – reverse sewing. I love the “I can do this!”, happy dance feeling when I get it, learn it, and grow my quilt skills.

    Like

  44. I will to a ‘Happy Dance’ next month when I have my 86th Birthday and can still make quilts!, go the classes, and read you e-mails Laura. Congratulations on your book, can’t wait to see it.
    Pearl

    Like

  45. My happy dance is a quilt finished this week, queen size, with needle-turn borders and hand quilted – nearly sixteen years in the making!

    Like

  46. Waking at 5:30am, to a clear summer morning, watching the sunrise, mounting my bike and riding Mt. Diablo, the agony of uphill and the thrill of the downhill, returning home to find a favorite quilt just waiting to be finished, in batiks so rich I can taste them, and having the luxury of an entire day to play at my machine – this is my “happy dance!” Congratulations, Laura, on your new edition of “Quilts, Quilts, Quilts.” My very first quilting book was the first edition, and I still use it as my quilting bible.

    Like

  47. I love your first Quilts!Quilts!Quilts! It has been my “go to” resource book for quilting. My happy dance is knowing you have updated it! Thank you for the chance to win a copy….Connie in California

    Like

  48. I do the Happy Dance when I am sewing on the last borders and find that they are precisely the right length and everything is square.

    Like

  49. I am new to quilting but I did the happy dance just the other day when I completed my first quilt top now on to quilting

    Like

  50. My happy dance is playing with fabric – new or old – small cuts or yardage. Thanks for the wonderful giveaway – Blessings!!

    Like

  51. I’m doing the happy dance when I solve a design dilemma, finally settling on the right color choice or fabric placement and have the feeling that everything is “just so”.

    Like

  52. I do a happy dance when everything goes together well. You know colors, seams and the person I made the quilt for is so happy they do a happy dance!

    Like

  53. Hi Laura and co, congrats on the new book.
    I did a happy dance when I bought my Newest Machine, my Horizon7700 as a closeout on eBay Brand New for less than a lot of sellers were selling 2nd hand ones.
    BTW, I do have one of one of the issues of this book, not sure when it was published.
    Thank you for the chance to win.

    Like

  54. My Happy Dance would be to have a day off with no errands to run and free reign to sew or craft in any way that moves me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

