Lessons from the Mother of a Pinterest-Mad Bride-to-Be

My friend passed these along to me now that her wedding planning is behind her.
My friend passed these along to me now that her wedding planning is behind her.

 

Ahh, Pinterest: Is it a blessing or a curse? Events seemed so much easier thirty years ago when I was planning my wedding. When I looked for ideas and inspiration I simply purchased the current bride/wedding magazines to see what was in vogue. Today, with the popularity of Pinterest, the online pinboard, there are virtually thousands of photos arranged into categories. One can easily get lost for hours browsing through all the images.

My daughter is a very hands-on kinda gal and wants this event to reflect her creative esthetic. Her attention to every detail is admirable, but from my point of view, can be a bit daunting. I trust everything will be lovely and her hard work will yield a wonderful day filled with all the love and good wishes from her family and friends.

There are so many books and websites providing advice, but thought I would share a few lessons I’ve learned over the past several months. I hope they might be of some help for any of you who might soon be walking down this path.

  1. Start early. It’s never too soon to get started on those projects. Seems like the to-do list gets longer rather than shorter as the date approaches.
  2. Get organized and make check lists. It’s too easy to let some of the important details fall through the cracks.
  3. Don’t assume. Communication is important, right at the starting gate. Things have changed as far as who covers the expenses. Both the bride and groom need to talk with their respective parents and be clear on what the budget and/or contributions will be. This can avoid lots of confusion . . . trust me on this one.
  4. Lots of love and support. I had to constantly remind my self that this is not about me. I have had my day in the sun. I have learned to smile and keep many opinions to myself.
  5. Stay focused and have fun.  With many projects brewing all at once it can easily become overwhelming. A little down time, lively music or favorite movie playing can lighten the day.
  6. Don’t be afraid to ask for help. In our case, we invited the mother of the groom to help with some of the projects. Fortunately she lives nearby. Not only was she a huge help but brought us closer together and made her feel like part of the event.
  7. DSC03382On a personal note, this little bottle has been a miracle worker.  My nails have not looked this good since I was taking pre-natal vitamins, some 28 years ago ; ).  And finally, SPANX! Need I say more?

That’s it for today. I’ll be back next month, hopefully sharing some lovely photos. As always, thanks for being here.

L1-Signature

12 thoughts on “Lessons from the Mother of a Pinterest-Mad Bride-to-Be

  1. What a great post!!! You know, I am only beginning. I am so excited to plan this with my daughter and know that you will help keep me sane through this process.

    Like

  2. Laura,, I can feel your excitement and I know all of everyone’s hard work will result in the day of your daughters dreams. I hope to see many lovely pictures and don’t forget the mother of the bride photos!!!!

    Like

  3. My wonderful DIL was estranged from her mom when she was planning her wedding to our only son. They had it at Salty’s, a restaurant in west Seattle with views to downtown and the needle. It was tiny (under 30) but simple and very elegant. We had a wonderful time-We just wrote a check or two-which they never asked for but really appreciated. Where do you get the pink nail gel?

    Like

    1. I was also interested in the “magic” nail gel Laura mentioned and found it in the “As Seen on TV” section of our local CVS pharmacy.

      Like

  4. Oh Laura, I’m so happy and excited for you. Our son and his fiancee’ just booked their wedding for June 26, 2015 (one year from last Friday) so I’ve enjoyed your posts and look forward to your pictures. Like everything you do, I know the wedding will be beautiful and perfect. (Thanks for the nail tip — I’ll start working on mine tomorrow!)

    Like

  5. Yes, seems like the young people are oh so busy these days. Simple and elegant is definitely my style. I know it will be lovely. Thanks for stopping in and sharing.

    Like

  6. I have a feeling you will be the loveliest mother of the bride ever… in pink! Can’t wait to see the pictures.

    Including his mother was a great idea and what an opportunity to build a foundation for years to come.

    Enjoy the day. I will be thinking of you on the 13th! Such happy times to come…

    Best wishes,

    Pat

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  7. Love your list. My daughter will be celebrating her 5th Wedding Anniversary this month. She did all the planning, etc herself. At the time she was “into” wedding planning and had taken a class from a consultant with plans to work in the field. Well, that didn’t work out, but she was/is extremely well organized. I was honored to help her design her dress for the event, but my role was not as involved as I would’ve expected, but that’s what she wanted, so i was happy to accomodate her. The ceremony was held at a beautiful winery and although there were a few problems, overall it ws a huge success. Her dad and I did accompany her on her “tasting” adventure which was fun. We arrived the night of the rehersal BBQ dinner which we hosted with the groom’s family. The bridal party shared two houses and we all had a great time and it’s a memory we will always cherish.

    Like

    1. Oh Rosemary, thanks so much for sharing your experience. I’m hoping ours will be just as special. Take care.

      Like

  8. My smart, kind, and beautiful FFDIL is marrying my son next June. Not sure what kind of wedding planning there will be. They’ve been together since senior year in high school, almost 8 years ago. They’ve been engaged for 3.5 years already. They are BUSY and not often in the same place. She’ll be finishing her master’s degree 6 weeks before the wedding. He’ll still be in pilot training. They will not be in the same town. He’ll hope to be granted leave for at least a few days… So I believe it will be simple and elegant. 🙂

    Best wishes to the happy couple.

    Like

Leave a Reply

