Shortcuts! A few quick tricks for a fast, fun quilt.

A while back, I kept hearing about quick and fun ways to make blocks using unusual construction techniques. I would hear about one, then someone would say, “Oh -that reminds me of another one!” That’s when I started thinking it would be fun to put them all together into one quilt – and so I did.

It is appropriately named, Shortcuts!

Shortcuts-Pat-Fried

Shortcuts! was designed so that it could easily be made with one layer cake, along with a few extra scraps, and a background fabric. Many of the blocks have a 3-dimensional aspect to them, which adds even more fun to the quilt. I taught this last spring in a workshop and the results were wonderful! I was surprised at how quickly the blocks went together. You can see some of the work here. Most of the students used a layer cake, so each quilt had a look completely different from the next.

At the end of January, I will be teaching the class again at Broadway Quilts in Sonoma, California. I wanted to make the quilt in a completely different color palette and a more contemporary style of fabrics to take with me. I used a colorful group of Grunge Basics, a selection from a layer cake called  Comma by Zen Chic and a fabulous background fabric from Jennifer Sampou’s newest line, color:Full.

2015-01-12 12.11.58

Same blocks, just a few tweaks on how many of each and a totally different placement.

2015-01-12 12.12.53

This time, I chose to showcase the background fabric and use it for the centers of my snowball blocks. It completely changed the overall look, don’t you think?
2015-01-12 12.14.31   2015-01-12 12.13.26

Most of the blocks have a 3-dimensional element tucked in.

2015-01-12 12.15.46

Awesome quilting by Kerry Reed. I love the back almost as much as the front.

2015-01-12 12.11.10

I am always looking for a new way to finish off the center of a Dresden. This one adds a bit of a rustic, folk art feel to the quilt. I simply stacked and fused some circles and then raveled the edges.

I love to rework a quilt in different fabrics to see how much it can vary from one quilt to the next. This quilt is so fun to make, I could just keep going and going! I am now putting the finishing touches on the pattern for this quilt. I will let you know when it is ready.

Have a fabulous weekend.

Pati Signature

9 thoughts on “Shortcuts! A few quick tricks for a fast, fun quilt.

  1. WOW that’s terrific! Love the off-center placement of the Dresden plate. Really the layout in total, the rich colors, and awesome background fabric make it so interesting and fun to look at. Great job, Pati.

    Like

    1. Thanks you Melanie. It was definitely awesome fabric to work with. I think Dresdens have a lot more potential in them than just the obvious layout. Glad you enjoyed the quilt.

      Like

  2. Wow! What a leap you made from the first to the second. Not only the variation in scale, but the textural elements of the snowballs and Dresden center made this quilt interesting and Fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

