Select Print & Piece – New Product for Foundation and Paper Piecing & Giveaway

As promised, I have given another one of Alex Anderson’s new product for quilters a try. Select Print and Piece by Floriani definitely gets a thumbs up in my book! I am embarrassed to say that I have truly never embraced paper-piecing, primarily because I don’t enjoy removing all the papers and especially dislike all the little bits of paper that often remain on the back side of the block. With that said, I am impressed with this product for a variety of reasons.

Quilters Select Print & Piece
Quilters Select Print & Piece

First, I like the weight and feel of this fiber-based product. It is available in 8-1/2″ x 11″ sheets which will easily and conveniently run through your home printer. I made a copy of the square-in-a-square pattern that is included in the pack of 25 sheets. I selected a few fun fabrics and soon started the paper piecing process.

Pirnt&Piece1

As with all foundation and paper-pieced patterns, the process was organized and easy. After I had completed sewing the sequence of pieces, I trimmed the block and began the process of removing the paper. It was surprisingly easy and removal was not messy – no little bits of paper stuck in the stitching lines. I started to tear the paper, which worked quite well, and then looked again at the instructions which suggests first dampening the stitching lines for easy removal. I didn’t have a q-tip, as suggested, so I simply used a spray bottle of water that was on hand in the classroom, and lightly spritzed the backside of the block. Voila! This worked perfectly! The paper came off easily, and large pieces, with no little bits remaining in the stitching lines. Also, I must note that I even forgot to shorten my stitch length as is generally suggested with paper piecing, and I am happy to say there was NO distortion of the stitches.

Print&Piece5

Print&Piece3

 

Removal of the paper is optional. If you like, you can choose to leave it in the quilt and you will hardly know it’s there. About 50% of it will dissipate when the quilt or project is washed.

Well, Alex, thanks again for sharing with us another great product! We love anything that helps make the process easier and more enjoyable.

Again, Alex has provided a package of the Select Print and Piece as a giveaway for one of our readers. Just leave us a comment by end of day Friday, July 10th, telling us why you would like to receive this gift. The winner will be announced in Pati’s post next week.

The winner of the rolls of Select Appli-Stick and Appli-Web Plus is Pam S. Thank you to all of you who took time to post comments. I wish I had rolls for everyone but hope you will have an opportunity to give the products a try and encourage your local quilt shops to keep it in stock. Here is a link to the Quilters Select website where you can find a list of the quilt shops that carry these and many more products.

Until until next time, happy creating everyone!

Laura Signature

53 thoughts on “Select Print & Piece – New Product for Foundation and Paper Piecing & Giveaway

  1. I’ve only made one paper pieced quilt and disliked having to remove the paper so much that I decided that paper piecing wasn’t for me. I would love to give this product a try.

    Like

  2. Hi there,
    LOVE the economy block!!!
    I would finally start using all the scraps I’ve accumulated from over 20 years of quilting, with these awesome papers!
    Thanks!
    Quilty Huggs,
    Jacqueline

    Like

  3. I’m so glad that Alex has developed this new line of products that solve some of quiltings peskiest problems. I have been known to paper piece a project and then abandon it at the remove-the-paper stage — I’d love to win this, but will certainly be looking for Alex’s products. Thanks for the reminder to support your local quilt shops; in Santa Barbara, CA, we have NONE now, and I can’t emphasize enough what a loss this is to our community.

    Like

  4. I absolutely love paper piecing, and anything that makes removing the paper easier is a win win in my book! Thanks for the review. dahlgren0609 at gmail dot com

    Like

  5. I am new to paper piecing but I just bought a kit that is part of row-by-row this summer. These papers like an ideal way to learn this technique.

    Like

  6. I enjoy paper piecing and the accuracy it produces in quilting. Blocks usually look so nice using this method. I would love to try a new product, as I currently use photo copy paper.

    Like

  7. I have 8 blocks to make for do good stitches and they are paper pieced. My tennis elbow yells at me every time I paper piece. Even though this product wouldn’t solve that problem, any thing that improves paper piecing will be on my “to buy” list.

    Like

  8. So want to try this product and think it will help me to learn how to paper piece! Thanks for the review and recommendation. Love new products.

    Like

  9. I love paper piecing because of the accuracy, but hate the mess of the paper bits. This sounds like a great product.

    Like

  10. Hurray for another giveaway! Because of your review, I will definitely seek Quilters Select Print and Piece. Thank you…

    Like

  11. My quilt guild’s challenge this year has me doing a paper piecing project. Like you, it usually isn’t my go-to method, but it sounds like this product makes it easier. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Like

  12. Looks like another great product from Alex Anderson. I also enjoy paper piecing but not removing the paper. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Like

  13. I LOVE paper piecing! I love how accurate it is and how crisp it ends up looking. I don’t normally mind removing the paper whether it is specifically for paper piecing or simply regular printer paper with a tighter stitch length. It’s all good

    Like

  14. I have a friend who paper pieces everything she can and her blocks are always perfect. I would like to try this new product.

    Like

  15. Like others I like the precision paper piecing provides but dislike removing the paper. I would love to try this product.

    Like

  16. Appreciate the product review. I am just re-starting paper piecing and look forward to any product that makes it easier to get such precise results! Hope I get picked!!

    Like

  17. I gave up paper piecing because of the little shreds of paper left, and the distortion of seams. Thanks for the product review. I will definitely give this a try.

    Like

  18. Like you, I keep trying to enjoy paper piecing but fighting to remove all those tiny bits of paper are so frustrating! I was just fighting to do that on a quilt I made for the Tiny Quilts challenge-it took forever! Whether I win or not I will be purchasing this product to give it a try-thanks for sharing the info with us

    Like

  19. This looks like a great product too. Thanks for your evaluation of the product and a chance to win. My points might be a bit more consistent.

    Like

  20. Add me to the list of quilters who hate the paper-removal process with all the little bits that get caught in the stitches! This new product sounds like the perfect solution! Thanks for the chance to win!

    Like

  21. I would love to try this new product. I like the pieces of paper and technical product is all done faster and easier. Thanks for sharing this great information.

    Like

  22. I have just started paper piecing. I love the technique but hate the little bits of paper caught in the stitches. Can’t wait to try this product.

    Like

  23. I enjoy paper piecing because of the accuracy. This sounds like a great product and one I’d really like to try.

    Like

  24. I have never paper pieced, but I would be willing to try with this product. Thank you for sharing. Have a great day!

    Like

  25. Thi sounds like a great product. I, too, am not a big fan of foundation paper piecing, though I do love the precision. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  26. I would love to try these papers. I would probably paper piece more often if I didn’t have to worry about the bits of paper left behind. Thanks.

    Like

  27. I really enjoy the skilled look of paper piecing but I also dread the task of paper removal. This sounds like a win win fun time. Thanks for the heads up and chance to win!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

