Paying it Forward at SHWS with a Giveaway

Doesn’t it always feel good when something nice and unexpected comes your way? Or better yet, when you are on the giving end of such a gesture. I recently returned from Tennessee and while standing in line for lunch at a local restaurant, the young man in front of me asked the cashier to pass his change (about $3 or so) on to the next person in line. That would be me! It just gave me a moment to pause and smile. How lovely, I thought. I decided to keep the chain going by passing my change on to the next person. Who knows just how long it went on, it really doesn’t matter. I only know that in the moment, it felt good.

I returned home to find this sweet treasure waiting for me in the mailbox.  My dear friend, Anita Grossman Soloman, knows how much I adore ladybugs so, as you can read, has passed her leftover piece on to me. The fabric is Indochine: Lotus Leaf Ladybugs Indigo by Alexander Henry Fabrics. I have it in red but had not yet seen it in indigo. Thank you, Anita!

 

This is a beautiful large scale print by Alexander Henry Fabrics. The ladybug is about the size of a dime.
This is a beautiful large scale print by Alexander Henry Fabrics. The ladybug is about the size of a dime.

I plan to use the fabric to make some little treasure that will remind me of Anita and how much I both love her work and am so grateful for her friendship. But, before I do, I’m going to cut the piece in half and share it with Pati. I don’t want her to feel obligated to use it or even challenge her to make something specific, but I will be anxious to see what she might come up with if she does decide to use it.

Giveaway-GoldWe could go on and on sharing our pieces and cutting them in half until there is nothing left but a pile of threads. Instead I would like to send one of you a 1/2 yard piece of fabric from my stash and encourage you to share with someone special. If you are interested in playing along, please simply leave a comment by November 25th telling me if you have a particular style of fabric or color that speaks to you.  I will put your name in the hat and announce the winner in my next post. I’ll be anxious to hear what you have to say and then have fun hunting through my stash to find just the perfect one to share.

Until next time, enjoy this wonderful season of giving thanks!

Laura Signature

 

35 thoughts on “Paying it Forward at SHWS with a Giveaway

  1. Such a generous gesture! I’m lovin’ the civil war or 30’s repros. I have a new pattern and cannot decide which way to go. Maybe my mind will be made up with the sample I get! I will share with the lady in my bee that welcomed me so warmly when I joined the guild.

    Like

  2. Fantastic story – in this day and age we tend to forget that there are so many good people around. Low volume fabrics are my favorites.

    Like

  3. Beautiful stories of some generous souls… I got goosebumps!! I love to surprise people with quilted gifts too! As for fabric… My heart is drawn to batiks, especially in the purple range! Thanks for a fun giveaway!!

    Like

  4. I love reds & who can have too many.. I think I will give my change to the person in line behind me at the grocery store as most restaurants take my $$ at the table.. I do think this is a wonderful idea especially this time of year when people in line get annoyed waiting. Thanks for the idea & Happy Turkey day…

    Like

  5. What a thoughtful idea. I love all fabric so you pick what you would like to gift as I enjoy the process of figuring out how best to show off each piece and create something unique for a charity quilt. Thank you for the chance to play
    with a “surprise” piece of fabric.

    Like

  6. I love teal. Any size, shape or print. I have been experimenting with “Rosalie Dace” style insets into quilts. Make a wonky log cabin block then cut it up and insert strips. Results are magical. You have no idea what is going to come out.

    Like

  7. What an inspiring post! I’m going to take a look at my stash today and see what I can find that someone I know would like. Thanks for the great idea Laura! I love batiks and dragonflies.

    Like

  8. Our Guild has been making red, white and blue quilts for veterans in hospice care; the quilts are given as part of a “pinning” ceremony to thank the veterans for their service. We’ve more than met our goal and most folks are tired of red, white and blue — but I am not. I still look for “good” reds and blues — that is, mainly, those that “read” as solid but have some visual texture, in bright red and medium to dark blue.

    Like

  9. Great story about a generous gesture. As far as fabrics go — anything with birds, butterflies or bugs finds a very
    happy home in my stash. Thank you for your giveaway.

    Like

  10. How sweet! I love playing it forward. Also have been on the receiving end and its feels great both ends. Makes my whole day better. As most of the rest have said BRIGHTS are my favorite too. I make sweat shirt jackets to give to the ones that do not have much. Mostly enjoy little girls and occasionally the elderly. OOPS! Guess I am now classified as elderly.( being forced to removing a certain amount from IRA each year). I figured that was for when I was really sick and needed more meds. Have a great Thanksgiving and Merry Christmas to all. P.S. I can see a sweatshirt jacket with The indigo ladybug design by Alexander Henry Fabrics. Will have to look for it.carolsti

    Like

  11. I love the pay it forward concept. It has happened to me and to me and my husband, particularly at restaurants, on the giving and the receiving end. No matter what happens with SHWS, perhaps I’ll start a pay it forward giveaway amongst my quilting friends. Great idea. Thanks for the reminder about the good feeling that comes from it.

    Like

  12. My stash contains a little of everything, but brights are nice. Wouldn’t it be fun for a small group to share an amount of fabric, with each person passing on 1/2 and then sharing 1/2 of that with the next person, etc.? You’ve given me an idea!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I won the giveaway, and asked for hot and spicy. Hot chili peppers showed up in my mail today🙂 Love it! Since Anita started this, I’ll think I’ll share it with her when I take a class with her in March, what do you think?

      Like

      1. Oh Brita! What a great idea. I know Anita will love having it come full circle. Enjoy her class as she is such a wonderful teacher.

        Like

  13. I just love anything with Paisley on it – any shape, any colour. It reminds me of my childhood when the Paisley pattern was very popular and you could find it on all sorts of things. My mother had a beautiful red shawl with dark blue paisley all over it – I still have it in the draw. I had planned to do something with it, but I can’t bear to change it. I’ve now decided to leave it just as it is and satisfy myself with buying Paisley fabric to use for my projects.

    Like

  14. My fabric loves are wide-ranging and all across the board–I’ll never be one of those quilters whose works are immediately identifiable. But, I find it hard to pass by any fabric with bees on it (as long as they aren’t cartoonish). I just like the imagery, and the metaphor, probably. When I went through my stash, I was surprised to see how many little snippets of bees I had–pieces I had picked up in many different stores, spur of the moment. Just can’t resist it…

    Like

    1. I have been drawn to snippets of toile quilting cotton since my mom shared some with me in the 80’s. I sneak some into swap blocks whenever I can!

      Like

Leave a Reply

