Let’s Go To The Hop! And Two Giveaways.

Greetings to all our regular readers and welcome to those of you new to our blog. Today I am excited to be participating in a Craftsy Blog Hop/Tour with several other Craftsy instructors. I’m pleased to be among this exciting line-up of instructors who will each be sharing a bit of information on their classes. On this tour you will find a variety of inspirational classes. Craftsy offers an abundance of other creative class choices as well, so be sure to check them out. Two of my personal favorites are baking (hmmm, what a surprise) and bread making. There is something for everyone –  jewelry making, woodworking, painting, photography and so much more.

Craftsyend

 

You will have an opportunity to visit each of the blogs, learn about the classes, and sign up, if interested. You will automatically be entered to win a FREE Craftsy class of your choice. You can find all the details below.

 

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 12.45.35 PMHere’s a bit about me and my Craftsy class, Improve Your Quilts: 37 Troubleshooting Techniques. As you may know, I’ve been quilting, writing and teaching since the early 80’s. I am happiest in the classroom and especially enjoy helping students problem solve some of the challenges that often occur. In my class I address many of the most common disappointments (I truly don’t like the word mistake) that can arise during the quilt making process. There are seven lessons that cover everything from fabric selection to binding.

 

 

cuttingWant to know how to avoid cutting those disappointing  bent strips? It’s all in the preparation of your fabric. Take time to press the fabric, properly align the selvages and be sure the folded edge is without ripples before you make your first cut. This is no time to rush. Accurate cutting helps to prevent disappointments . . . and wasted fabric. Remember, success comes in the details.

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 1.39.16 PMFabric selection … ah, yes. This seems to be one of the most challenging steps for many of us. There are so many wonderful bolts of fabric to choose from. How do I know where to start? I share several tips, including the use of Joen Wolfrom’s Ultimate 3-in-1 Color Tool. This tool includes 24 color cards plus and in-depth instructional guide to help make color planning easy. It’s both fun and user friendly. By the way, Joen also offers a color class on Craftsy.

 

 

Here’s the schedule and links to the participating blogs. Happy Hopping Everyone!

Monday, December 7
Jackie Kunkel – Canton Village Quilt Works
Kate Colleran – Seams Like a Dream
Tuesday, December 8
Wendy Gardiner – I sew
Wednesday, December 9
Maureen Cracknell – Maureen Cracknell Handmade
Thursday, December 10
Friday, December 11
Laura Nownes – See How We Sew
Saturday, December 12
Kelly Ashton – Kelly Quilter
Sunday, December 13
Lindsey Stephens – Poetry In Yarn
My first class with Craftsy was the FREE 2013 Block of the Month. It is always available. You can join the classroom by simply clicking on the image on the sidebar of this page.
Here’s how to enter the Craftsy giveaway.
Click here to purchase any of the classes from the instructors on the blog hop and you will be automatically entered to win any other class of your choosing for FREE at the conclusion of the blog hop. Winners will be chosen on December 14, 2015.
QQQcoverIn addition to the Craftsy Giveaway, I would also like to send a signed copy of my most recent book, Quilts! Quilts!! Quilts!!!, third edition, to one lucky reader. Simply post a comment by end of day, December 14th, letting me know your favorite creative outlet (sewing, quilting, knitting, etc.) and I will put your name in the hat. I’ll announce my winner with my next post.
Finally, I want to thank so many of you for your heartfelt comments from my recent Paying it Forward post. I had a hard time selecting just one, so I decided to randomly pick the following 3 readers to each receive a yard of fabric from my stash: Brita, Jean and Carol Stickelmaier. I will be contacting you shortly. Pass it on everyone, you are all the best!
Oh yes, and just one more photo before I sign off, just because I’m such a lover of ladybugs, and couldn’t resist sharing.
This is just a small snapshot of the thousands upon thousands of ladybugs "wintering over" at one of our local Regional Parks.
This is just a small snapshot of the thousands upon thousands of ladybugs “wintering over” at one of our local Regional Parks.

Please keep your loved ones close.
Laura Signature

 

19 thoughts on “Let’s Go To The Hop! And Two Giveaways.

  1. I became an addicted quilter some years back but need to get back to sewing my clothes because I have nothing to wear except jeans and Tshirts!
    thanks!

    Like

  2. Quilting! Because of you! I’m so grateful to have had you as my first teacher and your books are still invaluable to me today. I give them to new quilter friends because they are the best! My new fun, stress releasing hobby -coloring! We need more quilt coloring books! Maybe you should write one?!🙂

    Like

  3. When I first started quilting, in 1990, your book was the first book I bought. I still use my copy of “Quilts Quilts Quilts” as my go-to reference book. And I know I am not alone.

    Like

  4. I love sewing – making something special for relatives and friends!
    Thanks for your advice – success does come with paying attention to the details!

    Like

  5. I am also a quilter and enjoy taking Craftsy classes! I would love the updated copy of your book since I am now teaching my granddaughter how to quilt!
    Candy

    Like

  6. It took a while to figure out how to comment on your blog, but I perservered. I’d like to sign up for your Craftsy class, but Amazon changed something and I can no longer view Craftsy classes on my Kindle (and, yes, I’ve discussed this with Craftsy tech support). I’ve been quilting for over 20 years, but I figure there’s always something to learn. Would enjoy owning your book.

    Like

  7. Hi Laura, Found your blog through the craftsy blog hop, so now added to receive regularly. Like the look of your site. I love to quilt, and when not able to get to a machine I crochet , knit, embroider – anything to keep hands and mind active. Regards, Penny

    Like

  8. Hi Laura – I have your original Quilts Quilts Quilts – my very first quilt book – with so many “inspiration hope-tos” – but at that time never knew how to quilt and I didn’t have the computer or classes nearby. Since then – I have learned and am merrily quilting – Would love – now – to own the 3rd edition – I do have Q is for Quilt and made a quilt from that book – my style! You are awesome – Blessings – Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

