The Appliqué Book Blog Tour and a Giveaway!

11131_frontcover__07419.1441749387.1104.1280Today we are part of a blog tour introducing a new book! The Appliqué Book by Casey York. 1-Giveaway IconYou know what that means – lots of blog links for you to explore and be inspired by some very talented people and A GIVEAWAY!

 

I attended one of Casey York’s lectures at Quiltcon 2015 in Austin. The subject was using art history as inspiration for quilt designs. Right up my alley and very thought provoking. So, at this year’s Quiltcon, I had the opportunity to meet Casey and have time to visit with her. She is a lovely person, and so talented and inspiring! I am really happy to share her new book , The Applique Book, with you. It is  full of wonderful quilts to inspire and create, using appliqué techniques in modern quilt designs by Casey and a line-up of talented contributing designers. Here is a peek at some of the stunning photos in the book.

11131_YORK-036_PS

Shards by Casey York, showcasing a technique she describes as free-form appliqué, embracing improvisational elements.

YORK-090

Ginko Bed Runner by Casey York, using raw edge appliqué.

NNB_9170

Belle The Squirrel, Circa 1975 by Jennifer Dick using turned-edge appliqué.

Beautiful, right? This is a fabulous reference book to add to my quilt library. I find I am doing more and more appliqué lately. I don’t necessarily start out with appliqué in mind, but somewhere in the design process, I have a visual in my mind, and have to figure out how to create it as an image for my quilt. As with the beach balls created for the pattern, Making Waves
In my latest quilt, I really struggled to find the best applique technique to achieve the effect I was looking for . . . .

2016-02-26 08.56

It turns out, I am using a few different appliqué techniques to get this one finished! More photos to come soon on my blog, Design. Stitch. Quilt. Blog.  Hoping to finish it this week!

Thank you, Casey, for putting all the techniques down in one place – for me to refer to when needed! The book is a great addition to my quilting tool box!

If you would like to purchase a copy of the book for your quilting tool box, go to: Casey York’s online shop or C&T Publishing.

Or, enter our GIVEAWAY!

giveaway2

11131_frontcover__07419.1441749387.1104.1280Do you have a favorite tip or technique for applique? Share it with us in the comment section for a chance to win a copy of The Applique Book, by Casey York,  (hard copy for US residents, electronic copy for international winners). Winner will be chosen at the end of the blog tour, on March 25.

The tour runs from March 14 to March 25 and features two posts per day. Be sure to check out the line-up below – there will be some great posts over the next two weeks.!

The Applique Book Blog Tour:

Mon. March 14:
Casey York | http://studioloblog.wordpress.com
C&T Publishing |http://www.ctpub.com/blog/

Tues. March 15:
Jenna Brand | http://jennabrand.com/ (coming soon!)
Adrianne Ove/Pink Chalk | http://www.pinkchalkstudio.com/blog/

Wed. March 16:
Jenifer Dick | http://42quilts.com/
Pati Fried | https://seehowwesew.wordpress.com/

Thurs. March 17:
Shannon Brinkley | http://www.thebottletree.net/blog/
Bari J. | http://barijdesigns.com/blogs/blog

Fri. March 18:
Debbie Grifka | http://eschhousequilts.com/blog
Beth Vassalo | http://plumandjune.blogspot.com

Mon. March 21:
Latifah Saafir | http://www.latifahsaafirstudios.com/blog

Tues. March 22:
Lynn Harris | http://thelittleredhen.typepad.com
Kevin Kosbab | http://feeddog.blogspot.com
Modern Quilts Unlimited | https://modernquilts.mqumag.com/category/blog

Web. March 23:
Allison Rosen | http://withinaquarterinch.com/
Cindy Lammon | http://hyacinthquiltdesigns.blogspot.com/

Thurs. March 24:
Rossie Hutchinson | http://www.rossiecrafts.com/blog
Generation Q | http://generationqmagazine.com/

Fri. March 25:
Betz White | http://betzwhite.com/blog
Casey York | http://studioloblog.wordpress.com

Happy Quilting!

Pati

34 thoughts on “The Appliqué Book Blog Tour and a Giveaway!

  1. Machine applique is my preference these days. My tip is to sew slowly to insure accuracy. Mistakes are more likely to happen if you hurry. Your speed will gradually increase as your skill and confidence build up.

    Like

  2. Use a very tiny zigzag stitch for raw edge appliqué so the stitches look invisible. And try to match the needle thread to the fabric as much as possible. I also use a thin Polyester thread called Metrolene (I think) in the bobbin to make the stitches really stand out.

    Like

  3. I like to applique by turning the shape inside out with fusible on the back. Works really well for the circle centres on a dresden plate.

    Like

  4. I love the look of doing applique with the buttonhole/blanket stitch. It is fast, neat and the sewing machine is more precise than my hand applique technique.

    Like

  5. I do hand applique and can really see a difference in stitching from my first to my latest project. Keep doing and improvement will come. Relaxing helps also.

    Like

  6. I am not sure I have any tips either, except to stop worrying about the “rules” and what other people think, and do what comes naturally to you. If you strive for order, make a quilt that fits your style. If you like freedom and chaos, then make that type of quilt. Also, don’t expect perfection the first time you do something.

    Like

  7. The only tip I can share for applique is try different techniques. I use to only do needle turn. My last two appliqued quilts have been fused then using my machines decorative stitches,now I am in love. Thank you for the inspiration.

    Like

  8. I’m relatively new to appliqué but am exploring different ways of preparing machine appliqué. I’m not really a fan of raw-edge, but prefer to have the edges turned under, so on my latest project, I’m trying some very thin interfacing that I stitch in place on the shape, then slit and turn. I will then be able to iron the shape onto the background before stitching, eliminating (in theory!) any displacement and/or distortion. Thanks for the chance to win this book!

    Like

  9. No matter the type of appliqué, either find a good teacher, or find a book with good instructions, and practice, practice, practice!! Thank you so much for the opportunity to win this book! It looks amazing!!

    Like

  10. I am a teacher and have clear plastic sheets left from the days I used an overhead projector. I use them to trace the pattern to show me exactly where to place the applique pieces. I trace the shape and enough of the background as I need. Then I hold the applique piece under the film and use the rest of my sketch to place it onto the background fabric. I use washable markers so I can rinse and reuse them indefinitely.

    Like

  11. I think I’ve tried all of the different types of applique other then sating stitching and enjoy them all. I’ve also saved my machine settings in my machine so I don’t have to keep playing around and can just go to the one that works for me.

    Like

  12. I’ve done both machine and hand appliqué.
    For the machine appliqué, I loved the effect of using satin stitch with a variegated thread to sew round the shape of some zoo animals.
    For the hand appliqué, I applied freezer paper to the shapes to help keep them the right size/shape before hand sewing in place.

    Like

  13. I would say “Don’t be afraid to try it”. There are no quilt police to arrest you if you “do it wrong” or make a mistake. Sure, there might be grumpy quilters, but this is your artwork and you should be proud of it!

    Like

  14. Applique is a skill I much admire and rarely use. I’d like to be more adventurous and think this book would help. My sewing tip is to make samples of everything. I just spent a couple of days ripping out invisible thread from black silk dupioni because I didn’t like the result. If I’d made a sample I might have saved some time.

    Like

  15. Very timely — I’ve been struggling all week to figure out applique. It seems like it should be easy but I’ve had all sorts of trouble. So I have no tips but I’ll definitely be checking the comments here!

    Like

  16. I use old dryer sheets to sew the shapes together, then slit the back and turn right side out.
    Doesn’t add much bulk and gives a clean edge to sew on.
    I’d love to have Casey’s book, it look so full of inspiration

    Like

  17. I use freezer paper for my appliqué shapes. I find that it keeps my edges sharp and I can reuse the templates multiple times. Casey’s book looks great. I especially like the improv piecing.

    Like

  18. I have come to the conclusion that I can’t begin the project with a preconceived idea in regards to technique. I was a plan book sort of gal
    but am learning to let things unfold before my eyes – at times surprising myself the route I took. Having fun along the way and trying to use as much stash that I own are two of my priorities – In other words I am not
    totally outcome based. All the techniques that the skillful ones created are all worth using as needed. I embrace them all. Love the book and thanks for the chance. Blessings to you.

    Like

  19. I don’t have any words of wisdom to share, except that I’ve learned to keep notes on what stitch setting I’m using when I do machine applique. That way, when I am interrupted (as is inevitable) and then return, I don’t have to struggle to remember what stitch length I was using, which stitch “number” I chose, etc. Less time wasted re-enacting previous decisions is more time spent actually piecing and quilting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

